Brahms: Four Hand Piano Music, Vol. 3

$12.34 price
(Save 5%)$12.99 List Price
Other sellers (CD)
  • All (4) from $4.60   
  • New (4) from $4.60   

More About This Product

Product Details

  • Release Date: 9/29/1998
  • Label: Naxos
  • UPC: 730099465427
  • Catalog Number: 8553654
  • Sales rank: 399,744


Disc 1
  1. 1 Sonata for 2 pianos in F minor, Op. 34b - Johannes Brahms & Christian Kohn (42:59)
  2. 2 Variations on a Theme of Haydn, for 2 pianos in B flat major (St. Anthony Variations), Op. 56b - Johannes Brahms & Christian Kohn (18:21)
Read More Show Less

Album Credits

Performance Credits
Christian Kohn Primary Artist
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Very Good Performance of an Unjustly Neglected Brahms Masterpiece

    When you consider that Brahms' Sonata for Two Pianos Op. 34b in some ways is even more satisfying than its alter-ego, the Piano Quintet Op. 34, it boggles the mind that fewer than a dozen recordings of the Sonata are currently available. This performance, by the German Matthies-Köhn duo, features very good ensemble playing, very well-judged balance between the pianos, and a suitably wide dynamic range. True, the performance could use more poetry in the phrasing, but in this instance that is a relatively minor quibble. The other work on the program is Brahms' best known set of variations, the St. Anthony Variations ["on a theme by Haydn"], which receives a low-octane but nonetheless acceptable performance. The sound quality for both works, recorded at the same November 1996 session, is very good. The booklet notes and overall packaging are good, as is usual for Naxos. This recording, then, gets four and a half stars, which I am rounding up to five stars because [A] it is unjustly neglected Brahms, and [B] it is at budget price. Whether you are trying to round off your CD collection [like I am], just getting started with your collection, or somewhere in the middle, you will find this recording to be a worthy and valued addition. And at budget price, it is ideal for Christmas stockings or office Christmas parties.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews