×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Boon Island: A True Story of Mutiny, Shipwreck, and Cannibalism
     

Boon Island: A True Story of Mutiny, Shipwreck, and Cannibalism

4.0 1
by Stephen Erickson
 

See All Formats & Editions

The wreck of the Nottingham Galley on Boon Island and the resultant rumors of insurance fraud, mutiny, treason, and cannibalism was one of the most sensational stories of the early 18th century. Shortly after departing England with Captain John Deane at the helm, his brother Jasper and another investor aboard, and a skeleton crew, the ship encountered French

Overview

The wreck of the Nottingham Galley on Boon Island and the resultant rumors of insurance fraud, mutiny, treason, and cannibalism was one of the most sensational stories of the early 18th century. Shortly after departing England with Captain John Deane at the helm, his brother Jasper and another investor aboard, and a skeleton crew, the ship encountered French privateers on her way to Ireland, where she then lingered for weeks picking up cargo. They eventually headed into the North Atlantic later in the season than was reasonably safe and found themselves shipwrecked on the notorious Boon Island, just off the New England coast. Captain Deane offered one version of the events that led them to the barren rock off the coast of Maine; his crew proposed another. The story contains mysteries that endure to this day, yet no contemporary non-fiction account of the story exists. In the hands of skilled storytellers Andrew Vietze and Stephen Erickson, this becomes a historical adventure-mystery that will appeal to readers of South and The Perfect Storm. 

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780762790807
Publisher:
Globe Pequot Press
Publication date:
11/06/2012
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
232
Sales rank:
717,983
File size:
1 MB

Meet the Author

Andrew Vietze is an award-winning writer from Maine. The former Managing Editor of Down East: The Magazine of Maine, he's the author of six previous books and has written for a wide array of print and online publications, from Time Out New York to Weather.com, the New York Times' LifeWire to Offshore. A Registered Maine Guide, he works as a seasonal ranger in one of the premier wilderness areas in the east.

Stephen Erickson holds an MA in American History from UMASS /Amherst and completed coursework on a Doctorate in Early American History from the College of William and Mary.  He frequently draws on his background in American history as political reformer.  Erickson is currently the President of Americans United to Rebuild Democracy.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Boon Island: A True Story of Mutiny, Shipwreck, and Cannibalism 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyable. A must read if you like sea stories about Maine. Well researched
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fabulous read of just one of New England remote islands.  Excellant writing pulls you into the book.