Britten: A Midsummer Night's Dream

$22.12 price
(Save 7%)$23.99 List Price

More About This Product

Product Details

  • Release Date: 6/19/2007
  • Label: Virgin Classics
  • UPC: 094638183228
  • Catalog Number: 81832


Disc 1
  1. 1–41 A Midsummer Night's Dream, opera, Op. 64 - Benjamin Britten & Benjamin Britten (154:03)
    Composed byBenjamin Britten
    Conducted byRichard Hickox
    Performed byNorman Bailey, James Bowman, Roger Bryson, Dexter Fletcher, Andrew Gallacher, Jill Gomez, Simon Hart, Henry Herford, Richard Hickox, Robert Horn, Della Jones, Donald Maxwell, Richard Suart, Adrian Thompson, Penelope Walker, Lillian Watson, Nicholas Watson, John Graham-Hall, Andrew Mead, City of London Sinfonia, Gregory Pierce
    1. 1Act 1. Introduction: The wood, deepening twilight / Over hill, over dale
    2. 2Act 1. Oberon is passing fell and wrath
    3. 3Act 1. Well, go thy way
    4. 4Act 1. How now my love?
    5. 5Act 1. Be it on lion, bear, or wolf, or bull
    6. 6Act 1. Welcome wanderer... I know a bank
    7. 7Act 1. Is all our company here?
    8. 8Act 1. Fair love, you faint with wand'ring in the wood
    9. 9Act 1. Through the forest have I gone
    10. 10Act 1. Stay, though thou kill me, sweet Demetrius
    11. 11Act 1. Come, now a roundel and a fairy song
    12. 12Act 1. You spotted snakes with double tongue
    13. 13Act 1. What thou seest when thou dost wake
    14. 14Act 2. Introduction: The wood
    15. 15Act 2. Are we all met?
    16. 16Act 2. I see their knavery
    17. 17Act 2. Be kind and courteous to this gentlemen
    18. 18Act 2. Hail, mortal, hail!
    19. 19Act 2. I have a reas'nable good ear in music
    20. 20Act 2. How now, mad spirit?
    21. 21Act 2. Flower of this purple dye
    22. 22Act 2. Puppet? Why, so?
    23. 23Act 2. This is thy negligence
    24. 24Act 2. Up and down, up and down
    25. 25Act 2. On the ground, sleep sound
    26. 26Act 3. Introduction: The wood, early next morning / My gentle Robin, seest thou this sweet sight?
    27. 27Act 3. Helena! Hermia! Demetrius! Lysander!
    28. 28Act 3. When my cue comes, call me
    29. 29Act 3. Have you sent to Bottom's house?
    30. 30Act 3. Now, fair Hippolyta
    31. 31Act 3. If we offend, it is with our good will
    32. 32Act 3. Gentles, perchance you wonder at this show
    33. 33Act 3. In this same interlude it doth befall
    34. 34Act 3. O grim-look'd night, O night with hue so black
    35. 35Act 3. O Wall, full often hast thou heard my moans
    36. 36Act 3. You ladies, you whose gentle hearts do fear
    37. 37Act 3. This lanthorn doth the hornèd moon present
    38. 38Act 3. Sweet Moon, I thank thee for thy sunny beams
    39. 39Act 3. Asleep, my love?
    40. 40Act 3. Come, your Bergomask
    41. 41Act 3. Now the hungry lion roars
Read More Show Less

Album Credits

Performance Credits
City of London Sinfonia Primary Artist
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously