Bitter Sweet Love (Dark Elements Series)

Bitter Sweet Love (Dark Elements Series)

4.8 31
by Jennifer L. Armentrout
     
 

In a sizzling prequel novella to her new series The Dark Elements, #1 New York Times bestselling author Jennifer L. Armentrout draws readers into the extraordinary, irresistible world of Wardens and demons.

Dez wasn't just Jasmine's crush. A gargoyle Warden like Jas, he helped her come to terms with her destiny—fending off

See more details below

Overview

In a sizzling prequel novella to her new series The Dark Elements, #1 New York Times bestselling author Jennifer L. Armentrout draws readers into the extraordinary, irresistible world of Wardens and demons.

Dez wasn't just Jasmine's crush. A gargoyle Warden like Jas, he helped her come to terms with her destiny—fending off demons and maintaining the balance between good and evil. He was her everything…right until the moment he disappeared without a trace. It didn't help that Jas's father had just announced that she and Dez would one day be mated. Hard not to take that personally.

And now he's back, three years older, ten times hotter, ready to pick up exactly where they left off. But Jas isn't taking that risk again. Dez has seven days to meet all her conditions and earn back her trust. Seven days filled with terrifying danger and sweet temptation. Seven days to win her heart—or shatter it all over again…

"With her signature flare for combining humor, romance and action, Armentrout weaves a fast-paced read that will have readers' hearts racing in more ways than one. Like Armentrout's previous heroines, Jasmine is fun and full of attitude, while Dez is as snarky as he is sexy. This is a must read for new and old fans alike!" -RT Book Reviews

Don't miss White Hot Kiss, book one in Jennifer L. Armentrout's The Dark Elements series from Harlequin TEEN!

Read More

Editorial Reviews

School Library Journal
02/01/2014
Gr 9 Up—In this prequel to Armentrout's forthcoming "The Dark Elements" series, Wardens, gargoyles who can also take human form, openly exist among people. Gargoyle Dez was adopted by Jasmine's clan after his people were killed by demons. As children, they were the best of friends. Then Jas's father, the Alpha Gargoyle of the New York clan, announced that Dez and Jas were destined to become mates. Dez disappeared, leaving Jas brokenhearted. Now, three years later, 21-year-old Dez is back and ready to fulfill his destiny as his childhood friend's companion, but 18-year-old Jas has other ideas. She uses their courtship to test him: He has seven days to meet all of her conditions and to earn back her trust. Will he succeeed? And what happened to Dez during the years he was gone? In this fast-paced fantasy, the plot is predictable, but the characters are endearing. Readers will enjoy the drama generated by the two protagonists, who are typical teens-plus the fact that they phase into gargoyles from time to time. Short chapters will appeal to reluctant readers, while the mix of romance and action will draw a male and female following. Fans of Armentrout's books and Sophie Jordan's "Firelight" series (HarperCollins) will enjoy this novella. Recommended for general purchase at high school libraries. [e-original]—Jeni Tahaney, Duncanville High School Library, TX

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781460323670
Publisher:
Harlequin
Publication date:
12/01/2013
Series:
Dark Elements Series
Sold by:
HARLEQUIN
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
304
Sales rank:
24,609
File size:
0 MB
Age Range:
14 - 17 Years

Meet the Author

# 1 New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author Jennifer L. Armentrout lives in Martinsburg, West Virginia with her husband and her Jack Russell, Loki. Jennifer writes young adult paranormal, science fiction, fantasy, and contemporary romance. She also writes adult and New Adult romance under the name J. Lynn. Find her on Twitter @JLArmentrout or become a fan on Facebook and Goodreads.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >