Blues Roots

Blues Roots


Product Details

Release Date:
Tomato Music


Disc 1

  1. Frisco Lines  - Mississippi Fred McDowell
  2. Fare You Well Baby Blues  - Joe Callicot
  3. Long Haired Doney
  4. Mean Stepfather  - Joe Williams
  5. Bald Eagle Train
  6. Don't Drive Me Away  - R.C. Smith
  7. Long Tall Girl Got Stuck on Me
  8. Red River Blues  - Melvin "Lil' Son" Jackson
  9. I Am the Black Ace  - Black Ace
  10. Whistling Alex Moore Blues  - Alex Moore
  11. Texas Blues
  12. The Ma Grinder  - Robert Shaw
  13. Take a Walk

Disc 2

  1. Bear Cat Blues  - John Jackson
  2. Snowing and Raining Blues  - Guitar Slim
  3. Got a Date at Half Past Eight
  4. You Got Another Man
  5. Struggle Here in Houston
  6. Listen at That Bull  - George Coleman
  7. Trouble Blues  - Joe Turner
  8. Dream  - John Littlejohn
  9. Sugar Daddy
  10. I'm Feeling Alright
  11. Sometimes I Cry  - Johnny Young
  12. Black Snake Blues  - Clifton Chenier
  13. Two Bugs and a Roach

Read More

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Juke Boy Bonner   Guitar,Harmonica,Vocals
Jesse Fuller   Guitar,Harmonica,Kazoo,Vocals
Lowell Fulson   Guitar,Vocals
Guitar Slim   Guitar,Vocals
Earl Hooker   Guitar,Vocals
John H. Jackson   Guitar,Vocals
Mance Lipscomb   Guitar,Vocals
Big Mama Thornton   Vocals
Big Joe Turner   Vocals
Bukka White   Guitar,Vocals
Big Joe Williams   Vocals,9-string Guitar
Johnny Young   Rhythm Guitar,Vocals,Track Performer
Clifton Chenier   Accordion,Vocals
Art Farmer   Trumpet
Peter Johnson   Piano
Barbara Dane   Guitar,Vocals
Black Ace   Steel Guitar,Vocals
John Littlejohn   Guitar,Vocals
Mississippi Fred McDowell   Guitar,Vocals
Mercy Dee Walton   Piano,Vocals
Jimmy Dawkins   Guitar
Luther "Guitar Junior" Johnson   Bass
R.L. Burnside   Guitar,Vocals
Robert Brady   Drums
Cleveland Chenier   Rubboard
Otis Cherry   Drums
Francis Clay   Drums
Lester Dorsie   Drums
Addison Farmer   Bass
Martin Fulson   Rhythm Guitar
Ernest Gatewood   Bass
Lightnin' Hopkins   Guitar,Vocals
Monroe Jones   Rhythm Guitar
Sammy Lawhorn   Guitar
Lafayette Leake   Piano
Sidney Maiden   Harmonica
Muddy Waters   Guitar
Milburn Newman   Baritone Saxophone
Alvin Nichols   Bass
Robert Pulliam   Tenor Saxophone
Gino Skaggs   Bass
Frank Sleet   Alto Saxophone
Otis Spann   Piano
Robert St. Julien   Drums
Willie Young   Tenor Saxophone
R.C. Smith   Guitar,Vocals
Alexander Herman Moore   Piano,Vocals
Mercy Dee   Track Performer
Alvin J. Simon   Drums
Washboard Willie   Washboard
Pete Peterson   Tenor Saxophone
James Ross   Trumpet
Jelly Belly   Guitar,Vocals

Technical Credits

Charles Brown   Composer
Willie Dixon   Producer
Mance Lipscomb   Composer
Big Mama Thornton   Composer
King Oliver   Composer
Robert Shaw   Composer
Milton Glaser   Art Direction
Lightnin' Hopkins   Composer
Mack McCormick   Producer
Chris Strachwitz   Producer,Engineer
Bill Dahl   Liner Notes
Tom Spinosa   Producer
Public Domain   Composer

Read More

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >