BN.com Gift Guide

Bocca

Overview

Bocca di Lupo is an Italian trattoria with an international reputation. Tables are booked months in advance by diners from around the world who are seeking chef Jacob Kenedy's unique take on Italian cuisine.

In Bocca, Kenedy brings his own brand of Italian regional cooking out of the restaurant and into the home. Kenedy's cooking is simple and delicious, covering the full range of regional specialties: Tuscan porcini soup, Venetian tagliatelle with pigeon ragù, Lazian asparagus ...

See more details below
Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (8) from $19.97   
  • New (7) from $19.97   
  • Used (1) from $29.99   
Sending request ...

Overview

Bocca di Lupo is an Italian trattoria with an international reputation. Tables are booked months in advance by diners from around the world who are seeking chef Jacob Kenedy's unique take on Italian cuisine.

In Bocca, Kenedy brings his own brand of Italian regional cooking out of the restaurant and into the home. Kenedy's cooking is simple and delicious, covering the full range of regional specialties: Tuscan porcini soup, Venetian tagliatelle with pigeon ragù, Lazian asparagus and prawn frittata, Sicilian fried mullet, and Neapolitan coffee with zabaione. Organized by food group (pasta, soups, stews, roasts, etc.), with over 200 recipes, this book has been designed by the renowned Caz Hildebrand, best known for her work on Nigella Lawson's books. It includes 250 sumptuous photographs of Italy and Kenedy's delectable dishes.

For fans of Andrew Carmellini, Mario Batali, the Frankies (Spuntino), and Giada de Laurentiis, for foodies who must have the next "it" chef's cookbook, and for lovers of great Italian cuisine, Bocca will be essential reading.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Kenedy, noted chef of the acclaimed London restaurant Bocca and self-proclaimed Italophile, celebrates region-based Italian cuisine in this lavishly photographed and wholly appetizing collection. Dividing sections not based on meal but by cooking method and ingredients, Kenedy immediately sets this book apart from the multitude of other books on the subject. With hardly a marinara or tomato-based recipe in sight, he takes readers through the joys of raw eating and cured meats, with tempting recipes including Piedmont’s lardo and walnuts. He also includes occasional sections on technique, such as cleaning artichokes and sausage making. Most will find Kenedy’s dishes an unfamiliar combination of familiar ingredients such as Le Marche’s fried olives stuffed with pork and veal, Lombardy’s spinach and ricotta dumplings, and Sicily’s grilled tuna with onions and oregano. He covers a wide array of fried, grilled, and roasted dishes including Lazio’s roast suckling pig and wild asparagus and shrimp frittata. While Kenedy’s recipes are instantly appealing, what makes them irresistible are the many gorgeous full-color photographs throughout. Items like Piedmont’s bone marrow, Barolo, and radicchio risotto are mouthwatering and will drive cooks into the kitchen. Practical, attractive, and singular, this book will attract not only lovers of Italian cuisine but a host of cooks who are looking for solid new dishes to share with family and friends. (Nov.)
The Barnes & Noble Review

Some recipes transform everyday ingredients into the extraordinary. Bocca, London star chef Jacob Kenedy's first solo cookbook — named after his London Soho restaurant Bocca di Lupo and following 2010's graphically glorious The Geometry of Pasta, co-authored with Caz Hildebrand — is more about incorporating what may strike Americans as extraordinary ingredients into home cooking. His easy-to- follow recipes, gathered from all over Italy, call for tripe, bone marrow, pork stock, lamb's brain, cuttlefish, langoustines, pigeons, and — this really got me — "100 jasmine flowers from the garden" (for Watermelon and Jasmine Pudding), or "1 good hare" (for his Hare in Spiced Wine). Not for the squeamish, there's even a recipe for Pluck with Artichokes, which takes guts to make — though, as it doesn't include the stomach or intestines, not literally: pluck "is the whole lot, everything that comes when you pull (pluck) out the wind-pipe — heart, lungs, liver and sweetbread." Kenedy insists this is especially delicious when it comes from young animals — calves, lambs, and kid goats.

Even if all that offal sounds awful to you, be assured that Bocca is also filled with some of the more familiar, ever-delicious building blocks of Italian cuisine, including artichokes, pappardelle, polenta, and porcini mushrooms — with mouthwatering photographs throughout. Not a whole lot of red sauce, however.

When it comes to food, Kenedy is unabashedly hedonistic, seeking pleasure in the "act of consumption, of making something wonderful a part of me." Although not Italian, Kenedy celebrates the diversity of Italian cuisine with the "more objective view" of an outsider. Each recipe is attributed to the region from which it originates, but the dishes are organized primarily by ingredient (pasta, vegetables) or cooking method: raw, cured, fried, grilled, roasted.

In general, dishes like Fried Olives Stuffed with Pork and Veal or Venetian Tagliatelle with Pigeon Rag— are foods I'm more likely to sample when eating out. I find his Shaved Radish and Celeriac Salad with Pomegranate, Pecorino, and Truffle Oil more conducive to home cooking, though next time I'll omit the truffle oil — a fad of the 1990s that's thankfully faded. I look forward to trying his Tuscan Soft Almond Cookies, Duck in Chocolate and Marsala, and even the Pappardelle with Chicken Liver Rag— — cholesterol be damned — to name just a few of the temptations in this intriguingly exotic yet accessible cookbook.

Heller McAlpin is a New York–based critic who reviews books for NPR.org, The Los Angeles Times, Washington Post, San Francisco Chronicle, Christian Science Monitor, and other publications.

Reviewer: Heller McAlpin

Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781608194889
  • Publisher: Bloomsbury USA
  • Publication date: 11/8/2011
  • Pages: 480
  • Product dimensions: 7.70 (w) x 9.80 (h) x 1.80 (d)

Meet the Author

Jacob Kenedy was born in London in 1980 and still lives there today. When he graduated from St John's College, Cambridge he was already a chef at Moro, and continued to flit between the kitchens there and those at Boulevard in San Francisco for ten years. In 2008 he opened the critically acclaimed Bocca di Lupo, twice awarded London's best restaurant. You can find him at the stove there most days of the week. In 2010 he opened Gelupo, a gelateria and delicatessen in the same street, which made a lot of people very happy, and in the same year co-authored The Geometry of Pasta.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)