Born of Deception

Born of Deception

4.5 2
by Teri Brown
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Perfect for fans of Libba Bray and Anna Godbersen, this thrilling historical suspense novel—and sequel to Born of Illusion—tells the story of a teen illusionist who must harness her special powers and navigate the underworld of magic before her murderous enemies catch up with her.

After scoring a spot on a European vaudeville tour, Anna Van

Overview

Perfect for fans of Libba Bray and Anna Godbersen, this thrilling historical suspense novel—and sequel to Born of Illusion—tells the story of a teen illusionist who must harness her special powers and navigate the underworld of magic before her murderous enemies catch up with her.

After scoring a spot on a European vaudeville tour, Anna Van Housen is moving to London to chase her dream and to join an underground society for people like her with psychic abilities. But when Anna arrives, she finds the group in turmoil—one of its members has been kidnapped, and members of the society are starting to turn on one another. Her life in danger and her relationship with her boyfriend, Cole, fizzling, can Anna track down the kidnapper before he makes her his next victim—or will she be forced to pay the ultimate price for her powers?

Lovers of historical fiction and stories filled with romance and intrigue will fall for Born of Deception and its world of magic set in Jazz Age London.

Editorial Reviews

VOYA, June 2014 (Vol. 37, No. 2) - Kristin Fletcher-Spear
This sequel to Born Of Illusion (HarperCollins, 2013) begins with Anna’s arrival in London, where she is joined by her love interest, Cole. Anna, a young magician who also has special abilities, such as communicating with the dead and sensing people’s emotions, is set to perform her first solo act on a European tour in the 1920s. Cole has embroiled Anna in a secret society for fellow Sensitives and the researchers who study their powers, but the society is in turmoil, as Sensitives have gone missing. Anna and Cole work together and continually fight as the danger increases. This sequel stands well on its own; Anna repeats herself to allow readers to catch up. The time period is depicted with discussion of fashionable hats and allusions to timely events, but little else. Anna is a feisty character who becomes tangled in a mystery and a fairly unbelievable love triangle between a fake cowboy and an upper crust Brit. Even though this is a fast read with an engaging cover, it is still a standard supernatural romance. If your library has readers who cannot get enough of this genre, then this series does have the uniqueness of being set in the 1920s. Reviewer: Kristin Fletcher-Spear; Ages 12 to 18.
Kirkus Reviews
2014-04-16
American Anna Van Housen, gifted teenage empath and illusionist, finds herself newly expatriated in Europe, but the dangers (and romantic tension) are just as great across the pond.In this stark departure from its predecessor, Born of Illusion (2013), and its glittering Jazz Age backdrop of séances and speak-easies, Anna finds herself in dreary London alongside her beau, Cole, performing at the top of the bill with a new troupe. In England, her affiliation with the Society for Psychical Research deepens as she familiarizes herself with many of its members. As she puzzles out which members she deems trustworthy, others start disappearing or, even worse, are found murdered. In a new country and with no certainties anywhere, Anna must use her powers—both psychic and physical—to find the perpetrator before it's too late. To make her footing even less steady, she meets another handsome performer who makes her question her longstanding feelings for the aloof Cole. Brown's sophomore tale offers a riveting mix of mystery, romance and history, paced with enough chapter-ending cliffhangers to ensure that its readers cannot—and will not—put this down; expect readers to clamor for more of Anna's adventures.A must-read for fans of historical fantasy. (Historical fantasy. 13-16)
Booklist
“Those who became intrigued by Anna and her predicaments, powers, and feelings…will want to see what Brown has in store for this next trick.”
The Horn Book
Praise for BORN OF ILLUSION: “Anna’s strong personality and her complex relationship with her mother (who mixes love with professional jealousy), as well as a slightly supernatural romance, provide lots of teen appeal. ”
Carrie Jones
Praise for BORN OF ILLUSION: “Teri Brown deftly creates magic and romance on every intense page. Readers won’t forget the grace and gumption of Anna Van Housen.”
School Library Journal
05/01/2014
Gr 8 Up—Anna Van Housen, the heroine from Born of Illusion (HarperCollins, 2013) returns in this sequel. The book opens with Anna's arrival in England where she will rehearse her solo magic act before her upcoming European vaudeville tour. She is met by the enigmatic Cole, her former neighbor, fellow Sensitive, and boyfriend. While in London, the teen hopes to learn more about herself and other Sensitives—those gifted with paranormal abilities—by joining the Society for Psychical Research. Upon her arrival, Anna's hopes are dashed. Cole seems distant, and the Society seems more interested in controlling its members rather than helping them control their powers. When one of the organization's Sensitives is ritualistically murdered and the protagonist is targeted with a curse, the race is on to find the killer before it is too late. Anna and Cole's romance is plagued by the pair's reticence and new complications. His family resides in England and they don't approve of her background or career. Met with her beau's increasingly reserved and inattentive manner, Anna turns to handsome fellow vaudevillian, Bronco Billy, for friendship. Although she has temporarily relocated to London, is surrounded by a host of new characters, and embroiled in a new life, the lead's tale in this volume feels the same as in the first. Readers will be able to check off the boxes of romance, magic, mystery, and intrigue in this competent work, but it will most likely be popular with fans of the previous installment.—Cindy Wall, Southington Library & Museum, CT

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780062187574
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
06/10/2014
Pages:
336
Sales rank:
1,148,388
Product dimensions:
5.90(w) x 8.30(h) x 1.30(d)
Age Range:
13 - 17 Years

Meet the Author

Teri Brown is most proud of her children, but coming in a close second is the fact that she jumped out of an airplane and beat the original Legend of Zelda video game. She is a word scribbler, head banger, math hater, book reader, food fixer, kitty keeper, and city slicker. She is also the author of the Born of Illusion novels. Teri lives with her husband and way too many pets in Portland, Oregon.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Born of Deception 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
book4children More than 1 year ago
Once again, I was struck by the unique adventure that Teri Brown created. I loved the characters, the mystery, and the suspense. I also loved that it was a new situation with a new bad guy, and not simply a carryover from the first book. Anna moves to London to join a European tour so she can perform her magic. She meets new people, makes new friends, and acquires new enemies. Cole is in London as well, but Anna's relationship with him quickly becomes strained. I didn't like the direction their relationship took in this book, because it felt too typical of a second book, but I liked almost everything else. These books are very clean even though there are a lot of potentially frightening scenes. If you are looking for a well written, clean YA novel with black magic and suspense, give this series a try. The only caveat is that you need to read the novella, Born of Corruption in between books 1 and 2 since Born of Deception refers to it quite a bit and you might be confused if you don't read it. Content: Some violence/scary scenes, but I consider it clean. Source: I received a digital galley of this book in exchange for an honest review.
RRatliff More than 1 year ago
First and foremost, I cannot say enough about the actual book itself - if you are fan of actual physical books rather than digital, this book is a treat. The cover is beautiful. The first inside pages are done in black with white lettering instead of the usual reverse, and the pages are cut with a really nice deckle edge. Having said that, the story is great. I loved Born of Illusion and the sequel does not disappoint. Ms. Brown has done her flapper research. You get a fabulous picture of city life in the 20's and particularly the role that spiritualism was playing in the culture at that time. I love the characters, and found it especially difficult to decide which guy to pull for as far as winning Anna's affections. : )