Blood of Winterhold [Winterhold Series Book 2] [NOOK Book]

Overview

Blood plays a key role in the lives of the people who inhabit the plant locked in perpetual winter. A young novice Interpreter is brought from the far North to the Hold by the Queen's own bodyguard. She takes a special interest in his welfare and his future. The Queen sees him only as one more despised Interpreter to force her through her daily round of stifling Rituals. He becomes enmeshed in the violent political and social battles which riddle the Hold. Revolutionaries try to tear apart the ancient social ...
See more details below
Blood of Winterhold [Winterhold Series Book 2]

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$6.00
BN.com price

Overview

Blood plays a key role in the lives of the people who inhabit the plant locked in perpetual winter. A young novice Interpreter is brought from the far North to the Hold by the Queen's own bodyguard. She takes a special interest in his welfare and his future. The Queen sees him only as one more despised Interpreter to force her through her daily round of stifling Rituals. He becomes enmeshed in the violent political and social battles which riddle the Hold. Revolutionaries try to tear apart the ancient social fabric, while the aristocracy attempts to preserve it. And the Interpreters use both factions to further their own ends. When he finds out the truth concerning his birth, he must struggle even more to free himself from the meshes of both Hold and Camp. After a furious battle between the revolutionaries and the aristocracy, he leaves the Hold for the Waste. He flees both to preserve his life and to discover just who he is and what he must do. Blood determines his heritage, and he must struggle against the shadow it casts over his life.
Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Lisa DeMond
The action in Blood of Winterhold is virtually non-stop. Take the normal court intrigue multiplied by two and add the hostile relations between king and queen and there is never a moment to let down one's guard. A dash of poison, a stab of blade, or maybe a shushed bundling off to a cell that no one knows about, and an enemy or innocent can disappear with hardly a question asked. Read it now and be one of those people who knew it back when. 4 Stars
Elaine Hopper
Stephen Almekinder has done it again with Blood of Winterhold, the second in his Winterhold series of books. This book is even better than the original (Winterhold) although it's set in the same frigid planet environment. Blood of Winterhold, like the first book, is filled with political intrigue. For readers of Robert Heinlien's Stranger in a Strange Land, in this second novel Almekinder depicts a virtuous man, thrust into the center of a malicious, scheming political system...
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • BN ID: 2940000060988
  • Publisher: Hard Shell Word Factory
  • Publication date: 7/1/2000
  • Series: Winterhold Series , #2
  • Sold by: Barnes & Noble
  • Format: eBook
  • File size: 680 KB

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)