Bloody Chester

( 1 )

Overview

A deliciously gruesome horror tale set in the old west.

This isn’t John Wayne’s heroic old west.

This is the real deal: a filthy, disease-ridden frontier populated by losers, lunatics, and murderers. And when you’re a skinny teenager with no family and a name like Chester Kates, your options are limited. It’s stand up and fight or roll over and die, so Chester, aka “Lady ...

See more details below
Paperback (First Edition)
$14.22
BN.com price
(Save 25%)$18.99 List Price
Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (40) from $1.99   
  • New (15) from $2.25   
  • Used (25) from $1.99   
Sending request ...

Overview

A deliciously gruesome horror tale set in the old west.

This isn’t John Wayne’s heroic old west.

This is the real deal: a filthy, disease-ridden frontier populated by losers, lunatics, and murderers. And when you’re a skinny teenager with no family and a name like Chester Kates, your options are limited. It’s stand up and fight or roll over and die, so Chester, aka “Lady Kate,” is set to fight until it kills him.

It isn’t much of a life, but it’s at least straightforward.

Until things go all cockeyed when Chester is hired to ride his horse (also named Chester) to a ghost town and burn it to the ground. Except the ghost town doesn’t just boast a tidy collection of mangled corpses: it also has three living inhabitants . . . who won’t be budged. But Chester’s been hired for a job, and he’ll be damned if he doesn’t burn the town to the last cinder.

Thing is, he may just be damned if he does.

This horror-Western-mystery graphic novel will send a thrill—and a chill—down your spine. Funny, fascinating, and downright horrible, this is a book that keeps you turning the pages.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
The genre of western horror has been most famously dominated by DC Comics’ Jonah Hex, but writer Petty brings some of his own pedigree to a work that skillfully pulls the rug from under Hex. Petty’s 2008 film The Burrowers mixed the Wild West with underground monsters, but his graphic novel debut puts aside the obvious—as well as the machismo—to conjure up a creepy, complex, and surreal mystery that also shines as a character study. Chester Kates is a young badass fighting his way through life when he is hired to burn down the plague-stricken town of Whale to clear the way for the railroad to come through. In order to do so, he has to deal with the final denizens of the future ghost town, traversing exploring their interpersonal relationships and obsessions, and uncovering plenty of secrets along the way. Florido’s artwork brings a further sensitivity to the story that positions it at arm’s length from the usual Wild West comics. Also featured is more fine color work by Hilary Sycamore, whose skilled palette provides Petty and Florido’s work with an explosive boost off the page. (July)
ALAN Review - Brian Kelley
Set in the wild frontier, Bloody Chester is a tale of a young man coming of age and struggling to carve out an identity for himself. At its core a bildungsroman (or journey novel), Bloody Chester encapsulates the very best traditions of quality adolescent literature: identity formation, development of an ethical code (even at the expense of personal gain), and learning the differences between lust and love. While there are elements that may, at first glance, seem taboo and that warrant caution and close reading—references to sexuality, suggestive language, violence—these elements are contextualized in the time period and not sensational or gratuitous. Bloody Chester at times reads like a (much better written) Catcher in the Rye. Overall, these taboo elements help to keep the voice of the narrative authentic in the vein of some of the best and most revered stories of the old frontier. Reviewer: Brian Kelley
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781596431003
  • Publisher: First Second
  • Publication date: 7/3/2012
  • Edition description: First Edition
  • Edition number: 1
  • Pages: 160
  • Sales rank: 1,438,062
  • Age range: 14 - 18 Years
  • Lexile: GN350L (what's this?)
  • Product dimensions: 5.90 (w) x 8.40 (h) x 0.50 (d)

Meet the Author

JT Petty is an American film director, author, and video game writer. He currently resides in Brooklyn, New York.

Hilary Florido‘s self-published mini-comics have been listed in the 2009 and 2010 Best American Comics. She works as a storyboarder on The Cartoon Network’s “The Regular Show.”

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Posted July 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Double Review: We Give a 3/5 and a 5/5

    Graphic Novel Review (ARC) by Chris
    I was a little confused by this book. The whole time I was reading it I was waiting for something horrific or spooky to happen, but it never really does. With the exception of a few moments it all feels pretty mundane.

    Since I was looking forward to something supernatural, it was a bit of a let down. Taken at face value, it’s a decent western. It has that trademark slow build and a cast of screwy characters all haunted by their past.

    The art, while good, felt a bit off when compared to the story. The art is open and bright which doesn’t sell the dark, oppressive story. It’s not something that supposed to be for the kids, so I don’t know if it was the right art choice.

    The is the second First Second book that has sold me on ‘supernatural’ and not delivered but still delivered an interesting, if small, story. If you are a fan of the western in the vein of ‘Unforgiven’ or ‘True Grit’ this may be right up your alley. Book Rating: 3/5

    Graphic Novel Review (ARC) by Kole
    This was a very surprising read for me, in a good way. I was expecting an average book that would take me a little bit to get through, but I got a lot more.

    The art was great and refreshing from the art that I’ve seen recently, and it was very well written. I noticed that the author had also written for Splinter Cell, and was surprised to see that, considering the two different style. I guess that shows that the author has a really good range.

    I was confused with the story in the beginning, but I understand that was the point of the book. I felt like the story had a little bit of a rough start, but after a while I got into it very easily. The characters are great and varied, and you’ll have feelings for them. The ending left a little bit more to be desired but I’m assuming there’s another on the way. I sure hope so, because I definitely want more. Book Rating: 5/5

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)