Bobby's Diner (for fans of Sue Grafton, JD Robb, James Patterson, Nora Roberts, Erin Brockovich) [NOOK Book]

Overview

WINNER OF THE 2011 FORWARD NATIONAL LITERATURE AWARD (for "Drowning")

BOBBY’S DINER IS A STORY OF A WOMAN trying to find herself in a town where nobody wants her. Imagine a situation where the ex-wife and ‘the other woman’ inherit a piece of property with a business and they are expected to work together. Georgette and Vanessa hold fast to the only thing they have, each other. Georgette’s story tells a tale of life, love, death, grief, pain, ...
See more details below
Bobby's Diner (for fans of Sue Grafton, JD Robb, James Patterson, Nora Roberts, Erin Brockovich)

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$2.99
BN.com price

Overview

WINNER OF THE 2011 FORWARD NATIONAL LITERATURE AWARD (for "Drowning")

BOBBY’S DINER IS A STORY OF A WOMAN trying to find herself in a town where nobody wants her. Imagine a situation where the ex-wife and ‘the other woman’ inherit a piece of property with a business and they are expected to work together. Georgette and Vanessa hold fast to the only thing they have, each other. Georgette’s story tells a tale of life, love, death, grief, pain, loneliness, and redemption. And, she finds her true family with the most unexpected people.
Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

http://romancingscifi.blogspot.com/2009/02/presenting-friend-author-susan-wingate.html - Joyce Anthony
Give yourself several hours to read this book. You will find yourself saying “Just one more chapter” over and over again. It is one of those rare books you won’t want to put down. I look forward to reading more of Ms. Wingate’s work.
http://indiebookawards.com/2009_winners_and_finalists.php - BOBBY'S DINER Is an Award-winner!
BOBBY'S DINER is the winner of three finalist awards in:
2010 International Book Awards
2009 National Best Books Award
2009 Next Generation Indie Book Awards
Joyce Anthony
Give yourself several hours to read this book. You will find yourself saying “Just one more chapter” over and over again. It is one of those rare books you won’t want to put down. I look forward to reading more of Ms. Wingate’s work.
Joyce Anthony
Give yourself several hours to read this book. You will find yourself saying “Just one more chapter” over and over again. It is one of those rare books you won’t want to put down. I look forward to reading more of Ms. Wingate’s work.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • BN ID: 2940011811098
  • Publisher: Roberts Press
  • Publication date: 9/24/2014
  • Series: The Bobby's Diner Series , #1
  • Sold by: Barnes & Noble
  • Format: eBook
  • Pages: 316
  • Sales rank: 32,480
  • File size: 133 KB

Meet the Author

Award-winning, bestselling author, SUSAN WINGATE, is co-host of the extremely popular talk radio show, DIALOGUE: BETWEEN THE LINES. You can hear Susan speak with Joshua Graham every Thursday at 10 a.m. Pacific Standard Time as they chat with other authors about writing and the publishing industry.

Susan has written nine novels, two short story collections, a few plays, one screenplay and tons of poems.

DROWNING, (contemporary women’s fiction) her latest release has just received a finalist award in the 2011 International Book Awards. And, the no. 3 book in her very popular Bobby’s Diner series, SACRIFICE AT SEA, is slated for publication in October of 2011.

Susan teaches six writing workshops that she offers around the country.

Susan’s pseudonyms include, Myah Lin (literary fiction) and JJ Adams (noir mystery).
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4
( 12 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2010

    An amazing, touching, thoughtful story.

    "Bobby's Diner" by Susan Wingate just doesn't let up. It starts with a bang and then keeps rolling until the end. And, the end! Teary, sweet and sensitive. A must-read for people who enjoy a great woman's story.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A love triangle after the husband dies. Ever wonder what people

    A love triangle after the husband dies. Ever wonder what people might say about you after you’re gone? And how the hell will the two women in your life get along. One sure way to find out is to leave your diner to them both. this is a fun, sad, and touching story about two women who learn a lot about each other and, while doing so, learn a lot about themselves.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2010

    Diner Dive

    The premise of Bobby's Diner is Bobby dies and leaves his diner to his Ex wife Vanessa and his current wife Georgette. In addition to that is a daughter, who never forgave Georgette or Bobby for tearing apart her family. With this in mind, I expected some high drama, before the ladies realized they needed to work together to make the restaurant a success. Then I hoped to enjoy a laugh while they tried to blend into a working a team with some added community drama put in the mix. Instead, it was life is rough and you just deal with it, and/or die. I found none of the characters meshing to give me that community feel, dysfunctional or otherwise. The author would give you a sterile description of one particular character and then shove them into the story. I didn't get the feel of people flowing together in to a comprehensive story and have them developing their identities in it. The ladies seem to reach a conflict and then just resolve the problem. Yet I couldn't see the solution in action. For example they had a conflict about the menu. Vanessa had an almost bullying attitude about wanting to serve diner food like they did in the old days and Georgette wanted to stick with her fancier fair. Georgette responded by showing her how to cook the new food and all was well. Another complaint I have is the author's need to insert the word of the day into various places in the book. I didn't find this to enhance the story but further alienate my ability to relate to the story. Near the end I just didn't care enough about the people in the book to really dwell on the ending. It was more about finishing the book so I could move on to another.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    Whoever thought that fans of Sue Grafton and James Patterson would enjoy this book?

    This book is nothing that those readers would ever enjoy. Not even close. I can't read any more of this book even though I have in the past made myself finish every book that I started. It's just that poorly written and certainly nothing compared to James Patterston or Sue Grafton.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2014

    A Book for People Who Find Themselves Lonely. I remember when I

    A Book for People Who Find Themselves Lonely. I remember when I lost my dad. My heart was broken and then a few years later, the marriage to the man of my dreams fell apart and before I knew it, I was divorced. I wish I had read this book beforehand. Even though this book is classified as a mystery/thriller, it's also inspiring and heartwarming. I loved this story. Thank you, Susan Wingate for writing this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Tori

    Nvm

    1 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    Flame

    Kk

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)