Bob Dylan: The 30th Anniversary Concert Celebration [Deluxe Edition]

Bob Dylan: The 30th Anniversary Concert Celebration [Deluxe Edition]


View All Available Formats & Editions

To commemorate 30 years since the release of Dylan's first Columbia album, a marathon tribute concert was held at New York's Madison Square Garden, with a galaxy of stars and voices from the past taking part. The cumulative effect of this tribute was staggering, revealing just how much truly great Dylan material there is to choose from all of…  See more details below


To commemorate 30 years since the release of Dylan's first Columbia album, a marathon tribute concert was held at New York's Madison Square Garden, with a galaxy of stars and voices from the past taking part. The cumulative effect of this tribute was staggering, revealing just how much truly great Dylan material there is to choose from all of his periods. A firm nucleus of the three surviving members of Booker T. & the MG's, plus G.E. Smith on guitar and Jim Keltner and Anton Fig on drums, anchors the bands, and most of the stars offer fresh slants on songs familiar and obscure. Among the more memorable interpretations are Richie Havens' moving "Just Like a Woman," completely within his style; the Clancy Brothers' fervent conversion of "When the Ship Comes In" to an Irish folk idiom; the swinging, countrified "You Ain't Goin' Nowhere" from Mary Chapin Carpenter, Shawn Colvin, and Rosanne Cash; and a sullen "Masters of War" by Eddie Vedder and Mike McCready on acoustic guitars. Lou Reed went through the bootlegs to come up with the pounding "Foot of Pride," which is perfectly suited to Reed's declamatory style. Eric Clapton shrugs off his diffident manner to deliver one of the most electrifying performances of his life in "Don't Think Twice, It's All Right" -- each guitar lick and vocal cuts angrily to the bone -- and George Harrison makes his first U.S. concert appearance in 18 years with "Absolutely Sweet Marie." Dylan himself appears at the end, wildly improvisational and harshly authentic in voice on "It's Alright, Ma" and "Girl of the North Country." By no means does this box contain the entire concert, though, and while the reason was probably to make the thing fit on two well-packed CDs, some of the deletions are inexplicable. To cite just a few examples, Harrison's "If Not for You" is missing; so are Clapton's "Love Minus Zero, No Limit" and some numbers by Booker T. & the MG's ("Gotta Serve Somebody" and "Lay Lady Lay" are in Stax's Time Is Tight box). Even Dylan's own performance of "Song to Woody" is not here; the booklet pleads "technical problems" but it sounded fine on the live telecast. Nevertheless, enough of the concert is here to suggest its triumph -- and all were reminded that the fountainhead of all of this music was still alive, creative, and unwilling to be consigned to the history books. [A Deluxe Edition of The 30th Anniversary Concert Celebration added two rehearsal bonus tracks.]

Read More

Product Details

Release Date:
Sony Legacy


Disc 1

  1. Like a Rolling Stone  - John Mellencamp
  2. Leopard-Skin Pill-Box Hat  - John Mellencamp
  3. Introduction  - Kris Kristofferson
  4. Blowin' In the Wind  - Stevie Wonder
  5. Foot of Pride  - Lou Reed
  6. Masters of War  - Eddie Vedder
  7. The Times They Are a-Changin'  - Tracy Chapman
  8. Introduction  - Kris Kristofferson
  9. It Ain't Me Babe  - June Carter Cash
  10. What Was It You Wanted  - Willie Nelson
  11. I'll Be Your Baby Tonight  - Kris Kristofferson
  12. Highway 61 Revisited  - Johnny Winter
  13. Seven Days  - Ron Wood
  14. Just Like a Woman  - Richie Havens
  15. When the Ship Comes In  - Robbie O'Connell
  16. Introduction  - Johnny Cash
  17. You Ain't Goin' Nowhere  - Mary Chapin Carpenter
  18. Don't Think Twice, It's All Right [Vers  - Eric Clapton

Disc 2

  1. Just Like Tom Thumb's Blues  - Neil Young
  2. All Along the Watchtower  - Neil Young
  3. I Shall Be Released  - Chrissie Hynde
  4. Don't Think Twice, It's Alright  - Eric Clapton
  5. Emotionally Yours  -  O'Jays
  6. When I Paint My Masterpiece  -  Band
  7. Absolutely Sweet Marie  - George Harrison
  8. License To Kill  -  Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers
  9. Rainy Day Woman #12 & 35  -  Tom Petty & the Heartbreakers
  10. Mr. Tambourine Man  - Roger McGuinn
  11. It's Alright, Ma (I'm Only Bleeding)  - Bob Dylan
  12. My Back Pages  - Roger McGuinn
  13. Knockin' On Heaven's Door
  14. Girl from the North Country  - Bob Dylan
  15. I Believe in You  - Sinéad O'Connor

Read More

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Johnny Cash   Vocals
Rosanne Cash   Guitar,Vocals
Kris Kristofferson   Guitar,Vocals
Willie Nelson   Guitar,Vocals
Richie Havens   Guitar,Vocals
Booker T. & the MG's   Band
Tracy Chapman   Guitar,Vocals
Shawn Colvin   Guitar,Vocals
Steve Cropper   Guitar
Bob Dylan   Guitar,Vocals
George Harrison   Guitar,Vocals
Kooper   Organ
Tom Petty   Guitar,Vocals
Lou Reed   Guitar,Vocals
Johnny Winter   Guitar,Vocals
Ronnie Wood   Guitar,Vocals
Neil Young   Guitar,Vocals
Lisa Germano   Violin
Sue Medley   Background Vocals
Rick Danko   Guitar,Vocals
Mike Campbell   Guitar
Paul Shaffer   Piano
Jim Keltner   Drums
Sheryl Crow   Background Vocals,Choir, Chorus
Liam Clancy   Guitar,Vocals
Tommy Makem   Banjo,Vocals,Guest Appearance
Mickey Raphael   Harmonica
Kenny Aronoff   Drums
Jerry Barnes   Choir, Chorus
Richard Bell   Accordion
Benmont Tench   Organ,Piano,Keyboards
Mary Chapin Carpenter   Guitar,Vocals
June Carter Cash   Vocals
Randy Ciarlante   Drums,Vocals
Cissy Houston   Choir, Chorus
Bobby Clancy   Percussion,Vocals
Paddy Clancy   Harmonica,Vocals
Eric Clapton   Guitar,Vocals
Donald "Duck" Dunn   Bass
Howie Epstein   Bass,Guitar,Vocals,Lap Steel Guitar
Ron Fair   Piano
Anton Fig   Percussion,Drums
Levon Helm   Mandolin,Vocals
Garth Hudson   Accordion
Chrissie Hynde   Guitar,Vocals
Keith John   Background Vocals
Booker T. Jones   Organ,Guitar
Brenda White-King   Background Vocals,Choir, Chorus
Curtis King   Background Vocals,Choir, Chorus
Eddie Levert   Vocals
Stan Lynch   Percussion,Drums
Mike McCready   Guitar
Roger McGuinn   Guitar,Vocals
John Mellencamp   Vocals
Robbie O'Connell   Guitar,Vocals
Sinéad O'Connor   Vocals
Christine Ohlman   Background Vocals,Choir, Chorus
Pat Peterson   Percussion,Background Vocals
Lenny Pickett   Clarinet
G.E. Smith   Bass,Guitar,Mandolin
Eddie Vedder   Vocals
Don Was   Bass,Vocals
Jim Weider   Guitar,Vocals
Walter Williams   Vocals
Stevie Wonder   Harmonica,Piano,Vocals
Kerry Marx   Guitar
Leotis Clyburn   Choir, Chorus
Gary Houston   Choir, Chorus
Glynice Coleman   Choir, Chorus
Sammy Strain   Vocals
Katrice Barnes   Choir, Chorus
Michael Wanchic   Guitar
Dennis Collins   Background Vocals,Choir, Chorus
Reggie Young   Guitar
Rosse Mitcham   Choir, Chorus
John David Grissom   Guitar
Jeffrey G. Meyers   Bass

Technical Credits

Bob Dylan   Composer
Don DeVito   Producer
Peter Hefter   Engineer
Jeff Rosen   Executive Producer
G.E. Smith   Musical Director
David Wild   Liner Notes
Bill Flanagan   Liner Notes
Alan Messer   Memorabilia
Vic Anesini   Producer,Engineer
Sean McClintock   Engineer
Phil Gitomer   Engineer
Bob Gruen   Cover Photo
Vickie Mathis   Producer
Debbie Sweeney   Producer
Ken Regan   Cover Photo
Diane Lapson   Producer
Lynne Okin   Producer
Steve Berkowitz   Producer,Tape Research
Julie Kim   Producer
Dave Hewett   Engineer
Jeff Kramer   Executive Producer
Matt Haasch   Stage Manager
Margarita Miller   Producer
Ken Graham   Stage Manager

Read More

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >