The Bone Tree

( 4 )

Overview

In the tradition of The Quiet Game and Turning Angel comes Unwritten Laws, the new Penn Cage novel by Greg Iles, and a stunning sequel to the best-selling The Devil’s Punchbowl.

This is classic Greg Iles territory, where the South’s past and present lie eternally entangled; where the sins of the father pass unerringly from generation to generation; and where a murder from yesteryear finds new life – and victims – in the present.

In Unwritten ...

See more details below
Available through our Marketplace sellers.
Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (1) from $37.58   
  • New (1) from $37.58   
Close
Sort by
Page 1 of 1
Showing All
Note: Marketplace items are not eligible for any BN.com coupons and promotions
$37.58
Seller since 2008

Feedback rating:

(860)

Condition:

New — never opened or used in original packaging.

Like New — packaging may have been opened. A "Like New" item is suitable to give as a gift.

Very Good — may have minor signs of wear on packaging but item works perfectly and has no damage.

Good — item is in good condition but packaging may have signs of shelf wear/aging or torn packaging. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Acceptable — item is in working order but may show signs of wear such as scratches or torn packaging. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Used — An item that has been opened and may show signs of wear. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Refurbished — A used item that has been renewed or updated and verified to be in proper working condition. Not necessarily completed by the original manufacturer.

New
0007304854 Brand New. Exact book as advertised. Delivery in 4-14 business days (not calendar days). We are not able to expedite delivery.

Ships from: Romulus, MI

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Canadian
  • International
  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
Page 1 of 1
Showing All
Close
Sort by
Sending request ...

Overview

In the tradition of The Quiet Game and Turning Angel comes Unwritten Laws, the new Penn Cage novel by Greg Iles, and a stunning sequel to the best-selling The Devil’s Punchbowl.

This is classic Greg Iles territory, where the South’s past and present lie eternally entangled; where the sins of the father pass unerringly from generation to generation; and where a murder from yesteryear finds new life – and victims – in the present.

In Unwritten Laws Penn Cage faces a son’s worst nightmare – having his father stand accused of murder. Worse, each effort to defend the legendary Dr. Tom Cage unearths new, shocking secrets, leaving Penn to question whether he ever really knew his father at all.

At issue is the murder of Viola Turner, once Tom Cage’s nurse, long a woman transplanted to Chicago, now back in Natchez and a corpse in her sister’s house.

Penn’s old nemesis, district attorney Shad Johnson, is quick to point the finger at Tom Cage, citing Tom’s decades-old relationship with his ex-nurse. Penn and Caitlin leap to Tom’s defense, but are shocked when Tom Cage refuses to speak on the matter, even to defend himself.

Tom is taken into custody, leaving Penn and Caitlin alone to explore the dangerous territory of Tom Cage and Viola Turner’s shared history, set squarely in the most harrowing years of civil-rights-era Mississippi.

What was the relationship between Tom, Viola, and the “Double Eagle Club,” an ultra-violent group of hardened men who considered themselves smarter, tougher, and more elite than their peers in the FBI-infiltrated Ku Klux Klan?

In Natchez, where the past is never truly “past,” long-buried secrets tend to turn lethal when exposed to the light of day. For Penn Cage, the cost of solving this case will be no exception. Confronted not only by the still living remaining members of the Double-Eagle Club, but their much more dangerous sons, Penn Cage and his girl friend Caitlin will be in more danger than ever before. By the end of Volume One, Penn Cage’s world will be torn apart.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Library Journal
Prosecutor-turned-writer Penn Cage, introduced in Iles's 1999 The Quiet Game, is shocked when his father, Dr. Tom Cage, stands accused of murdering his former nurse Viola. Even more shocking: the secrets that tumble forth suggest that Tom and Viola were somehow associated with the Double Eagle Club, a particularly violent group that scorned the FBI-infiltrated Ku Klux Klan. Harking back to Civil Rights-era Mississippi, this first of a two-parter promises more than passing chills.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780007304851
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
  • Publication date: 5/28/2012

Meet the Author

Greg Iles

Greg Iles spent his youth in Natchez, Mississippi, and studied the American novel under acclaimed southern writer Willie Morris at the University of Mississippi. His first novel, Spandau Phoenix, was the first of thirteen New York Times bestsellers, and his new trilogy continues the story of Penn Cage, protagonist of The Quiet Game, Turning Angel, and #1 New York Times bestseller The Devil's Punchbowl. Iles's novels have been made into films and published in more than thirty-five countries. He is a member of the lit-rock group the Rock Bottom Remainders and lives in Natchez with his two teenage children.

Biography

Greg Iles has led a sort of double life as a novelist. His first books, based on extrapolations from real events in World War II, earned him an initial following, but his very modern crime novels are what currently hold his -- and his readers' -- focus. His tight pacing and chilling, innovative concepts have made him especially attractive to Hollywood, which has optioned and/or expressed interest in several of his books.

Iles's first novel, Spandau Phoenix, was about the secret escape of a Nazi soldier and the chilling plot related in his discovered diaries. It was a mixed success critically, earning praise for its premise but low marks on style. Since then, Iles has clearly developed as a novelist, and branched out in themes too.

With his second novel, Black Cross, Iles displayed more of a voice and more streamlined plotting in his story of a conspiracy to use the Nazi's own weapons against them. Those first two titles did become bestsellers; but by the time Iles shifted gears to write crime thrillers set in his native Mississippi, he found himself getting even more attention -- and better reviews. His next two books, Mortal Fear and The Quiet Game, remain his personal favorites. Iles was born in Stuttgart, Germany, where his father was in charge of the medical clinic at the U.S. Embassy, in 1961. He graduated from the University of Mississippi in 1983 and played guitar in a rock band for several years before trying his hand at writing novels.

Moving from screenplays to thrillers to speculative historical fiction, Iles continues to stretch as a writer. He also indulges his love for music (he once played guitar in the band Frankly Scarlet) by performing with the Rock Bottom Remainders, an author side project that includes writers Stephen King, Dave Barry, Ridley Pearson, and Amy Tan

Good To Know

After graduation from college, Iles worked as an x-ray and lab technician for his father, dug ditches, and worked as a professional guitarist and singer.

Iles has the ability to be gloomily prophetic, but not intentionally. In an online chat in 1997, a fan pointed out that some real-life Internet-related murders had followed his Mortal Fear. Iles responded: "A lot of my books have been that way. My World War II thriller about Sarin gas [Black Cross] was published two months before the Sarin attack in the Japanese subway. There are very weird coincidences out there. And I do have one surefire plot I have not and probably never will write, because of my fear someone will carry it out."

Iles's wife is a high-school sweetheart whom he married when he was 29.

Read More Show Less
    1. Hometown:
      Natchez, Mississippi
    1. Date of Birth:
      November 30, 1960
    2. Place of Birth:
      Stuttgart, Germany
    1. Education:
      B.A., University of Mississippi, 1983
    2. Website:

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 3
( 4 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 4 Customer Reviews
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    Can not wait, from the excerpt it reads like one night read book

    Can not wait, from the excerpt it reads like one night read book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 4 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)