Brain Has a Mind of Its Own

Brain Has a Mind of Its Own

by Richard M. Restak
     
 

Neurologist and best-selling author Richard Restak puts readers in touch with the latest scientific findings about the most complex and inscrutable object in creation—the human brain. "By all means let Richard Restak take you on this lively journey to the very roots of our being. Along the way you will gain new understanding of consciousness, dreams, drugs,…  See more details below

Overview

Neurologist and best-selling author Richard Restak puts readers in touch with the latest scientific findings about the most complex and inscrutable object in creation—the human brain. "By all means let Richard Restak take you on this lively journey to the very roots of our being. Along the way you will gain new understanding of consciousness, dreams, drugs, emotions, memory loss, and many kindred subjects."—William Warner Line drawings.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly - Publisher's Weekly
Unlike psychiatrists who tend to underestimate the role of the brain in mental illness, neurologist Restak ( The Brain ) seeks the cause, in part, in brain dysfunction. Drawing on his patients' often dramatic stories, this gifted and disarming writer's vivid scientific imagery helps to demonstrate the mysterious interaction between the physical brain and the ``inner-dimensional'' mind. The gap between the two, he notes, has narrowed, thanks to recent advances in neurobiochemical and genetics research and technology. Among these is the PET scanner, which can record action in the brain before a conscious act of will and help diagnose schizophrenia. One of the wide-ranging essays here concerns the benefits to be derived from such activities as contemplating a bonsai tree, which, along with other ``prescriptions for insight,'' Restak much prefers to the cult of self-absorption attributable, he believes, to psychoanalysis, how-to books and ``communal group grope'' approaches. (Nov.)
Library Journal
Restak, a neuropsychiatrist, gained notoriety with two PBS companion volumes, The Brain ( LJ 11/1/88) and The Mind ( LJ 10/15/84). His latest offering is a curious assortment of short essays that touch on the mind/brain relationship. Directed toward the general reader, these pieces reflect upon such topics as creativity, concentration, mindfulness, lucid dreaming, and the distinguishing features of a highly intelligent brain. Restak freely philosophizes and occasionally editorializes. Examples from his clinical practice and brief summaries of pertinent research add an interesting dimension to the book. While not all of these essays demonstrate profound insight, there is clearly enough here to tantalize readers. Restak's book should be popular in public libraries.-- Laurie Bartolini, Lincoln Lib., Springfield, Ill.
Booknews
In the tradition of Oliver Sacks and Lewis Thomas, neurologist, neuropsychiatrist, and best-selling author Restak (The brain, Bantam, 1984) explores the mysterious terrain of brain and mind, presenting recent research as well as anecdotes from his own practice. Annotation c. Book News, Inc., Portland, OR (booknews.com)

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781555254360
Publisher:
Simon & Schuster Audio
Publication date:
11/03/1991

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >