Born of Persuasion (Price of Privilege Series #1)

Born of Persuasion (Price of Privilege Series #1)

3.7 55
by Jessica Dotta
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

The year is 1838, and seventeen-year-old Julia Elliston’s position has never been more fragile. Orphaned and unmarried in a time when women are legal property of their fathers, husbands, and guardians, she finds herself at the mercy of an anonymous guardian who plans to establish her as a servant in far-off Scotland.

With two months to devise a better… See more details below

  • Checkmark First In Series NOOK Books  Shop Now

Overview

The year is 1838, and seventeen-year-old Julia Elliston’s position has never been more fragile. Orphaned and unmarried in a time when women are legal property of their fathers, husbands, and guardians, she finds herself at the mercy of an anonymous guardian who plans to establish her as a servant in far-off Scotland.

With two months to devise a better plan, Julia’s first choice to marry her childhood sweetheart is denied. But when a titled dowager offers to introduce Julia into society, a realm of possibilities opens. However, treachery and deception are as much a part of Victorian society as titles and decorum, and Julia quickly discovers her present is deeply entangled with her mother’s mysterious past. Before she knows what’s happening, Julia finds herself a pawn in a deadly game between two of the country’s most powerful men. With no laws to protect her, she must unravel the secrets on her own. But sometimes truth is elusive and knowledge is deadly.

Read More

Editorial Reviews

Library Journal
09/15/2013
In 1838 England, 17-year-old Julia Elliston has lost everything: her home, her mother, and her future. An anonymous guardian plans to send her to Scotland to serve as a widow's companion unless Julia can find a husband quickly and secretly. Her plan to marry her childhood sweetheart backfires when she discovers Edward has joined the same ministry that had vilified her family on account of her father's atheism. Heartbroken, Julia accepts an offer from Lady Foxmore to find a husband, not realizing she has been drawn into a game with dire consequences, going back many years. But to survive, Julia must participate, even while everyone around her harbors secrets worth killing for. VERDICT This Victorian historical evokes a gothic atmosphere with its dark plots, brooding hero, and innocent heroine (Jane Eyre, anyone?). With crossover appeal for mainstream historical romance fans of Victoria Holt, Dotta's debut novel will have readers demanding book two immediately.
From the Publisher

“Rich with period detail and full of intrigue and deception. . . .Fans of Philippa Gregory and Sarah Dunant will fall in love with this arresting story.”
—Tasha Alexander, best-selling author of And Only to Deceive

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781414388441
Publisher:
Tyndale House Publishers
Publication date:
08/16/2013
Series:
Price of Privilege Series , #1
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Sales rank:
46,358
File size:
3 MB

Meet the Author


Jessica Dotta has always been fascinated by England during the Regency and Victorian eras. Her passion for British literature fueled her desire to write in a style that blends the humor of Jane Austen and the dark drama of a Brontë sister. She lives in the Nashville area with her family and works as a freelance media consultant and publicist. Visit her online at www.jessicadotta.com.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >