Bruckner: 9 Symphonies

( 1 )
CD (9-CD Box Set)
$58.08 price
(Save 19%)$71.99 List Price
Other sellers (CD)
  • All (7) from $31.38   
  • New (6) from $31.38   
  • Used (1) from $0.00   

More About This Product

Product Details

  • Release Date: 4/8/2003
  • Label: Deutsche Grammophon
  • UPC: 028946981023
  • Catalog Number: 000001302
  • Sales rank: 13,282


Disc 1
  1. 1 Symphony No. 1 in C Minor (The Saucy Maid) (Linz version; Vienna version), WAB 101 - Anton Bruckner & Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra (47:18)
  2. 2 Symphony No. 2 in C Minor (Symphony of Pauses) (Original version; Herbeck version), WAB 102 - Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra & Anton Bruckner (51:53)
  3. 3 Symphony No. 3 in D Minor (Wagner) (First Definitive Version; Schalk version; Final version), WAB 103 - Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra & Anton Bruckner (53:15)
  4. 4 Symphony No. 4 in E flat (Romantic) (Original; Vienna; Karlsruhe; New York; Schalk & Löwe versions), WAB 104 - Anton Bruckner & Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra (64:45)
  5. 5 Symphony No. 5 in B flat (Tragic; Church of Faith; Pizzicato) (Original version; Schalk version), WAB 105 - Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra & Anton Bruckner (76:51)
  6. 6 Symphony No. 6 in A major (Philosophic) (Original version; Mahler version), WAB 106 - Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra & Anton Bruckner (55:05)
  7. 7 Symphony No. 7 in E major (Lyric), WAB 107 - Anton Bruckner & Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra (67:56)
  8. 8 Symphony No. 8 in C Minor (Apocalyptic; The German Michel) (First Definitive version; Schalk version), WAB 108 - Anton Bruckner & Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra (74:14)
  9. 9 Symphony No. 9 in D Minor (Unfinished) (Löwe version; Carragan version), WAB 109 - Anton Bruckner & Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra (60:48)
Read More Show Less

Album Credits

Performance Credits
Eugen Jochum Primary Artist
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Best bet for Bruckner

    This is probably the best available box set of Bruckner symphonies. Eugen Jochum is regarded as somewhat of a Bruckner specialist, and he recorded the complete Bruckner symphonies twice: this set from the '50s and '60s with the Berlin Philharmonic and the Bavarian Radio symphony, and a later set with the Dresden Staatskapelle for EMI. While the performances in each set are similar, I prefer this DG Set mainly for the sound, which I find to be clearer and brighter, as opposed to a somewhat more dry and distant sound from EMI. A further complaint with the EMI set is the brass section, which comes across as strained and out of tune at times. It's a personal preference, however - sammple both if you can as, many people rate the EMI set as definitive.

    While this set is excellent as a collection and a great way to get to know the Bruckner symphonies, there is more than one way to play these symphonies (not to mention the various versions of each symphony). Jochum generally tends towards faster, more dramatic tempos. For a different view, try, for example, Wand on RCA in the 4th, and Giulini's 9th on DG.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews