Breaking Rank: A Top Cop's Exposé of the Dark Side of American Policing

Breaking Rank: A Top Cop's Exposé of the Dark Side of American Policing

by Norm Stamper
     
 

Norm Stamper, formerly chief of the Seattle Police Force and deputy chief of the San Diego Police Department, has written a story unlike any other. Part memoir, part polemic on the state of policing in America, Breaking Rank melds progressive politics with hard-boiled reportage in the tradition of Charles Bukowski and Elmore Leonard. With provocatively titled

Overview

Norm Stamper, formerly chief of the Seattle Police Force and deputy chief of the San Diego Police Department, has written a story unlike any other. Part memoir, part polemic on the state of policing in America, Breaking Rank melds progressive politics with hard-boiled reportage in the tradition of Charles Bukowski and Elmore Leonard. With provocatively titled chapters like "Why White Cops Kill Black Men" and "Sexual Predators in Uniform," Stamper reveals a force that can be racist, corrupt, overly militaristic, and chauvinist, yet is also made up of brave and good men and women. He reflects upon what it is like to kill a man, why drugs should be decriminalized, the correct approach to prostitution and gun control, and how the force should be trained for the future. Stamper's prescriptions for change are both reasoned and challenging, but at no time does Breaking Rank become didactic— it is a riveting story told from the perspective of one of America's top cops on the street.

Editorial Reviews

Library Journal
The best police stories are told by police officers. In Breaking Rank, Stamper, a 34-year police veteran (he's the former chief of police in Seattle and former deputy chief in San Diego) candidly describes his odyssey as a police officer and offers equally candid advice along the way. Born near San Diego, Stamper was abused by his parents and as a teenager had numerous run-ins with the police. He decided to join the police force because he needed the money. While accounts of daily police work comprise the bulk of Breaking Rank, Stamper also offers a number of clear-cut ideas on how best to reduce crime. For example, he argues for the decriminalization of recreational drugs, the legalization of prostitution, and the abolishment of the death penalty and provides compelling evidence to support his theories. This lengthy, well-written work is recommended for collections in criminal justice and police studies.-Tim Delaney, SUNY at Oswego Copyright 2005 Reed Business Information.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781560256939
Publisher:
Avalon Publishing Group
Publication date:
04/28/2005
Pages:
384
Product dimensions:
6.42(w) x 9.12(h) x 1.34(d)
Age Range:
18 Years

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >