BN.com Gift Guide

Blue Fire and Ice [NOOK Book]

Overview

An original and brilliant take on fantasy and imagination in the tradition of Alice in Wonderland and The Wind in The Willows. This is a gripping adventure fantasy filled with humour and irresistible characters set in a beautifully realised fantasy world that will enchant teens and adults alike.

Fire ravages Beadledom. Fire that can't be quenched. So Beadledom's slightly stuffy and pompous factotum, Brian, is sent to enlist the aid of the neighbouring people, The Muddles. But ...

See more details below
Blue Fire and Ice

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$2.99
BN.com price

Overview

An original and brilliant take on fantasy and imagination in the tradition of Alice in Wonderland and The Wind in The Willows. This is a gripping adventure fantasy filled with humour and irresistible characters set in a beautifully realised fantasy world that will enchant teens and adults alike.

Fire ravages Beadledom. Fire that can't be quenched. So Beadledom's slightly stuffy and pompous factotum, Brian, is sent to enlist the aid of the neighbouring people, The Muddles. But aid from the unpredictable Muddles brings its own risks… Drawn together to save The Land, seven unlikely heroes set out to find the secret of the blue fire and the identity of the mysterious arsonist who will stop at nothing to destroy them all.

Full of the most unusual characters and packed with intrigue, humour and adventure, Blue Fire and Ice is the first in The Land's Tale series.

For readers 12+.

Reviews

The story is simply beautiful. I know that the expression beautiful doesn't initially say that much. But it is exactly that. It is simply very, very beautiful. It is perfect for children and teenagers; and adults, too. The author manages to narrate scenes full of suspense without resorting to the usual stock phrases such as suddenly , all of a sudden or similar; the book lives through the descriptions. As an adult a comfy shiver ran down my spine and as a result I caught myself once or twice jumping over the description of the scene - because I couldn t wait to see whether or not one of my favourites had lost his life.
Bettina Meister, Zauberspielgel-online.de

When I come face to face with a debut fantasy novel, I am usually both a little excited as well as filled with a slight sense of dread. All too often new writers are disappointing and knowing that the book comes from a small, independent publisher my apprehension grows. This time, however, I was quite pleasantly rewarded with not only a truly original storyline, but a well crafted plot with rounded characters. His storytelling skills ensnare the reader, giving a sense of urgency to the act of turning the page to find out what happens next. While standing satisfyingly complete on its own, it is a welcome beginning to a new series that hopefully will live up to the vivid promise this book gives.
Kimberley Saunders, Thebookbag.co.uk

There is plenty of action and adventure in this first book of a new series with lots of plot twists and unusual characters to keep you interested.
Primary Times

This book isn’t “The Hobbit”. But the Land is just as magical and simple and refreshing as the Shire. I loved the Beadles and the Myrmidots, and especially the Muddles. It’s the sort of tale where you snuggle your older child in for the night and they happily listen for hours while you both forget the time because the story is enchanting...
... I was pretty much hooked, and by the time I reached the 50% marked, I was enchanted. It is a simple and sweet story, with mystery and adventure, somewhat the flavor of the Wind in the Willows.
... This is not a short book at 336 pages, and it spans at least a month or two of time. There are so many funny and wonderful people to meet. The Muddles especially were full of unique and completely surprising individuals. The three people groups have always lived as isolated as possible from each other, but to solve the mystery of the fires and the strange woman, they will have to work together and venture farther than anyone of them in history has ever ventured before .... or are they? Leave it to the Muddles to come up with some wonderful surprises and amazing solutions. Maybe the Muddles aren’t so bad after all?
...Alan Skinner has done a remarkable job at creating a fun and fascinating world of likable characters with realistic personalities and problems. I laughed, I cried, I stayed up late to read the next chapter ... and the next one ... and the next until I cringed and then laughed at the end.
O. Scarlett! Book Reviews

Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • BN ID: 2940044611283
  • Publisher: Alan Skinner
  • Publication date: 6/18/2013
  • Series: Land's Tale , #1
  • Sold by: Smashwords
  • Format: eBook
  • Sales rank: 672,693
  • File size: 2 MB

Meet the Author

I've been many things in my life but they were all just slices of time layered on the one foundation - a writer. Sometimes you forget what you are and some times you just think I'll get around to it when the rain stops. Be careful about that; there are more rainy days than you think there will be when you're young.Now all I do is write - and spend more time than I ever thought I would letting people know about the books I write. These days, it seems to come with the job but I find I do really like it when people get in touch with me and ask me things or say thank you. It's great.Some people ask if I use all the things I've been in my writing. I don't think I've written enough yet to have used even a small part of what's happened in my life. I've been fortunate to live in wonderful places: Boston, Melbourne, London, Zurich. Great things have happened in all those places.But you don't really want to know about me. The best part of me is what I write. So I'll stop here and let you get back to reading my books. If you do want to ask more, just get in touch.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 3
( 2 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    Is this a good book????

    Okay this moonstar elder den stuff needs to stop. Please get a website for that. The warriors series is one of my favorite series to.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Moonclan Elder den

    Moonstar

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)