The Bloodlight Chronicles: Reconciliation [NOOK Book]

Overview

Despite its futuristic technical trappings, enduring family bonds are at the core of this riveting techno-thriller. An alien virus that prolongs life has infected a couple, Zakariah and Mia Davis, and made their blood a valuable black-market staple due to its rejuvenating effects. The "eternal virus" has not affected their son Rix, and Zakariah is consumed with the search for an active sample to inoculate the teenager against mortality. To succeed, Zakariah surgically wired his brain for the global computer ...
See more details below
The Bloodlight Chronicles: Reconciliation

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$10.95
BN.com price

Overview

Despite its futuristic technical trappings, enduring family bonds are at the core of this riveting techno-thriller. An alien virus that prolongs life has infected a couple, Zakariah and Mia Davis, and made their blood a valuable black-market staple due to its rejuvenating effects. The "eternal virus" has not affected their son Rix, and Zakariah is consumed with the search for an active sample to inoculate the teenager against mortality. To succeed, Zakariah surgically wired his brain for the global computer network, a virtual cyber-economy controlled by avatars. Busted for transporting grain without a permit and on the run from the government and the Eternal Research Institute, Zakariah must travel off-planet through a commercial wormhole alongside his new business partner and surgical cyber-twin, Helena Sharp, who is seeking the source of immortality for her own purposes. In the Cromeus colonies, on the other side of time and space, Zakariah will risk everything to give his son eternal life.
Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Themes of transcendence and family love play out against backdrops of real and virtual worlds in Stanton's slight neo-cyberpunk debut, the first speculative fiction title from Canadian indie ECW. Cyberhacker Zak and martial artist Mia are infected with the Eternal virus, which grants everlasting life. They want to give it to their son, but the virus can't be caught or easily transmitted, so Zak heads for the offworld Cromeus colonies looking for the virus's alien Source. Then a new technology emerges that permits humans to be uploaded into machines, which may render the Eternal virus moot. Fans of James Gunn's The Immortals (1962) will find many familiar elements, and frequent shifts in perspective and characterization contribute only to a feeling of whiplash. (Oct.)
From the Publisher

"ECW’s first sf title revitalizes the cyber-fiction genre with its vivid prose and believable characters. Verdict: Stylistically streamlined, this vibrant series opener should appeal to fans of Bruce Sterling and William Gibson." —Library Journal

"Reconciliation, the first book of the trilogy, can be read on two levels, the literal and the metaphorical. Literally, the book is an exciting read. Metaphorically, it is a subtle invitation to the reader to consider the place of spirit within the cosmos and within themselves."  —On Spec Magazine

"On the road much travelled of neo-cyberpunk, The Bloodlight Chronicles manages to tell a suspenseful and lean story not about glazing-eyes tech gone crazy but about gifted, yet human-sized characters we care about, with some welcome twists on beloved already classics."  —Élisabeth Vonarburg, award-winning SF author

"This tale should appeal to science fiction readers, especially those who enjoy the virtual worlds and considering where computers and the internet may eventually lead us. Well-written, this volume resolves enough of its plot issues to satisfy, while leaving the door wide open to continue the  adventure. Recommended."  —Canadian Review of Materials

"The characters are unique and extremely well rounded."  —Night Owl Sci Fi

"Stanton is an excellent writer of science fiction. Highly recommended."  —Bookgateway.com

On Spec Magazine
Reconciliation, the first book of the trilogy, can be read on two levels, the literal and the metaphorical. Literally, the book is an exciting read. Metaphorically, it is a subtle invitation to the reader to consider the place of spirit within the cosmos and within themselves.
Library Journal
ECW’s first sf title revitalizes the cyber-fiction genre with its vivid prose and believable characters. Verdict: Stylistically streamlined, this vibrant series opener should appeal to fans of Bruce Sterling and William Gibson.
Canadian Review of Materials
This tale should appeal to science fiction readers, especially those who enjoy the virtual worlds and considering where computers and the internet may eventually lead us. Well-written, this volume resolves enough of its plot issues to satisfy, while leaving the door wide open to continue the adventure. Recommended.
Library Journal
Zakariah and Mia Davis have contracted the alien virus that indefinitely prolongs their lives. Because it is not inherited, Zakariah spends every free moment searching for a means to acquire the "Eternal" virus for his son Rix, a quest that takes him into the shady world of high-tech corporate research and interstellar politics. The first full-length novel by short-fiction author Stanton and ECW's first sf title revitalizes the cyber-fiction genre with its vivid prose and believable characters. VERDICT Stylistically streamlined, this vibrant series opener should appeal to fans of Bruce Sterling and William Gibson.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781554906246
  • Publisher: ECW Press
  • Publication date: 9/1/2010
  • Series: Bloodlight Chronicles
  • Sold by: Barnes & Noble
  • Format: eBook
  • Pages: 240
  • File size: 602 KB

Meet the Author


Steve Stanton is a writer who currently serves as the vice president of SF Canada, the nation's bilingual organization of science fiction, fantasy and horror writers. His short fiction has been published in 12 countries, including translations into Hebrew, Greek, Italian, and Romanian. He lives in Washago, Ontario.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Posted April 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Bloodlight Chronicles: Reconciliation

    I'm not sure where to start with this one - probably because I was very lost at the beginning. I thought that perhaps I had picked up a second in a series, but I could find no reference to a first book anywhere. The book in a nutshell is vampires meet cyperspace, but this isn't clear at first.

    The Eternals are somehow "chosen" to become immortal in a non-aging sense. People can link to cyberspace by hooking up with a cord coming out of their head which seems to be connected to microchips they have had implanted in their brain. Ok - so far I'm following, but then come the strange references to levels and ranks in the cyberworld with no real explanation of what they mean.

    Now, if you take the Eternals and the cyberworld somewhat out of the equation, the realtionships between the people are fascinating. The story revolves around a father, mother, and son. The parents are both Eternals and are trying to find a way to "infect" their son as well. They travel to the ends of the known universe (literally) to try and find this virus. However, beyond this the relationship was rather odd. Perhaps as a result of being so virtual based, the family's responses to each other seemed overly strained and impersonal.

    2/5

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)