×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Border Lords
     

The Border Lords

3.4 25
by T. Jefferson Parker
 

See All Formats & Editions

For fans of Michael Connelly and CJ Box, the fourth suspenseful and thrilling novel in the Charlie Hood series from New York Times bestseller and Edgar-award winner T. Jefferson Parker, now featuring an excerpt from his upcoming novel The Room of White Fire.

Charlie Hood searches for an undercover agent who has disappeared, only to

Overview

For fans of Michael Connelly and CJ Box, the fourth suspenseful and thrilling novel in the Charlie Hood series from New York Times bestseller and Edgar-award winner T. Jefferson Parker, now featuring an excerpt from his upcoming novel The Room of White Fire.

Charlie Hood searches for an undercover agent who has disappeared, only to resurface in a haunting series of bizarre and inexplicable video tapes. The trail leads Charlie into the fevered landscape of America's southern border and the unexplored depths of humanity's dark soul.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
At the start of Parker's adrenaline-fueled fourth thriller featuring L.A. sheriff's deputy Charlie Hood (after Iron River), Hood, who's still on loan to the ATF, and his ATF partners are watching a house in the border town of Buenavista, Calif., occupied by four young gunmen of the North Baja Cartel--and Hood's ATF agent friend, Sean Ozburn, who's operating undercover as a meth and gun dealer. When Ozburn goes rogue and fatally shoots the four cartel members, Hood knows he has to bring Ozburn in. Parker skillfully blends Hood's pursuit of the increasingly erratic Ozburn, who approaches a powerful cartel leader about buying the latest gun sensation, the Love 32, with that of L.A. deputy Bradley Jones, a man with connections both to Hood's past and the world of the cartels. The porousness of the U.S.-Mexico border and the ease with which guns, drugs, and killers pass back and forth is nowhere better illustrated than in Parker's white-hot series. (Jan.)
Library Journal
Father Joe is up to no good with his precious vampire bats, but Sean Ozburn doesn't know that when he befriends him. Sean is a reliable agent with the ATF (Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives), and his colleague Charlie Hood trusts him totally. But working undercover takes its toll, and now Sean's gone rogue, attacking the Mexican drug cartel on his own terms. Is Sean suffering from delusions of grandeur, or is his personality change caused by something more sinister? Meanwhile, young L.A. deputy Bradley Jones exerts his power, balancing his day job while conspiring with another branch of the cartel. Bradley's arrogance (he's a descendant of the infamous bandit Joaquin Murrieta) is breathtaking, and his devious plans complicate Charlie's operations. With no time to waste, Charlie is soon scrambling from remote airstrips to resorts in a desperate attempt to save lives. The devil is very much present in this troubled landscape, and he's the ultimate shape-shifter, as Parker has so adeptly proven with his Charlie Hood titles. VERDICT Parker's dark and gritty series takes readers beyond the drug war headlines, personalizing the toll it's taken on our souls. Series fans will devour this sequel to Iron River. [See Prepub Alert, LJ 8/10.]—Teresa L. Jacobsen, Solano Cty. Lib., Fairfield, CA

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781101475461
Publisher:
Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date:
01/11/2011
Series:
Charlie Hood Series , #4
Sold by:
Penguin Group
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
400
Sales rank:
213,895
File size:
620 KB
Age Range:
18 Years

Meet the Author

T. Jefferson Parker is the author of numerous novels and short stories, the winner of three Edgar Awards, and the recipient of a Los Angeles Times Book Prize for mysteries. Before becoming a full-time novelist, he was an award-winning reporter. He lives in Fallbrook, California.


From the Trade Paperback edition.

Brief Biography

Hometown:
Fallbrook, California
Date of Birth:
December 26, 1953
Place of Birth:
Los Angeles, California
Education:
B.A. in English, University of California-Irvine, 1976
Website:
http://www.tjeffersonparker.com

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Border Lords (Charlie Hood Series #4) 3.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 26 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
OCGIRL More than 1 year ago
I was really looking firwatd to reading the latest book by T. Jefferson Parker. Unfortunately, it wasn't up to par. Storyline was hard to follow and just dont really care much for the Charlie Hood character.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Denise Jakeway More than 1 year ago
lots of action. undercover cop with a mission to kill the gun runners. he and wife are bitten by a bat and infected. dog is Daisy. enjoyed until the end....went flat.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
KenCady More than 1 year ago
There have been so many novels written about narco-trafficking and related issues that adding some mysticism could draw some readers who otherwise might think they had read it all. In Iron River, the Mike Finnegan character had some appeal, but here he is just plain creepy. I think that bats and vampires have their place in some novels, but they just demean the story here. In the end, The Border Lords has nothing of value to add.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
markpsadler More than 1 year ago
Eighteen months is much longer than the average law enforcement offi cer stays undercover, but Sean Gravas was so close that to pull him now would see months of operational expenses go down the drain. Hood made the decision to leave him in. He was working with gang members, the North Baja Cartel, across the Mexican border to break a gunrunners ring suspected of smuggling in a thousand machine pistols. When all the gang members in the home are brutally slain, Gravas appears to be implicated, so Hood solicits the help of Gravas' wife Seliah to bring him out of his undercover role as Ozburn even if it means he has to face charges. Seliah notices changes in her husband's behavior, which the Blowdown team put down to the stress of being undercover for so long, until she is threatened by the same viral disease that is rampaging through both their bodies and is diagnosed as rabies. Weeks from death, Seliah is placed in a coma while she heals. LASD tries to convince Gravas that he too is ill. However, this is more than just a story about undercover agents on the Mexican border, drugs, guns and murder. Just who is the mysterious priest, Father Joe Left wich? Recognized as a local drugdealer and snitch, a.k.a. Mike Finnegan, who claims to have ridden with Murietta over one hundred and eighty years ago and the truth of the blood-transmitted disease becomes clearer. In this fast-paced, action thriller Parker has once again demonstrated the ability to keep his audience turning pages until the last drop of blood is accounted for, and provides just the right twist in the end.