Breach of Trust (Jason Kolarich Series #2)
  • Alternative view 1 of Breach of Trust (Jason Kolarich Series #2)
  • Alternative view 2 of Breach of Trust (Jason Kolarich Series #2)

Breach of Trust (Jason Kolarich Series #2)

3.5 11
by David Ellis, Luke Daniels
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

On the night his wife and infant daughter died, attorney Jason Kolarich was awaiting a call from an informant. He blames himself not only for the deaths of his family, but for the informant's murder as well. Kolarich can't bring back his family, but he can find the person who killed the informant. And he discovers that his informant's murder was only the tip of the

Overview

On the night his wife and infant daughter died, attorney Jason Kolarich was awaiting a call from an informant. He blames himself not only for the deaths of his family, but for the informant's murder as well. Kolarich can't bring back his family, but he can find the person who killed the informant. And he discovers that his informant's murder was only the tip of the iceberg-and that exposing the truth will drag him into the fight of his life.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Ellis's fine second Jason Kolarich legal thriller (after The Hidden Man) finds the former Chicago prosecutor, whose first wife and child died in a car accident, happily remarried with a new baby daughter and working as a defense attorney for the prestigious law firm of Shaker, Riley and Flemming. Jason is a rising star in the practice until he falls afoul of Assistant U.S. Attorney Chris Moody, who blackmails him into working a dangerous undercover assignment aimed at exposing corruption in local government. When tragedy strikes again, Jason immerses himself in his undercover work to ease his personal pain. Several murders occur, but it's the unraveling of the complicated web of government criminal malfeasance that makes the novel a smart, compelling page-turner. Tough and quick with a wisecrack, Jason always takes the hard road when he could far more easily bend or compromise. Readers will eagerly await his next outing. (Feb.)
From the Publisher
"David Ellis understands political corruption like no other writer out there-and lucky for us, his pages throb with action and suspense. Trust me, you won't be able to put Breach of Trust down."
-James Patterson
Library Journal
Dirty politics, Chicago style, is front and center in this sequel to Ellis's acclaimed series debut, The Hidden Man. Jason Kolarich, still grieving the loss of his wife and baby daughter in a car accident, decides to pursue what happened that night; he feels guilty that he wasn't with his family because he was waiting for a call from Ramirez, an informant. Ramirez was also killed that night, and Kolarich decides that solving that case may bring him some peace. He starts digging and, through a former client, finds his way into a lucrative contract as a state attorney to get closer to the files he needs. The next thing he knows, he's in the middle of an FBI investigation of the governor. Forced into a position he never sought, Kolarich turns informant as he works his way into the governor's innermost circle while searching for Ramirez's killer. VERDICT The reality of ex-Illinois governor Rod Blagojevich's trial (Ellis was the impeachment prosecutor) lends credibility to this intense, suspenseful tale set in a political cesspool. Ellis has turned out a sharp political thriller that should appeal to fans of David Baldacci and Vince Flynn. [See Prepub Alert, LJ 9/1/10.]—Stacy Alesi, Palm Beach Cty. Lib. Syst., Boca Raton, FL
Kirkus Reviews

From Edgar-winner Ellis, more about picaresque attorney Jason Kolarich (The Hidden Man, 2009), caught this time between a vengeful adversary and a violent thug with a taste for political hardball.

It's not unlikely that Kolarich exited the womb programmed to out-bawl the rest of the infant community, a born competitor. In part, at least, this explains why he waited so long for a certain phone call on a certain fateful day—too long, he would later bitterly acknowledge. Ernesto Ramirez, a former street-ganger turned good guy, had information for Jason, which he was prepared to part with only because Jason had applied the kind of unremitting pressure—think psychological water-boarding—under which Ramirez had finally cracked. And yet the information was less than essential; that is, Jason already had all he required to exculpate his client at the expense of Chris Moody, the government's endlessly ambitious lead prosecutor. Icing on the cake was all it amounted to, not much more than a chance to stick a gratuitous needle into the arrogant hide of a heartily disliked opposite number. And now the law of unforeseen consequences kicks in with three negative results: 1) Jason's wife and child die in a car crash that might possibly have been avoided if Jason had been at the wheel instead of at the phone. 2) As Ramirez had all but predicted, he is in fact murdered by the corrupt politico who needs him silenced. 3) Jason earns the ongoing rancor of a man to whom payback has the force of religion and who is every bit as competitive as he is.

A turn of the screw or two on the excessive side perhaps, but smart, tough Jason, who clearly does not jib at chicanery inside the courtroom or out, remains a keeper, warts and all.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781423379317
Publisher:
Brilliance Audio
Publication date:
02/03/2011
Series:
Jason Kolarich Series , #2
Edition description:
Unabridged, 11 CDs, 12 hrs. 34 min.
Product dimensions:
5.10(w) x 7.00(h) x 1.50(d)

What People are saying about this

James Patterson
“David Ellis understands political corruption like no other writer out there—and lucky for us, his pages throb with action and suspense. Trust me, you won’t be able to put Breach of Trust down.” --(James Patterson)
From the Publisher
"David Ellis understands political corruption like no other writer out there-and lucky for us, his pages throb with action and suspense. Trust me, you won't be able to put Breach of Trust down."
-James Patterson

Meet the Author

David Ellis’s previous novels include In the Company of Liars, Jury of One, Life Sentence, and Line of Vision, for which he won an Edgar Award. An attorney from Chicago, he serves as Counsel to the Speaker of the Illinois House of Representatives.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Breach of Trust 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 11 reviews.
metfan More than 1 year ago
Hotshot lawyer Jason Kolarich returns in a solid sequel to "The Hidden Man".This time,a grieving Jason goes after the man who murdered an informant he was waiting to hear from on the night his wife and daughter died in a tragic accident.But Jason's guns-blazing approach lands him smack in the middle of an FBI probe of the Governor-a web of lies,corruption,betrayal,and murder.Another good story,well-written, fast-paced,and suspenseful.David Ellis has created a wonderful and memorable lead charcater in this smart-aleck tough guy.I can't wait for the next one!
grumpydan More than 1 year ago
Jason Kolarich loses his wife and daughter in an automobile accident while waiting for a reluctant witness for a very important case. He should have been with them and driving but his work seemed more important at the time. After mourning, quitting his job and going to work for himself, Jason learns that his witness was murdered on the same night his family died. Determined to help the wife of the witness and find the truth behind it all, Jason is thrown into the world of corrupt politicians and payoffs that may go all the way to the governor. But Jason with the help of the FBI isn't got to stop even if it means his own demise. David Ellis' new book is a legal thriller that is expertly written. His plot and characters are believable and the novel enjoyable.
Dollycas More than 1 year ago
Jason has lost his wife and baby daughter. He should have been in the car with them. He was more familiar with road. Instead he was waiting for a call that never came. He was waiting for an informant to call with vital information, but the informant was murdered before he could place the call. Jason carries the guilt of not only losing his family but the informant had a wife and kids too. Jason now has the opportunity to find the killer and bring him to justice. But the FBI is on to his plan as it collides with a probe of their own. He is forced into a game of wiretaps, listening devices, and danger, to help get the answers he needs and the information the FBI wants. The informant was just the tip of the iceberg. Corruption runs deep and wide, hopefully he can make it out alive. Dollycas’s Thoughts A corrupt governor in Illinois, no way. Ellis writes this book after serving as House Prosecutor that convicted Governor Ron Blagojevich in the impeachment trial before the Illinois Senate. He writes what he knows. This is quite a political drama. We were introduced to Jason in Ellis’ The Hidden Man. I was really looking forward to this story after reading that one. Jason Kolarich is a guy trying to do the right thing so you are naturally rooting for the truth to prevail. My only reservation about this story is that while very entertaining the book was that it was written so that it could be read as a stand alone. A lot of pages were filled with things from the previous book with few real necessary additions. Coming in at 546 pages the repetition took away in places what could have been a tight page turning novel. It was wonderful that the truth was revealed and came together, but having read the first book it dragged in spots. The last third of the book was completely page turning and exciting. The suspense part came through a little more in this one. Truthfully these books could be read in any order. I would start with this one and if you want, check out The Hidden Man. I see The Wrong Man (Jason Kolarich) is coming out June 28, 2012. I will look forward to the next installment. David Ellis is also teaming up with James Patterson for the anxiously awaited Guilty Wives out on March 26.
carleenator More than 1 year ago
This tops my list of the best books I have read in the past couple of months...Hooked me from the first chapter and I have not been disappointed since... I cant wait to get to the end, but like any other really good story....hate for it to end...Look out JG...This equals your very best stories... I love the sassy/cocky Jason, hope this character will have other stories to tell, if so I am a fan for life... Great Job David Ellis...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great and always guessing what's next
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Tina52 More than 1 year ago
Another good read, not as good as the the first and third one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Iamlal More than 1 year ago
Quite a disappointment. The plot is unnecessarily cumbersome. By the end you forget what had actually happened at the beginning. After the Hidden Man, I expected much more from Breach of trust. I hope Mr. Ellis finds his way back to a great thriller, such as Hidden man.