The Blade Runner Experience: The Legacy of a Science Fiction Classic

The Blade Runner Experience: The Legacy of a Science Fiction Classic

by Will Brooker
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

ISBN-10: 1904764304

ISBN-13: 9781904764304

Pub. Date: 02/21/2006

Publisher: Wallflower Press

Since its release in 1982, Ridley Scott's Blade Runner, based on Philip K. Dick's novel Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?, has remained a cult classic through its depiction of a futuristic Los Angeles; its complex, enigmatic plot; and its underlying questions about the nature of human identity. The Blade Runner Experience: The Legacy of a

Overview

Since its release in 1982, Ridley Scott's Blade Runner, based on Philip K. Dick's novel Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?, has remained a cult classic through its depiction of a futuristic Los Angeles; its complex, enigmatic plot; and its underlying questions about the nature of human identity. The Blade Runner Experience: The Legacy of a Science Fiction Classic examines the film in a broad context, examining its relationship to the original novel, the PC game, the series of sequels, and the many films influenced by its style and themes. It investigates Blade Runner online fandom and asks how the film's future city compares to the present-day Los Angeles, and it revisits the film to pose surprising new questions about its characters and their world.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781904764304
Publisher:
Wallflower Press
Publication date:
02/21/2006
Edition description:
New Edition
Pages:
240
Product dimensions:
6.42(w) x 9.20(h) x 0.68(d)
Age Range:
18 Years

Related Subjects

Table of Contents

Editor's noteNotes on contributorsIntroduction: 2019 Vision, by Will BrookerThe Blade Runner Experience: Pilgrimage and Liminal Space, by Will BrookerPost-Millennium Blade Runner, by Judith B. KermanSection 1: The Cinema Of Philip K. DickReel Toads and Imaginary Cities: Philip K. Dick, Blade Runner and the Contemporary Science Fiction Movie, by Aaron BarlowRedemption, 'Race', Religion, Reality and the Far-Right: Science Fiction Film Adaptations of Philip K. Dick, by Dominic AlessioSection 2: Playing Blade RunnerReplicating the Blade Runner, by Barry AtkinsImplanted Memories, or the Illusion of Free Action, by Susana P. ToscaSection 3: FansScanning the Replicant Text, by Jonathan GrayAcademic Textual Poachers: Blade Runner as Cult Canonical Movie, by Matt HillsOriginals and Copies: The Fans of Philip K. Dick, Blade Runner and K. W. Jeter, by Christy GraySection 4: IdentitiesThe Rachel Papers: In Search of Blade Runner's Femme Fatale, by Deborah JermynPurge! Class Pathology in Blade Runner, by Sean RedmondPostmodern Romance: The Impossibility of (De)centring the Self, by Nick LaceySection 5: The CityFalse LA: Blade Runner and the Nightmare City, by Stephen RowleyImagining the Real: Blade Runner and Discourses on the Postmetropolis, by Peter BrookerFilmographyBibliographyIndex

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >