Bloodthirsty (Lomax and Biggs Series #2)

Bloodthirsty (Lomax and Biggs Series #2)

4.5 37
by Marshall Karp
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Barry Gerber, one of the most hated men in Hollywood, is a no-show for a red carpet event. The next morning he turns up dead, killed in such a bizarre way that neither Detectives Mike Lomax nor Terry Biggs nor anyone in Forensics has ever seen anything like it before. Two days later, the prime suspect — another despised show-business bad boy — is found

…  See more details below

Overview

Barry Gerber, one of the most hated men in Hollywood, is a no-show for a red carpet event. The next morning he turns up dead, killed in such a bizarre way that neither Detectives Mike Lomax nor Terry Biggs nor anyone in Forensics has ever seen anything like it before. Two days later, the prime suspect — another despised show-business bad boy — is found murdered in the same sadistic manner.

The list of suspects then becomes as long as the credits in a summer blockbuster. Everyone hated the murdered men. Biggs jokes that this could be an elaborate public service effort to make Hollywood a better place to live and work. But he and Lomax soon find that all jokes are off as they wade through a daunting number of leads to uncover who will be the next victim. What they stumble upon is a motive far more primal than they had ever imagined.

Fast-paced, razor-sharp, and intensely funny, Bloodthirsty reunites Lomax and Biggs — the mystery genre’s new dynamic duo.

Read More

Editorial Reviews

The Barnes & Noble Review
In this sequel to Marshall Karp's critically acclaimed 2006 mystery The Rabbit Factory, veteran LAPD cops Michael Lomax and Terry Biggs must track down a killer who is systematically murdering some of Hollywood's most powerful players in heinous -- and downright karmic -- ways.

When ruthless movie producer Barry Gerber is found drained of blood and stuffed into a trashcan in the Hollywood hills, Lomax and Biggs are tasked to solve the crime before a media circus ensues. But when handsome movie star Damian Hedge is kidnapped (and later found dead, face-down in a port-a-potty), the media frenzy reaches "OJ" proportions, as the newly tagged Hollywood Bloodsucker begins a reign of terror in Southern California. Clues, however, are few and far between -- that is, until Lomax and Biggs get their hands on a movie script that describes the brutal killings in gory detail…

Laugh-out-loud funny, realistically portrayed, breakneck-paced, and powered by literally hundreds of hilarious one-liners, Blood Thirsty will appeal to fans of authors like Carl Hiaasen and Janet Evanovich. Karp has hit the jackpot with Lomax and Biggs. The most endearing and wildly entertaining protagonists to grace the pages of a mystery novel in years, this dyanmic duo is a cross between Starsky and Hutch and Martin and Lewis. It's just a matter of time until they hit the big screen. Paul Goat Allen

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781596922884
Publisher:
MacAdam/Cage Publishing, Incorporated
Publication date:
05/28/2008
Series:
Lomax and Biggs Series, #2
Pages:
375
Product dimensions:
5.90(w) x 8.90(h) x 1.20(d)

Read an Excerpt

Blood Thirsty


By Marshall Karp

MacAdam Cage

Copyright © 2007 Marshall Karp
All right reserved.

ISBN: 9781596922099

A team of detectives went to UCLA Medical Center and interviewed the man who owned the house where Barry was dumped. He was a prominent Lebanese cardiologist and not, as Sauer had suggested, an Arab terrorist.

His wife was in Denver on business. According to his statement, he took the garbage out the night before, left for work before the truck arrived, and never noticed the extra can.

"Did he know the victim?" Terry asked when I filled him in.

"No. Never even heard of him."

"I'd rule him out as a suspect, but it should at least be a misdemeanor to live in L.A. and not know all your major movie producers."

By one o'clock we had wrapped up at the scene, stopped at a Taco Bell for a couple of Gordita Supremes, which I'm convinced kill more cops than bullets, and were back in the car on the way to see Barry Gerber's widow.

"Take a look at this," Terry said, handing me the eight-by-ten glossy Otis Hairston had given him. "Melissa Little, the garbage man's wife."

"She's white," I said.

"And blond. And beautiful. And just look at her résumé. Besides the soap, she's done commercials for Budweiser, Honda, and Tampax. I actually remember her from the Budweiser ad."

"You mean you don't watch Tampax commercials?"

"Mike, my whole life is a Tampax commercial. I live with Marilyn and three teenage girls on the corner of Estrogen Avenue and Drama QueenBoulevard. Rebecca spent the entire month of April crying because some boy told her that her nose was too big. If the fucking house were burning down, Sarah would have to change her shoes at least five times before she could make a run for it. Emily is only fifteen and she wants to have a huge hunk of shrapnel installed in her belly button and a tattoo of the solar system on her butt. And Al Gore called to say that it has been confirmed by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration that Marilyn's hot flashes are the real cause of global warming."

I was laughing hard now, but he didn't let up.

"And I swear to God, Mike...I swear to God in heaven, that if I ever come home and find the toilet seat up, I will break down and weep. And then I'll take my gun and start firing into the closets, because you gotta know that one of those crazy hormonal women has to be hiding a man in there."
I applauded. "That's good stuff. You should really do one of those open mic nights at a comedy club and try it out."

"No. I'm still working on my material. I'm not ready to do stand-up in public. Even with just you and me in the car, I did it sitting down."

Continues...

Excerpted from Blood Thirsty by Marshall Karp Copyright © 2007 by Marshall Karp. Excerpted by permission.
All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.
Excerpts are provided by Dial-A-Book Inc. solely for the personal use of visitors to this web site.

Read More

Meet the Author

An award-winning advertising executive, Marshall Karp has also written for stage, screen, and television. His play, Squabbles, published by Samuel French, has been performed in more than 800 theaters around the world. He has been a writer, producer, and executive producer on TV shows for all the major networks. His first feature film, Just Looking, directed by Jason Alexander, was released in 2000. Having spent time on both East and West Coasts, he now lives in upstate New York, where he is at work on the third title in his Lomax-Biggs mystery series.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Bloodthirsty (Lomax and Biggs Series #2) 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 33 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Attention all readers, I just finished 'Blood Thristy' by Marshall Karp. I laughed out loud and had tears in my eyes while reading this book. When was the last time you read a book and literally laughed out loud? Marshall Karp could easily be a comedian, but thank God he's a writer, and one of the greats. To say this book, 'Blood Thristy' is one of the best books of 2007 is an understatement. Do yourself a favour, the next time your at the bookstore, perferably Barns and Noble, and your standing in line to buy the latest Harry Potter book pick up 'Blood Thristy' by Marshall Karp. Oh! and while you're at it you might get the 'Rabbit Factory' as well. After all, once you've read 'Blood Thristy' you'll be hooked. Prepare yourself for one of the best reads of the summer. Thanks, Mr. G.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was just as good as the first book - The Rabbit Factory. I love these two detectives. They keep you entertained and you never know what they are going to say next. The story line is very good.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Blood Thirsty by Marshall Karp is an exciting story that will have you reading as fast as humanly possibly! The characters are great and the plot will have you begging for more!
Guest More than 1 year ago
After reading the Rabbit Factory I couldn't wait for Karp's next Biggs and Lomax tale. Blood Thirsty does not disappoint. The second, in what I hope will be a long series, is just as fresh and unique as the first book. The only problem with this story is that it reads so fast. Please write faster Mr. Karp, I can't wait for the next submission.
Guest More than 1 year ago
Lomax and Biggs get better and better! The latest, Blood Thirsty, combines one-liners, heart-breakers, heart-stoppers and a thirst for more. I can't wait for the next, and the next, and the next...
Guest More than 1 year ago
If you like intelligent, witty, dialogue, a story that ensares, and characters you wish were real, then buy this book, as well as Karp's first one, The Rabbit Factory. I have never enjoyed a series more wholeheartedly than this one. With these two novels, Karp has joined the hallowed literary grounds tread by Ian Rankin, Ken Breun, James Lee Burke, Lawrence Block and Michael Connolly. My only complaint: I wish I didn't read so fast. Stop reading this review and buy this book. You will not regret a single cent of it.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It seems a shame to tell how funny this book is when it about murders in Hollywood.....committed in revenge in brutal ways. ...but it is FUNNY!!..really funny. Read it for yourself.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great story. Fast paced, very interesting characters and in spite of the many characters, very easy to follow. Even though the villan and motive were revealed long before the end of the story, you still want to see it through.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago