Breakwater Bay: A Novel [NOOK Book]

Overview

An abandoned baby, a glorious old Newport mansion, and awakening romance swirl the glittering waters of Breakwater Bay . . .

Preservationist Meri Hollis loves her latest project, restoring one of Newport's forgotten Gilded Age mansions. And with summer approaching, she'll be able to spend more time with her grandmother on the Rhode Island shore. She has a great job, a loving family, and she's pretty sure her boyfriend is going to propose on her...

See more details below
Breakwater Bay: A Novel

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$10.99
BN.com price

Overview

An abandoned baby, a glorious old Newport mansion, and awakening romance swirl the glittering waters of Breakwater Bay . . .

Preservationist Meri Hollis loves her latest project, restoring one of Newport's forgotten Gilded Age mansions. And with summer approaching, she'll be able to spend more time with her grandmother on the Rhode Island shore. She has a great job, a loving family, and she's pretty sure her boyfriend is going to propose on her thirtieth birthday.

But everything Meri believes about family, happiness, truth, and love is shattered when her family's darkest secret is exposed.

Thirty years before, Meri's neighbor and friend, Alden Corrigan, took his father's dinghy out to fish. In a sudden storm, he rushed to help a woman stranded on the breakwater. She was just a girl . . . a very pregnant girl who disappeared soon after they reached safety—but not before she left behind a special gift.

Now that the truth is out, life will change for everyone in Breakwater Bay, and Meri and Alden will have to make decisions that could ensure their future together . . . or separate them for good.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Booklist
Breakwater Bay examines the power of family and the importance of shared history. Noble immerses the reader in idyllic Newport, and its undeniable charm and unpredictable coastline serve as the perfect backdrop for Meri’s discovery... This tender, romantic novel is a perfect beach read.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780062319159
  • Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
  • Publication date: 7/1/2014
  • Sold by: HARPERCOLLINS
  • Format: eBook
  • Pages: 384
  • Sales rank: 26,629
  • File size: 677 KB

Meet the Author

Shelley Noble is a former professional dancer and choreographer and has worked on a number of films. Living on the Jersey Shore gives her ample opportunity to engage in her love of antique lighthouses and carousels. She is a member of Sisters in Crime, Mystery Writers of America, and Romance Writers of America.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4
( 5 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 5 Customer Reviews
  • Posted July 3, 2014

    Meri Hollis's life seems perfect she has a loving supporting fam

    Meri Hollis's life seems perfect she has a loving supporting family, a boyfriend, a job she loves, and friends but on her 30th birthday
     her family will tell her the truth about her past that will send her looking for answers. I personally think that Meri handled the news fairly
    well I don't think that I would be as composed about it as she was to find out my "family" is not technically my "family". 

    Alden, her Gran's neighbor, though a teenager when Meri was born was like a big brother to her until her and her family moved away
    when she was in her teens but even then he kept a close eye on her from afar. But why? The intensity of his devotion seems like a
    bit much, at least to me, Meri of course does not question it because he has always just been there but when a promise made long
    ago is revealed to her Meri starts to look at Alden a bit different. So is her entire relationship with Alden just an obligation that he feels
    he needs to keep filling because of a promise he made 30 years ago? But is it more than that? For both Alden and Meri.

    A heart-warming story of family and a love that has always been there! This was one of the better chick-lit books
    that I have read this year.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2014

    Two stars

    The book sounded good and after the reviews, i bought it. What a disappointment. You guess the entire book immediately. No guess work here. It is just too obvious. Yet the female character is like "duh?" The writing is childish and the only real movement is her going to her apartment to her gran's and then we get to go to work where the author did a good job of explaining in detail the restoration process. Had she spent all that effort on character development, we would have something. As it is, we are left with "what was i thinking when i bought this?" Save your $$$. Go get a different book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    Grest bolk

    My name is Olivia. I am 25 yrs old.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A Compelling Story of Family Secrets!

    BREAKWATER BAY, takes readers back to the coastal area of Rhode Island, Newport's forgotten Gilded Age Mansions, where we pick up from Newport Dreams (novella)--I would recommend reading prior to Breakwater Bay.

    Newport Dreams featured Geordie (a photographer) who comes to work on a restoration project called The Gilbert House. There she meets Bruce, Doug, and the two girls featured in Breakwater Bay –Carlyn and main character, Meri.

    BREAKWATER BAY opens with Meri’s thirtieth birthday, a preservationist restoring this mansion back to its glory, uncovers hidden gems (both in the building as well as her life). She enjoys spending time with her Gram at Candler Farm and her neighbor, Alden who has been a friend since she was a child. Little does she know his deep connection to this family.

    However after her surprise birthday party, she drives out to her Gram’s house to continue the celebration, and gets the shock of her life. She finds out she was adopted and her Gram and her step-dad gives her letters from her mom, who died several years ago.

    Everything changes for Meri. She now has to figure out her past, and her real family and her own identity. In addition, the current boyfriend, Peter is going off to law school and she is not sure she even wants a future with him.

    However, there is more about her past as she begins to uncover dark family secrets. At the same time, she finds her relationship with her Gram’s next door neighbor, may be more than just friendship.

    BREAKWATER BAY is a thought provoking novel about choices. One woman who found herself pregnant from a rich family –she is not allowed to be with the father of her baby, one teenage boy who helped this pregnant woman and saved her life and kept his promise, and another mother who lost her own baby, and a mother and daughter who make a choice which will forever affect another life.

    A multi-generational story of three generations of woman, each with tough choices and each with a different perspective. I loved the character, Gram, as she was definitely the foundation of this family and opened her heart and home to Meri and her friends, and can only image the secret she has kept, as she protected her daughter and her granddaughter.

    This is my fifth book by Noble, and she does not disappoint, as she is the queen of restoration—with transformations, of old to new, from places, things, to lives of her rich characters.

    If readers enjoy the Newport’s Gilded Age, you may want to read A Sense of Entitlement by Anna Loan-Wilsey (a mystery), where you will learn more about this era.

    Fans of Mary Alice Monroe, Patti Callahan Henry, Joanne DeMaio, Karen White and Wendy Wax will appreciate Noble’s subject matter and writing style, for a relaxing summer beach read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 5 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)