Bocca

Bocca

by Jacob Kenedy
     
 

Bocca di Lupo is an Italian trattoria with an international reputation. Tables are booked months in advance by diners from around the world who are seeking chef Jacob Kenedy's unique take on Italian cuisine.

In Bocca, Kenedy brings his own brand of Italian regional cooking out of the restaurant and into the home. Kenedy's cooking is simple and delicious,

…  See more details below

Overview

Bocca di Lupo is an Italian trattoria with an international reputation. Tables are booked months in advance by diners from around the world who are seeking chef Jacob Kenedy's unique take on Italian cuisine.

In Bocca, Kenedy brings his own brand of Italian regional cooking out of the restaurant and into the home. Kenedy's cooking is simple and delicious, covering the full range of regional specialties: Tuscan porcini soup, Venetian tagliatelle with pigeon ragù, Lazian asparagus and prawn frittata, Sicilian fried mullet, and Neapolitan coffee with zabaione. Organized by food group (pasta, soups, stews, roasts, etc.), with over 200 recipes, this book has been designed by the renowned Caz Hildebrand, best known for her work on Nigella Lawson's books. It includes 250 sumptuous photographs of Italy and Kenedy's delectable dishes.

For fans of Andrew Carmellini, Mario Batali, the Frankies (Spuntino), and Giada de Laurentiis, for foodies who must have the next "it" chef's cookbook, and for lovers of great Italian cuisine, Bocca will be essential reading.

Read More

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Kenedy, noted chef of the acclaimed London restaurant Bocca and self-proclaimed Italophile, celebrates region-based Italian cuisine in this lavishly photographed and wholly appetizing collection. Dividing sections not based on meal but by cooking method and ingredients, Kenedy immediately sets this book apart from the multitude of other books on the subject. With hardly a marinara or tomato-based recipe in sight, he takes readers through the joys of raw eating and cured meats, with tempting recipes including Piedmont’s lardo and walnuts. He also includes occasional sections on technique, such as cleaning artichokes and sausage making. Most will find Kenedy’s dishes an unfamiliar combination of familiar ingredients such as Le Marche’s fried olives stuffed with pork and veal, Lombardy’s spinach and ricotta dumplings, and Sicily’s grilled tuna with onions and oregano. He covers a wide array of fried, grilled, and roasted dishes including Lazio’s roast suckling pig and wild asparagus and shrimp frittata. While Kenedy’s recipes are instantly appealing, what makes them irresistible are the many gorgeous full-color photographs throughout. Items like Piedmont’s bone marrow, Barolo, and radicchio risotto are mouthwatering and will drive cooks into the kitchen. Practical, attractive, and singular, this book will attract not only lovers of Italian cuisine but a host of cooks who are looking for solid new dishes to share with family and friends. (Nov.)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781608194889
Publisher:
Bloomsbury USA
Publication date:
11/08/2011
Pages:
480
Product dimensions:
7.70(w) x 9.80(h) x 1.80(d)
Age Range:
3 Months to 5 Years

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

Jacob Kenedy was born in London in 1980 and still lives there today. When he graduated from St John's College, Cambridge he was already a chef at Moro, and continued to flit between the kitchens there and those at Boulevard in San Francisco for ten years. In 2008 he opened the critically acclaimed Bocca di Lupo, twice awarded London's best restaurant. You can find him at the stove there most days of the week. In 2010 he opened Gelupo, a gelateria and delicatessen in the same street, which made a lot of people very happy, and in the same year co-authored The Geometry of Pasta.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >