×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Boy, 9, Missing
     

Boy, 9, Missing

4.4 5
by Nic Joseph
 

See All Formats & Editions

In the tradition of Defending Jacob or Drowning Ruth, this is a suspenseful debut that explores the ramifications of revenge, justice, and the aftermath of a terrible night in the lives of two families.

It should have been just a quiet evening with friends. But Francis lost his brother that night in what was ruled a tragic accident. He's tried to

Overview

In the tradition of Defending Jacob or Drowning Ruth, this is a suspenseful debut that explores the ramifications of revenge, justice, and the aftermath of a terrible night in the lives of two families.

It should have been just a quiet evening with friends. But Francis lost his brother that night in what was ruled a tragic accident. He's tried to move on in the last twenty-three years, even though his father certainly hasn't. Indeed, his father still blames the lone witness, Sam, the nine-year-old son of friends. Perhaps if Sam would have just said something, anything, about what happened that night, but Sam still seems unable-or unwilling-to utter a word about the accident.

And now, twenty-three years later, Sam's own nine-year-old son has disappeared.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
07/11/2016
Joseph’s debut is a heart-wrenching chronicle of two families, one with a missing son, the other still reeling from the death of a son years before. In 1992, nine-year-old Lucas Scroll was found dead in a bathtub in his parents’ home in a Chicago suburb. The last person to see Lucas alive was Sam Farr, a classmate who was over for dinner that fatal night. Fast forward to 2015, when Sam’s nine-year-old son, Matthew, has gone missing, and former cop Alex Scroll, Lucas’s father, is the prime suspect. Caught in the middle of the maelstrom is Francis Scroll, now Francis Clarke, Lucas’s older brother. Confronted by the missing boy’s mother, Miranda Farr, Francis doesn’t want to believe that his father is involved, but he can’t be sure. So he sets out to find Matthew and end the newest chapter of a drama he’s tried for decades to leave behind. Only a few forgotten details, which don’t affect the overall storytelling or denouement, mar this page-turner with its haunting, well-developed characters and tantalizing plot. Agent: Barbara Poelle, Irene Goodman Literary Agency. (Sept.)
From the Publisher
"Boy, 9, Missing has a gripping plot, fast-paced action, and memorable characters that you won't soon forget.This riveting debut had me hooked from page one." - Heather Gudenkauf, New York Times bestselling author of The Weight of Silence and Missing Pieces

"a surprise-filled whodunit...satisfying page-turner.
" - Booklist

"haunting, well-developed characters and tantalizing plot." - Publishers Weekly

"In Joseph's debut thriller, no one escapes the wreckage of a decades-old crime, as secrets and lies imperil the survivors. An intriguing premise, breathlessly executed." - Sophie Littlefield, national bestselling author and Edgar Nominee

"Nic Joseph gives readers an addictive psychological thriller in her gripping debut novel. Exploring unexpected depths in plot, character, and story structure, Boy, 9, Missing is a twisted ride of family and revenge. " - New York Times bestselling author Michelle Gable

"Boy, 9, Missing is a stay-up-all-night suspense tale about a tragedy from which a family and town don't recover. The characters come alive as the story twists and turns, and every one of your guesses about what happens next will be wrong.
" - Helen Klein Ross, author of What Was Mine

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781492633587
Publisher:
Sourcebooks
Publication date:
09/20/2016
Pages:
336
Sales rank:
172,177
Product dimensions:
5.50(w) x 8.20(h) x 0.70(d)

Meet the Author

Nic Joseph has been published in a variety of news outlets, including Newsweek, WGNTV.com, and Business 2.0. She spends her days as a communications manager for an independent teaching hospital in Chicago, and her nights writing fiction or watching old mysteries on Netflix.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Boy, 9, Missing 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
Teague Shaw 3 months ago
Hi, I just started a book review page on my blog and it would mean a lot if some of you would check it out! I am a huge fan and I want to become big for book reviewing(: Thank you it means more than you know. http://latenightsandearlymornings.weebly.com/books/boy-9-missing-by-nic-joseph
KrittersRamblings 4 months ago
Francis lost his younger brother in a drowning in their home and more than twenty years later he is moving back home for a job opportunity, but the wounds haven't healed and he is swept into the past from the first time he crosses the border. The crazy thing is that his child isn't aware of his past, none of it. I loved this book. I can't place in one genre, instead I think it is a combination - family drama and mystery. Yes, there is a mystery - what happened to Lucas and Matthew, but I feel as though the heart of the story are the two families and how a tragedy can affect them to their core for years. I guessed wrong when I made the guess as to who kidnapped Matthew and sometimes when I am wrong it affect my reading of the book, but in this case I loved the outcome more than the path I thought it was headed. I love when a book surprises me! I loved this one and can't wait to see what comes next.
KateUnger More than 1 year ago
Boy, 9, Missing is a great suspense novel. Francis’ younger brother Lucas drowned in their bathtub when he was 9 years old. The only person who saw it happen, Lucas’ 10-year old friend, Sam, hasn’t ever spoken of the incident. Now 23 years later, Sam’s 9-year old son, Matthew, is missing. The present day story is told from Francis’ point of view. He is now a newspaper writer in the town where he grew up. When Sam’s son goes missing, Francis’ father, Alex, is the main suspect. Determined the find his father and Matthew, Francis begins a covert investigation. I had to suspend my disbelief a lot over this point, but I decided to just go with it, and I’m very glad I did. The suspense in this book was wonderful. I was determined to figure out what had happened to Lucas and where Matthew was. The ending blew me away without any sort of gimmicky twist that’s so popular in suspense novels these days. It was believable yet unpredictable. Interwoven throughout the book are Francis’ memories of the night Lucas died as well as a memoir Sam is having ghost written. I really enjoyed reading these parts as well. In addition, there is a lot of psychology included that made it even more interesting. There are a handful of minor characters, but the focus of the story is on Francis, Sam, and Matthew. There is one character that felt unnecessary, and there is a touch of romance. Overall, I was sucked right in to this book and am so glad I read it. http://opinionatedbooklover.com/review-boy-9-missing-nic-joseph/
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
An exciting thriller – the story is compelling with well-developed and incredibly relatable characters, keeping you in suspense until the very end.
Injoy-Life More than 1 year ago
Boy, 9, Missing by Nic Joseph is a stunning debut and a first class thriller. I didn't care for the cover but still wanted to read it. I'm glad I did. It kept me guessing so I gave it four stars. Twenty three years have passed since Francis' brother drowned in what was ruled a tragic accident. His parents divorced and his father Alex has continued to blame a child, Sam Farr who was the 'only' witness to what happened. Francis developed behaviors that inhibited him from being in closed spaces, like elevators. He takes the stairs. This hauntingly poignant story is told via Francis' point of view and a journalist writing "The Sam Farr Story." I received a complimentary copy from Sourcebooks Landmark and NetGalley. That did not change my opinion for this review.