BOP!: More Box Office Poison [NOOK Book]

Overview

"Alex Robinson manages to do something I frightfully admire: create something that's more than just "slice of life" stories. A must-read." -- John "Widgett" Robinson, Need Coffee

More Box Office Poison stories from Alex Robinson! What you might not know is that there were several short stories featuring Sherman, Ed and friends which were not collected in the giant Box Office Poison collection. BOP! is an 88-page trade paperback reprinting all of those short stories including all of the SPXAnthology shorts, the ...
See more details below
BOP!: More Box Office Poison

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$4.49
BN.com price
(Save 10%)$4.99 List Price

Overview

"Alex Robinson manages to do something I frightfully admire: create something that's more than just "slice of life" stories. A must-read." -- John "Widgett" Robinson, Need Coffee

More Box Office Poison stories from Alex Robinson! What you might not know is that there were several short stories featuring Sherman, Ed and friends which were not collected in the giant Box Office Poison collection. BOP! is an 88-page trade paperback reprinting all of those short stories including all of the SPXAnthology shorts, the Box Office Poison Kolor Karnival (seen here in glorious black and white), and some extra goodies. If you're a fan of the Harvey and Ignatz award nominated graphic novel, then you know you won't want to miss this collection. And if you've never read Box Office Poison, it's the perfect way to jump onboard.
Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Library Journal
Robinson's wonderful, compulsively readable 600-page graphic novel Box Office Poison was nominated for Eisner and Harvey awards. This slim volume is not a sequel but a collection of shorts and vignettes set during and slightly after the original story. Fans of the original will be greatly pleased to see more of the lives of bookstore clerk and aspiring writer Sherman; his girlfriend, Dorothy; his cartoonist friend, Ed; and his housemates, history professor Stephen and his girlfriend, Jane (also a cartoonist). Robinson is a master of true-to-life relationship drama in a comics format, and, as in the first book, he deals sensitively with the characters' troubles and insecurities. He also has fun with the cast here, especially in a daydream that places them in a science-fiction setting. Also included are an autobiographical short scripted by Robinson's girlfriend and assistant, Kristen Siebecker, and two episodes about Caprice, a minor character from the first book, one of which is excerpted from Robinson's upcoming Tricked. The original and this follow-up are highly recommended for adult collections (there's some sex and full-frontal nudity) and for fans of Terry Moore's Strangers in Paradise, Bob Fingerman's Beg the Question, and David Chelsea's David Chelsea in Love. Copyright 2004 Reed Business Information.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781603091664
  • Publisher: Top Shelf Productions
  • Publication date: 5/15/2012
  • Sold by: Barnes & Noble
  • Format: eBook
  • Sales rank: 1,367,982
  • File size: 37 MB
  • Note: This product may take a few minutes to download.

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)