×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Blessed are the Dead (Gabriella Giovanni Series #1)
     

Blessed are the Dead (Gabriella Giovanni Series #1)

4.3 16
by Kristi Belcamino
 

See All Formats & Editions

To catch a killer, one reporter must risk it all …

San Francisco Bay Area newspaper reporter Gabriella Giovanni spends her days on the crime beat, flitting in and out of other people's nightmares, yet walking away unscathed. When a little girl disappears on the way to the school bus stop, her quest for justice and a front-page story leads her to a

Overview

To catch a killer, one reporter must risk it all …

San Francisco Bay Area newspaper reporter Gabriella Giovanni spends her days on the crime beat, flitting in and out of other people's nightmares, yet walking away unscathed. When a little girl disappears on the way to the school bus stop, her quest for justice and a front-page story leads her to a convicted kidnapper, Jack Dean Johnson, who reels her in with promises to reveal his exploits as a serial killer. But Gabriella's passion for her job quickly spirals into obsession when she begins to suspect the kidnapper may have ties to her own dark past: her sister's murder.

Risking her life, her job, and everything she holds dear, Gabriella embarks on a quest to find answers and stop a deranged murderer before he strikes again.

Perfect for fans of Sue Grafton and Laura Lippman's Tess Monaghan series!

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780062338907
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
06/10/2014
Series:
Gabriella Giovanni Series , #1
Sold by:
HARPERCOLLINS
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
304
Sales rank:
80,469
File size:
697 KB

Meet the Author

Kristi Belcamino is a writer, photographer, and artist. In her former life as a newspaper crime reporter in California, she flew over Big Sur in an FA-18 jet with the Blue Angels, raced a Dodge Viper at Laguna Seca, watched autopsies, and interviewed serial killers. She is now a journalist based in Minneapolis and the Gabriella Giovanni mysteries are her first books.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Blessed are the Dead 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 16 reviews.
MasonCanyon More than 1 year ago
Author Kristi Belcamino does an excellent job accurately portraying what a true journalist is. She captures the adrenaline rush that comes with getting the scent of a great story mingled with the gut-wrenching knowledge it will mean pain and suffering for someone else. Reporter Gabriella Giovanni enjoys her job as a crime reporter even though secrets from her past haunt her daily and she has problems keeping a steady boyfriend. The kidnapping of a young girl leads Gabriella to a story she knows she has to pursue at all cost. While trying to deal with an-up-and-coming reporter, as well as inner office politics, Gabriella gets closer to finding a killer. When the killer targets her family, there’s no stopping Gabriella. Belcamino’s characters are realistic, well-developed and likable. Her vivid descriptions places the reader in the middle of the action. This is a fast-pace story filled with twists and turns keeping the reader on the edge of their seat. The action gives the reader a roller coaster ride with little time to catch their breath. The story quickly draws you in, holds you spellbound and doesn’t let go until the very end. And even then, the story holds promise of more to come. The author’s extensive background shines through with brilliant perception as she weaves this tantalizing tale of murder, mystery and intrigue. She blends it with humor, loyalty, and a touch of romance for a well-balanced read. She captures the drive of a journalist along with the energy and occasional undermining of a newsroom with great clarity. This is a nail-biting thriller with a charming protagonist that readers will want to visit time and time again. FTC Full Disclosure – A copy of this book was sent to me as part of the author's virtual blog tour in hopes I would review it. However, receiving the complimentary copy did not influence my review. The thoughts are completely my own and given honestly and freely.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great read for a first novel. I thought I had it figured out, but several unexpected twists at the end. If you like mystery novels, I would give it a try. I am looking forward to the next book!
Paisano2 More than 1 year ago
This book was great. The characters were fully developed, and the plot was suspenseful and held my heart stopping interest until the very last page. I want to read more stories from Kristi Belcamino, she really tells truthfully, and feelingly about Italian close knit families. I know about this, my in-laws are a warm, food loving Italian family. I felt that I could relate to the family dinners, and the joyful enjoyment of the food and the love for each family member.
MonicaFMF More than 1 year ago
A child kidnapper is on the loose. Time is running out. The case is bringing back painful memories for reporter Gabriella Giovanni. Will justice be served? A fast paced, detailed narrative laden with mysteries, and a hint of romance, lead the reader and characters through twists and turns. Characters are passionate, varied, develop as the tale progresses, and caring. Overall, a thrilling read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was an enjoyable read, and unfortunate that it was initially only available in a digital format. The characters and relationships feel exceptionally real and complex, which is a nice change from so many authors in the genre. There's a great supporting cast as well, and I'm anxious to see how things develop. I do have a few gripes, however: The cover art looks like something more likely to be found on a cheap romance novel. It's just a bad rendering, IMO. Given Belcamino's unique history with the subject matter, I am sure that her antagonist is accurately depicted- however, of all of the characters, I found him to be the most one-dimensional, and least suspense-inducing. I suppose I just like a little more intensity from my bad guys, realism be damned. Lastly, I am definitely not a fan of the first-person present, POV. I get that it is designed to put the reader right in the middle of the action, but it just doesn't work for me. In fact, that actually destroys my 'suspension of disbelief', as I know the character can't be writing as these things are happening. I'm much more likely to be engaged with a first, or third-person past narrative. Ultimately, my complaints are personal preferences, and not reflective of Belcamino's talent or writing chops. She's good, really good, and I'm looking forward to more from her.
Anonymous 10 days ago
This was a very good read! The last 50 pages were so exciting I couldn't read fast enough! Great, great, great first book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fiona_in_New_Zealand More than 1 year ago
From the first page to the last, Kristi Belcamino’s first novel Blessed are the Dead is well-paced and kept me reading on. There are parts of this book which had my heart palpitating and me feeling as nervous as if I were in the actual situation with the characters before I brought myself back with ‘they’re just words on a page’ (truly!). And I did rethink whether Blessed are the Dead should be the last thing I read before drifting off to sleep (but I did, I couldn’t help myself). I loved the main character, Gabriella, in particular the details that Kristi gave her that made her very human and almost like a real person. I used to read Kristi’s ‘La Bella Figura’ lifestyle blog and so I loved to read about the clothes Gabriella might have thrown on that day, what simple yet delightful dish she cooked in her tiny apartment, her big Italian family and their boisterous dinners, and her wise Grandmother with old Italian sayings. Something else I thought was very well done were the details Kristi included in this book about working in a busy newspaper office and how she interacted with the police and also the interviews in jail. They seemed very realistic and Kristi has obviously done a great deal of research into the twisted mind of a psychopath in addition to recalling her time as a newspaper crime reporter. Even though some of the subject material is quite grim, I left this book with a good feeling, like I’d met someone (Gabrielle) that I’d really like to get to know better. And of course her developing new romance with Donovan is delightful as well. I’ve already ordered the second book in this series and can’t wait for it to arrive (both times I used Book Depository). Well done Kristi, on writing a series I would be happy to recommend to anyone looking for a great read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was so good that I ordered the next two in the series before I was even half done with this one!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
First I have read of this author. Fast read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I'm hooked!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
two-brainbook_reviewersDH More than 1 year ago
This book was fantastic. I usually don't get to read many real mystery books. So this was a breath of fresh air. The plot was fantastic. The characters were original. I will not lie, I was stressed till the end. Which must explain why I loved the book. It is thought provoking. This is a book that will stick with you. I have memory loss and most books are the same story, different name. Blessed are the Dead will not be one of those. And the book left me hanging. I have to wait for the next book?! I can't wait! Enjoy it as much as I did! I rate the book a 4.6. Muy Bueno!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Mysteries has become the new sub genre added on to realistic which brings in body functions and fluids total inability to be creative in my opinion novels should be rated as movies so we can avoid buying what we will just delete
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Missing child that echoes problems in her past. While i only read the sample the subfect matter is one that i avoid in these mysteries that have increased the child in danger to a point of grafic details. i do not plan to read further to see if this is done or if there is a switch from first person a form i donot care for