×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Book Lust to Go: Recommended Reading for Travelers, Vagabonds, and Dreamers
     

Book Lust to Go: Recommended Reading for Travelers, Vagabonds, and Dreamers

by Nancy Pearl
 

See All Formats & Editions

Adventure is just a book away as best-selling author Nancy Pearl returns with recommended reading for more than 120 destinations around the globe. Book Lust To Go connects the best fiction and nonfiction to particular destinations, whether your bags are packed or your armchair is calling. With stops from Texas to Timbuktu, Nancy Pearl's reading recommendations will

Overview

Adventure is just a book away as best-selling author Nancy Pearl returns with recommended reading for more than 120 destinations around the globe. Book Lust To Go connects the best fiction and nonfiction to particular destinations, whether your bags are packed or your armchair is calling. With stops from Texas to Timbuktu, Nancy Pearl's reading recommendations will send you on your way.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
With the holidays just around the corner, Nancy Pearl's little gem will please many a traveler (or dreamer) who loves to read about faraway places but doesn't know where to start. With fanciful alliteration, Pearl lists titles under topics arranged from "A is for Adventure" to "Zipping through Zimbabwe." Recommendations are accompanied by brief critiques and insights. In an entry for "Las Vegas," for example, Pearl recommends Chris Ewan's novel, The Good Thief's Guide to Vegas, for fans of Hiaassen and Westlake, capers that use various cities of the world for their settings. Pearl classifies her recommendations well enough so that readers can take or leave her advice. In "Africa," for instance, she includes the classic Cry the Beloved Country as well as contemporary mysteries such as Wife of the Gods. It might have been easy to stick with the country structure for a book like this, but Pearl mixed it up, to good effect, with chapters like "So We/I Bought (or Built) A House In…" which includes books about homes in Morocco, Mexico, France, Brazil, and Ireland. Pearl has produced a winner and the perfect bedside companion. (Oct.)
From the Publisher
As in the other volumes in her "Book Lust" series, the idea is very simple. Pearl, a former Seattle librarian, suggests books in various categories. She gives the impression of having read almost everything, and her recommendations are varied and exhaustive. She offers something for everyone’s taste — romantic novels, mysteries, histories, sportsbooks, travel books, comics, poetry and so forth.
Mansfield News Journal 
Library Journal
Many readers see armchair travel as an opportunity to, as Pearl (Book Lust: Recommended Reading for Every Mood, Moment, and Reason) writes, "get a feel for the soul of a country." Her preference for romantic travel is apparent as she frequently cites works about exotic places written from an outsider's perspective rather than that of a local. Readers expecting completely realistic portrayals may not appreciate Pearl's emphasis on mysteries, and the frequent mixing of best sellers and literary works may be annoying to some. She includes geographical information about the regions she covers. The book is organized alphabetically, but the name of a country or city doesn't necessarily fall at the beginning of the section name—for example, Paris is found under W ("We'll Always Have Paris") rather than P.Verdict This is recommended for voracious armchair travelers and librarians looking for a quick readers' advisory tool for patrons who value setting and frame.—Victor Or, Surrey P.L. & North Vancouver City Lib., BC

(c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781570617010
Publisher:
Sasquatch Books
Publication date:
06/01/2010
Sold by:
Penguin Random House Publisher Services
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
320
Sales rank:
1,252,410
File size:
924 KB

Meet the Author

Nancy Pearl, author of Book Lust, is America’s favorite librarian. She regularly discusses and recommends books on NPR’s Morning Edition and lectures widely on the topics of books and reading. She is librarian-at-large with the King County Library System

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews