Biting Cold (Chicagoland Vampires Series #6)

Biting Cold (Chicagoland Vampires Series #6)

4.4 133
by Chloe Neill, Sophie Eastlake
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Turned into a vampire against her will, twenty-eight-year-old Merit found her way into the dark circle of Chicago's vampire underground, where she learned there was more to supernaturals than met the eye-and more supernaturals than the public ever imagined. And not all the secrets she learned were for sharing-among humans or inhumans. Now Merit is on the hunt,

Overview

Turned into a vampire against her will, twenty-eight-year-old Merit found her way into the dark circle of Chicago's vampire underground, where she learned there was more to supernaturals than met the eye-and more supernaturals than the public ever imagined. And not all the secrets she learned were for sharing-among humans or inhumans. Now Merit is on the hunt, charging across the stark American Midwest, tailing a rogue supernatural intent on stealing an ancient artifact that could unleash catastrophic evil on the world. But Merit is also the prey. An enemy of Chicagoland is hunting her, and he'll stop at nothing to get the book for himself. No mercy allowed.No rules apply. No lives spared. The race is on.

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
Praise for the Chicagoland Vampire novels

“These books are wonderful entertainment.”—#1 New York Times Bestselling Author Charlaine Harris

“A strong-minded, sharp-witted heroine who will appeal to fans of Charlaine Harris’s Sookie Stackhouse series and Laurell K. Hamilton’s Anita Blake.”—Library Journal

“A refreshing take on urban fantasy.”—Publishers Weekly

“If you loved Nancy Drew but always wished she was an undead, sword-wielding badass, Merit is your kind of girl.”—Geek Monthly

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781452655253
Publisher:
Tantor Media, Inc.
Publication date:
08/07/2012
Series:
Chicagoland Vampires Series, #6
Edition description:
MP3 - Unabridged CD
Product dimensions:
5.37(w) x 7.54(h) x 0.68(d)
Age Range:
18 Years

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

Chloe Neill was born and raised in the South, but now makes her home in the Midwest. She is the author of the Chicagoland Vampires paranormal romance series and the Dark Elite series, including Firespell and Hexbound. An avid reader her whole life, Sophie Eastlake happily extends her love of books to her passion for narrating. She lives in New York, where she survives the subway grind with a book in her hand and drops in on every literary reading she can find, while on a never-ending quest for the perfect cup of coffee.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Biting Cold: A Chicagoland Vampires Novel 4.4 out of 5 based on 2 ratings. 133 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Love this series. But, this book of the series is not my favorite. It seems like the same thing is happening, merit and ethan can finally be together but something gets in their way like always. And that something is a danger that only merit can solve. It was a good book, but seems to be getting repetitive. I would still recommend this series to any one who loves vampires.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was a great read much like all of the CLV books I cant wait for the next one in Feb. I have tryed to get so many people to read the series it just pulls you in the fights, and snarky comments really are appealling. I really wish there were more books like this with flirting, love and wisdom it really pulls everything together and who cant love Marit.
kirstin913 More than 1 year ago
Chloe Neill has managed to surprise me yet again. With every new installment, I fall more in love with this series. As always, I will not give away any spoilers. In the first few books the focus was mainly just on Merit getting a handle on her new lifestyle (as a vampire). Book four was focused pretty intently on the Merit-Ethan relationship. In book five, not only did we see Merit really come into her own, but we also learned a lot about Mallory and her powers. Now, with book six, the focus is put on "relationships:" Merit and Ethan, Merit and Mallory, Mallory and Catcher, etc. In these last two books of the Chicagoland Vampires series (Drink Deep and Biting Cold), Chloe Neill has managed to grow even closer with her characters. Now that [us] readers have gotten to know the characters, she has started to weave the plot even more intricately. For this reason alone, I would not recommend this book for someone who has not read the previous installments. But, I would recommend Biting Cold for anyone who is a fan of the urban fantasy or paranormal genres. It is also perfect for those looking for a good PNR or urban fantasy with a little more bite (pun intended) than a similar book in the YA genre.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well...as always the story is fun and exciting. But the same thing keeps happening with Ethan and Merit. They will and then they won't. For one or two books ok, it is engaging. BUT FOR SIX books of the same thing? The ending was promising but you can not even trust or believe that things will be okay with them because you already know this author seems obsessed with breaking the main characters apart. Like I said for a book or two it is okay but she drags this relationship out so I borrow her books now instead of buying right away...
TheTomeAuthor More than 1 year ago
This series started out with great characters and well thought out ideas. This book was a small idea worthy of a chapter or two dragged out over several settings with a predictable, repetitive plot and very little character development. Still you get to hang out with characters that you have grown to love and that is worth the effort to read it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved book, wish more at ending, would liked a better view of whats to come.
LisserMG More than 1 year ago
I read this book rather quickly. I absolutely love Merit. I was waiting for this book to come out. She has the worst luck with Ethan it seems. By the end of this book, I think things were sorted out a bit more.
anita_63 More than 1 year ago
We get caught up with what is happening with Merit and Ethan as they search for Merits best friend, Mallory. It is a race to see who can get to a very special ancient book that could release evil on the world. I really liked this new addition to the series. This book has great drama and action in it. You will enjoy the book and I suggest that you pick up the other books in the series.
Sugrc0atdlies More than 1 year ago
I really love this series and I really enjoyed this book. We finally got answers about Tate. I'm still pretty upset at Mallory and I hope to see more severe punishment for her in the next book. I love the direction this series is headed and I can't wait for the next book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Merit and ethan have come a long way and this book seems to bring a conclusion to the seth tate drama. Maybe now we can see how all the rest of the sups will handle things. Can't wait for the next one. Bring it on
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Agree with others. The back and forth relationship stuff is getting old. Makes the books seem repetitive. Conflict,split... Otherwise I enjoyed it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This series never disappoints. Merit is a kick ass protag. Ethan is a hot master vampire, worthy of Merit's loyalty and love. Squee! And the supporting characters are just brilliant. Seriously, could Jeff be any cuter? The only negative is the constant 'yo-yo' ing of Merit and Ethan's story. Seriously, enough is enough. No more break-ups!
A-Thousand-Lives-BookBlog More than 1 year ago
Biting Cold pulls you in from the get go. It's one hell of a ride from start to finish. I finished this book in one sitting and the only disappointment is that I am now back to waiting "patiently" for book seven to arrive in February.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SleepDreamWrite More than 1 year ago
I said this before about how you love a series, wanting the next book in said series, then you find you're either not in the mood or losing interest. That was the case with this. But I slowly got back into the series and remembered why I liked it and missed the characters and of course the MC Merit. Anyway, I was a little bored by this but not a lot that it didn't take away from enjoying the book. It was good don't get me wrong. But then it got weird near the end and I kept reading, thinking, what's going on. Still, a good addition to the series and glad that there's some humor in of course, since well, it got serious, a lot. So this one's a 3.5 rating for me.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago