Big Wolf and Little Wolf: The Little Leaf That Wouldn't Fall

Overview

Big Wolf and Little Wolf, The Little Leaf That Wouldn’t Fall is the second book about Big Wolf and Little Wolf. Sweet and humorous, the story is amplified and deepened by Tallec’s illustrations, which are bold in perspective and rich with feeling.

The book begins, “High up in a tall tree was a little leaf,” and it is Little Wolf’s need to touch this leaf and the fact that it will not fall that create the drama. Big Wolf refuses Little Wolf’s request that he climb up and get the ...

See more details below
Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (18) from $1.99   
  • New (10) from $9.77   
  • Used (8) from $1.99   
Note: Kids' Club Eligible. See More Details.
Sending request ...

Overview

Big Wolf and Little Wolf, The Little Leaf That Wouldn’t Fall is the second book about Big Wolf and Little Wolf. Sweet and humorous, the story is amplified and deepened by Tallec’s illustrations, which are bold in perspective and rich with feeling.

The book begins, “High up in a tall tree was a little leaf,” and it is Little Wolf’s need to touch this leaf and the fact that it will not fall that create the drama. Big Wolf refuses Little Wolf’s request that he climb up and get the leaf several times. “Wait,” he tells him. “Eventually it will fall.” But the leaf doesn’t fall. Winter arrives and the leaf is still there, high up in the tree. Then one morning Big Wolf wakes up, stretches and says, “I’m going up.” He says it just like that—simply to see Little Wolf’s eyes sparkle. At first his climb up the big tree goes well, but the higher he goes the more slippery it gets and the more dangerous. Little Wolf waits below wondering whether such a little leaf is worth such trouble after all. To climb to the top of a frost covered tree isn’t easy, and what if something should happen to Big Wolf?

As with Frog and Toad and George and Martha, there isno Little Wolf without Big Wolf, so things have to work out somehow! And they do. Surprisingly and beautifully.

This second Big Wolf and Little Wolf title is a lovely story about two friends and the many ways in which friendship teaches patience, boldness and love.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher

Starred review Kirkus Reviews

Best Book of the Year, 2009, Kirkus Reviews

"[...]a story that will stay with its young readers, presenting the perfect union between text and image to appeal to growing minds." - The Midwest Book Review

"With young children's natural curiosity about leaves, changing colors, and seasons, as well as curriculum that cover these topics, this will be a valuable addition to classrooms and libraries as well as a beautiful browsing and read-aloud book. Recommended." - Library Media Connection

"Oliver Tallec's gorgeous pastel pictures (with the wolves wearing mittens and hats this time - way too cute) compliment this lyrical story to perfection. It's direct and obvious on one level but also elegant and deep on another. Simply put there is no talking down to the reader and I think a lot of kids will appreciate that a lot, just as much as they will getting to know these two characters a little better." - Colleen Mondor, Chasing Ray

"Highly Recommended." - Tucson Unified School District

"Highly recommended, this series has its own unique feel and style. These are quiet books, filled with natural beauty and deep connections." - Tasha Saecker, Kids Lit

"Destined to become a classic, Big Wolf and Little Wolf: The Little Leaf That Wouldn't Fall reminds us all that the most wonderful riches are often right in front of us." - Niki Masse Schoenfeldt, curled up with a good kid's book

Children's Literature - Uma Krishnaswami
In the first book featuring these two friends, Big Wolf and Little Wolf, "Big wolf lived alone under his tree at the top of a hill," and the arrival of a dot on the horizon launched a story of friendship and accommodation. In this sequel, which is also generously sized and lavishly illustrated, the friends contend with the turn of the season and Little Wolf's longing for something small that is out of reach. Big Wolf tried to teach patience but in the end he gives in, as we know he will. Little Wolf's babyishness is appealing; their relationship echoes some of the indulgence that characterizes older and younger sibling dynamics. The story turn depends on a swift raising of stakes, as Big Wolf's climb up the tree to get that leaf becomes increasingly risky. And the payoff, both surprising and yet somehow inevitable, is purely a scattering of light on the page, a kind of homage to the vast reach of small things that take up room in the heart. The illustrations play on perspective and shadow as the text shifts viewpoint from one character to the other and back again. There is much more depth here than the disarmingly simple story might appear to hold, enough to merit repeated readings. Reviewer: Uma Krishnaswami
Kirkus Reviews
The Mutt-and-Jeff companions introduced in Big Wolf & Little Wolf (2009) return for more tender interplay. Catching sight of a particular leaf high in a tree, season by season Little Wolf repeatedly tries to persuade Big Wolf to get it. Big Wolf patiently counters that the leaf will fall on its own-but when it doesn't even after the snows come, he gamely undertakes the risky climb. Watching anxiously from below, Little Wolf finally begins to wonder if the leaf is worth the trouble. Then the leaf shatters at a touch, and the flakes' graceful fall, as Little Wolf later tells Big Wolf, "was the most beautiful thing I ever saw." Drawn with long, bold pencil stroke, Big Wolf looms hugely over Little Wolf and would have a fierce, wild look did Tallec not add subtle cues of dress and posture to hint at his gentle nature. Fans of Virginia Miller's George and Bartholomew Bear will find in this import the same simple, warm intimacy. (Picture book. 6-8)
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781592700882
  • Publisher: Enchanted Lion Books
  • Publication date: 11/10/2009
  • Pages: 40
  • Sales rank: 1,469,370
  • Age range: 3 - 7 Years
  • Lexile: AD580L (what's this?)
  • Product dimensions: 9.60 (w) x 12.00 (h) x 0.50 (d)

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)