Bink and Gollie: Best Friends Forever
  • Bink and Gollie: Best Friends Forever
  • Bink and Gollie: Best Friends Forever

Bink and Gollie: Best Friends Forever

by Kate DiCamillo, Alison McGhee, Tony Fucile
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

All righty, then! Celebrate the tall and short of a marvelous friendship with a new Bink and Gollie adventure.

Gollie is quite sure she has royal blood in her veins, but can Bink survive her friend’s queenly airs — especially if pancakes are not part of the deal? Bink wonders what it would be like to be as tall as her friend, but how far will

See more details below

  • Checkmark Kids' Club Eligible  Shop Now

Overview

All righty, then! Celebrate the tall and short of a marvelous friendship with a new Bink and Gollie adventure.

Gollie is quite sure she has royal blood in her veins, but can Bink survive her friend’s queenly airs — especially if pancakes are not part of the deal? Bink wonders what it would be like to be as tall as her friend, but how far will she stretch her luck to find out? And when Bink and Gollie long to get their picture into a book of record holders, where will they find the kudos they seek? Slapstick and sweetness, drollery and delight abound in this follow-up to the Geisel Award–winning, New York Times Best Illustrated Children’s Book Bink and Gollie, written by the beloved and best-selling Kate DiCamillo and Alison McGhee and brought to hilarious life by Tony Fucile.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
In their third chapter book, Bink and Gollie remain as thick as thieves and just as prone to squabbling. In the first of three stories, Gollie discovers a photograph of a royal distant relative and immediately embraces her newfound regal bloodline ("I have long suspected that royal blood flowed in my veins," she muses), donning a crown, cape, and holier-than-thou expression. She soon learns it can be lonely as queen: when Gollie "regret to inform" pancakes-obsessed Bink that "royalty does not cook for others," Bink replies, "Okay. I regret to inform you that I am going home." In the second tale, Bink's desire to be taller leads her to order a highly dubious "Stretch-o-Matic" machine that promises "dramatic change," and in the third, the girls hatch a scheme to become world-record holders. Readers may recognize some aspects of their own close friendships in Bink and Gollie's odd-couple relationship, but these two remain true originals. As in the previous books, the fresh, wry dialogue and Fucile's witty cartooning are as dynamic a pairing as Bink and Gollie themselves. Ages 6–8. Agent: Holly McGhee, Pippin Properties. (Apr.)
Children's Literature - Emily Griffin
These best friends are at it again. DiCamillo and McGhee have brought Bink & Gollie back for a third book, impeccably animated by Fucile's drawings. Three stories make up this early chapter book, laid out in the table of contents and divided by title pages. The first, "Empire of Enchantment," has Gollie becoming a little too big for her britches when she discovers an old photograph of a royal relative. Bink is not amused by Queen Gollie—who after surveying her lands (a road under construction, a neighbor planting onions, and the Eccles's general store) finds being Queen can be awfully lonely. The girls' next adventure, "Why Should You Be Shorter Than Your Friends?" sees Bink trying out the Acme Stretch-O-Matic in an attempt to grow taller. With the name Acme in the title, how could this project go wrong? But these friends always find creative ways of turning any situation around. Lastly, in "Kudos, Bink and Gollie," while reading in their tree house—Gollie a book of records and Bink a history of the pancake—they decide to start a collection that will earn them a spot in Flicker's Arcana. Should be easy. So they head down to Eccles' Empire of Enchantment. When their attempt to have the largest gold star sticker collection falls short, Bink and Gollie enlist the help of the elderly couple Mr. and Mrs. Eccles in getting their photo into Flicker's Arcana. This third edition to the series will not disappoint; Bink and Gollie's strong friendship continues despite their differences. The combination of slapstick and sly humor gives this series broad appeal. Readers will identify with their spats and appreciate how humor and creativity can get them through any situation. As with others in this series, Bink & Gollie: Best Friends Forever, will make for a great read aloud or for those starting to read chapter books independently. Reviewer: Emily Griffin
School Library Journal
Gr 1–3—Bink and Gollie dream of royalty, fame, and stature in three amusing tales. In "Empire of Enchantment," Gollie is certain that queenly blood flows through her veins when she finds a picture of a regal aunt. She drives Bink crazy with all her airs. She sweeps through the streets complimenting the townsfolk on "their efforts on behalf of the empire." When it starts to rain, Gollie's snooty demeanor falters, and she's back to her old self. In the second story, Bink decides to get a Stretch-O-Matic since she is sick of being short and is sure that this device will do the trick. She is suspended from the ceiling in the complicated contraption when flabbergasted Gollie walks in. The whole thing comes crashing down, but Bink comes up with a creative way to fix the machine and feel tall at the same time. In "Kudos, Bink and Gollie," the friends decide to become famous by appearing in Flicker's Arcana of the Extraordinary, a Guinness Book of World Records-type compilation. Figuring that some sort of collection will land them in the book, they head off to Eccles' Empire of Enchantment. They buy 100 packages of 66 gold stickers each that they are sure is their ticket to fame. The plan doesn't pan out, but the clever duo comes up with a face-saving solution. The first story would make a fun read-aloud, as it lends itself to using alternately haughty and exasperated voices. All three stories feature Fucile's expressive and attitude-filled line drawings. Another humorous selection for those just beginning to dip into chapter books.—Diane McCabe, John Muir Elementary, Santa Monica, CA
Kirkus Reviews
Fans of Bink and Gollie will be pleased to welcome them back in three more humorous linked adventures that, as in their earlier appearances, play off their differences but ultimately affirm their mutual affection. First, Gollie has dreams of grandeur that don't impress Bink a bit--and don't quite work out as she hopes. Next, Bink succumbs to the siren song of an advertisement for an unusual device that promises to make her grow. It succeeds, after a fashion, but doesn't actually change the status quo. Finally, the two girls seek fame and glory through (relatively) traditional means but wind up deciding to use a different measure of success when their plans don't pan out. At the end, of course, they discover what readers already know: Friendship is the best prize of all. Fucile's digital artwork extends both the humor and the broad appeal. With wide-eyed, smiling characters, crisp black outlines and exaggerated details, they're reminiscent of (really good) old-fashioned Saturday-morning cartoons. They also offer lots of entertaining elements to linger over, including visual references to earlier exploits, clever use of color to keep the focus clearly on the two main characters and sly jokes to supplement the amusing wordplay. There may be no new ground broken, but there is still another bumper crop of fun to be had with these two BFFs. (Early reader. 6-8)
From the Publisher
As in the previous books, the fresh, wry dialogue and Fucile's witty cartooning are as dynamic a pairing as Bink and Gollie themselves.
—Publishers Weekly (starred review)

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780763634971
Publisher:
Candlewick Press
Publication date:
04/23/2013
Series:
Bink and Gollie Series
Pages:
96
Sales rank:
565,694
Product dimensions:
6.70(w) x 9.60(h) x 0.60(d)
Lexile:
AD420L (what's this?)
Age Range:
6 - 9 Years

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >