The Bone Key: The Necromantic Mysteries of Kyle Murchison Booth

( 1 )

Overview

Kyle Murchison Booth is the unlikeliest of characters to gain a cult following, yet he has. Eccentric, socially awkward Booth is an introverted museum archivist, descended from a most unusual family, who frequently finds himself in the midst of the most unsettling supernatural experiences and strange necromantic mysteries. A gentleman and a scholar, the unwilling hero persevered through The Bone Key, a series of interconnected short stories, to win readers' hearts (and possibly ...
See more details below
Available through our Marketplace sellers.
Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (15) from $2.51   
  • New (5) from $3.72   
  • Used (10) from $2.51   
Close
Sort by
Page 1 of 1
Showing All
Note: Marketplace items are not eligible for any BN.com coupons and promotions
$3.72
Seller since 2008

Feedback rating:

(15914)

Condition:

New — never opened or used in original packaging.

Like New — packaging may have been opened. A "Like New" item is suitable to give as a gift.

Very Good — may have minor signs of wear on packaging but item works perfectly and has no damage.

Good — item is in good condition but packaging may have signs of shelf wear/aging or torn packaging. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Acceptable — item is in working order but may show signs of wear such as scratches or torn packaging. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Used — An item that has been opened and may show signs of wear. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Refurbished — A used item that has been renewed or updated and verified to be in proper working condition. Not necessarily completed by the original manufacturer.

New
Brand New!

Ships from: Frederick, MD

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Canadian
  • International
  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
  • Express, 48 States
  • Express (AK, HI)
$4.24
Seller since 2008

Feedback rating:

(15914)

Condition: New
Brand New!

Ships from: Frederick, MD

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Canadian
  • International
  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
  • Express, 48 States
  • Express (AK, HI)
$4.99
Seller since 2008

Feedback rating:

(2226)

Condition: New
1607012901 New condition. Ships immediately.

Ships from: Lindenhurst, NY

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
  • Express, 48 States
  • Express (AK, HI)
$4.99
Seller since 2005

Feedback rating:

(1603)

Condition: New
2011-10-18 Paperback New 1607012901 New condition. Ships immediately.

Ships from: Lindenhurst, NY

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Canadian
  • International
  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
  • Express, 48 States
  • Express (AK, HI)
$5.00
Seller since 2014

Feedback rating:

(23)

Condition: New
1607012901 New-Ships in 1 business day with delivery confirmation. Customer satisfaction is our number one priority!

Ships from: NAPLES, FL

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Standard, 48 States
  • Express, 48 States
Page 1 of 1
Showing All
Close
Sort by
Sending request ...

Overview

Kyle Murchison Booth is the unlikeliest of characters to gain a cult following, yet he has. Eccentric, socially awkward Booth is an introverted museum archivist, descended from a most unusual family, who frequently finds himself in the midst of the most unsettling supernatural experiences and strange necromantic mysteries. A gentleman and a scholar, the unwilling hero persevered through The Bone Key, a series of interconnected short stories, to win readers' hearts (and possibly their souls).
This new edition, with a "puzzle" cover and a new introduction by one of Booth's "successors" at the Samuel Mather Parrington Museum, will delight current fans and allow even more to discover its dark charms.
Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly

Writing in the tradition of M.R. James and Algernon Blackwood, Monette reconstructs the traditional English ghost story-insinuated horror, no gratuitous sex or violence-with a decidedly modern-day approach in this laudable collection of 10 necromantic mystery stories featuring introverted museum archivist Kyle Murchison Booth. Noteworthy selections include "Elegy for a Demon Lover," which chronicles Booth's entanglement with a seductive otherworldly entity who teaches him about "pleasure and pain and the shadowed places in-between." In the brilliantly Lovecraftian "Bringing Helena Back," Booth agrees to help an old college friend bring his wife back from the dead, with horrifying results. Booth also investigates the skeleton of a woman sealed within the basement walls of the museum where he works, a house haunted by the spirit of a young girl and the ghost of a murdered private school student. Cerebral, ethereal and stylishly understated, this entrancing collection will appeal to fans of literary horror, dark fantasy and supernatural mystery. (Jan.)

Copyright 2007 Reed Business Information
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781607012900
  • Publisher: Prime Books
  • Publication date: 10/31/2011
  • Pages: 288
  • Product dimensions: 5.50 (w) x 8.40 (h) x 0.90 (d)

Table of Contents

The dead and the monstrous will not leave Kyle Murchison Booth alone. An unwilling foray into necromancy makes him sensitive to--and attractive to--the creatures who roam the darkness of his once-safe world. Ghosts, ghouls, incubi: all have one thing in common. They know Booth for one of their own.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Posted July 7, 2012

    I'm not a horror fan as a rule, but I heard the author read a se

    I'm not a horror fan as a rule, but I heard the author read a segment from one of these stories and was captivated by her painfully shy, early-20th-century protagonist, the Gilded Age/pre-Depression New England settings and narrative style, and a perfect amount of detail to set scenes, describe artifacts, and send the reader's imagination into terrifying realms. to set one's imagination ablaze.

    For example, "The Venebretti Necklace" begins:

    There were fingers in the wall.
    I was lifting a box when I saw them, saw the gap between the bricks where the mortar had fallen away and then the whitish-yellow gleam of bone. I lost my grip on the box; it fell and broke, sending yellowing holograph pages in all directions.

    Right there, you have the setting, the horror, and Booth's characteristic clumsiness.

    The first-person narration works beautifully; you feel pulled into Booth's own intense, less than happy but eventful life.

    If you buy this reprint edition, I recommend you skip reading the Introduction to the Second Edition, which contains spoilers, until you've finished the stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)