BOP!: More Box Office Poison

BOP!: More Box Office Poison

by Alex Robinson
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

"Alex Robinson manages to do something I frightfully admire: create something that's more than just "slice of life" stories. A must-read." -- John "Widgett" Robinson, Need Coffee

More Box Office Poison stories from Alex Robinson! What you might not know is that there were several short stories featuring Sherman, Ed and friends which were not collected in… See more details below

Overview

"Alex Robinson manages to do something I frightfully admire: create something that's more than just "slice of life" stories. A must-read." -- John "Widgett" Robinson, Need Coffee

More Box Office Poison stories from Alex Robinson! What you might not know is that there were several short stories featuring Sherman, Ed and friends which were not collected in the giant Box Office Poison collection. BOP! is an 88-page trade paperback reprinting all of those short stories including all of the SPXAnthology shorts, the Box Office Poison Kolor Karnival (seen here in glorious black and white), and some extra goodies. If you're a fan of the Harvey and Ignatz award nominated graphic novel, then you know you won't want to miss this collection. And if you've never read Box Office Poison, it's the perfect way to jump onboard.

Editorial Reviews

Library Journal
Robinson's wonderful, compulsively readable 600-page graphic novel Box Office Poison was nominated for Eisner and Harvey awards. This slim volume is not a sequel but a collection of shorts and vignettes set during and slightly after the original story. Fans of the original will be greatly pleased to see more of the lives of bookstore clerk and aspiring writer Sherman; his girlfriend, Dorothy; his cartoonist friend, Ed; and his housemates, history professor Stephen and his girlfriend, Jane (also a cartoonist). Robinson is a master of true-to-life relationship drama in a comics format, and, as in the first book, he deals sensitively with the characters' troubles and insecurities. He also has fun with the cast here, especially in a daydream that places them in a science-fiction setting. Also included are an autobiographical short scripted by Robinson's girlfriend and assistant, Kristen Siebecker, and two episodes about Caprice, a minor character from the first book, one of which is excerpted from Robinson's upcoming Tricked. The original and this follow-up are highly recommended for adult collections (there's some sex and full-frontal nudity) and for fans of Terry Moore's Strangers in Paradise, Bob Fingerman's Beg the Question, and David Chelsea's David Chelsea in Love. Copyright 2004 Reed Business Information.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781603091664
Publisher:
Idea & Design Works, LLC
Publication date:
05/15/2012
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
File size:
39 MB
Note:
This product may take a few minutes to download.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >