Bruiser

Bruiser

4.4 156
by Neal Shusterman
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

New York Times bestselling author Neal Shusterman delivers a suspenseful and thrilling novel that's perfect for fans of Unwind and UnWholly.

Tennyson is not surprised, really, when his family begins to fall apart, or when his twin sister, Brontë, starts dating the misunderstood bully, Brewster (or The Bruiser, as the entire high school

See more details below

Overview

New York Times bestselling author Neal Shusterman delivers a suspenseful and thrilling novel that's perfect for fans of Unwind and UnWholly.

Tennyson is not surprised, really, when his family begins to fall apart, or when his twin sister, Brontë, starts dating the misunderstood bully, Brewster (or The Bruiser, as the entire high school calls him). Tennyson is determined to get to the bottom of The Bruiser's reputation, even if it means gearing up for a fight. Brontë, on the other hand, thinks there's something special underneath that tough exterior. And she's right…but neither she nor Tennyson is prepared for the truth of what lies below the surface. Told through Tennyson, Brontë, and Bruiser's points of view, this dark, twisting novel explores friendship, family, and the sacrifices we make for the people we love.

Bruiser was named to the Texas Lone Star Reading List, among many other state lists, and was selected as a Book Page Top Ten Book of the Year, a Bank Street College of Education Best Book of the Year, and a Cooperative Children's Book Center Choice.

Supports the Common Core State Standards

Read More

Editorial Reviews

ALA Booklist
“The compelling issues and engaging premise make this a rewarding read.”
Voice of Youth Advocates (VOYA)
“Shusterman’s writing is wonderful and a joy to read. The subject matter makes this a great book discussion choice.”
Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books
“This eloquent and thoughtful story will most certainly leave its mark.”
Children's Literature - Kristi Bernard
Brewster “Bruiser” Rawlings is an outsider at school. He lives with his uncle and little brother. His mother passed away and he has not seen his father in years. But his life is about to change when he encounters twins, Tennyson and Bronte. Tennyson takes it upon himself to learn more about Bruiser by following him home. He saw Bruiser’s bruises and scars in the locker room, and suspects that the guy went from being Brewster, named after his grandfather, to Bruiser. When Tennyson got a peek inside Bruiser’s life, he started to see him in a different light. He also noticed that, the next day, the cuts on his own knuckles were gone but Bruiser now had some. Unbeknownst to Tennyson at the time, Bruiser can take on someone else’s pain and easily heal. Bronte, on the other hand, is attracted to guys she referred to as strays. She is interested in Bruiser though they keep it a secret. She was drawn to Bruiser and felt he needed someone to take care of him. On one of their secret dates in the woods, Bronte slipped and hurt her ankle. Bruiser helped her by rubbing her ankle and foot. Soon, there was no more pain, but Bronte noticed that Bruiser began to limp. His excuse was that his shoes were too small and not made for hiking. Bronte realized how much she was drawn to Bruiser and, as a result, she invited him to dinner to meet her parents. But troubles at home divided her family and her relationship. How could Bronte calm the storm that is Brewster Rawlings? Author Neal Shusterman has created a great read for anyone who loves a story with lots of points of view and an interesting storyline. The characters are not exaggerated, making them relatable and very human. At times the story is intense, but sometimes life is, too. Parents and teachers will approve of this read. Reviewer: Kristi Bernard; Ages 12 up.
Publishers Weekly
In this thought-provoking, low-key drama, Shusterman (Unwind) examines the bonds between family, friends, and community, and how the individual can affect the whole. Sixteen-year-old twins Tennyson and Brontë Sternberger aren't the closest of siblings, but Tennyson is concerned when his sister starts dating Brewster "Bruiser" Rawlins, an antisocial delinquent from a dubious family. But as the Sternbergers grow closer to Bruiser, they discover his secret: he takes on the pain and injuries of those he cares about, healing them at his own expense, whether he wants to or not. He can even soothe emotional wounds--his mere presence is enough to save the twins' parents' fragmenting marriage--but the cost to Bruiser may be unbearable. Tennyson and Brontë must face the unintended consequences of their actions when disaster strikes and a lifetime of healing others takes its toll on their new friend. Even as the narrative wrestles with philosophical and moral issues, it delves deep into the viewpoints of Tennyson, Brontë, Bruiser, and his younger brother, each segment told in a different, distinctive style, making for a memorable story. Ages 14-up. (July)
Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
"This eloquent and thoughtful story will most certainly leave its mark."
The Bulletin for the Center for Children's Books
“This eloquent and thoughtful story will most certainly leave its mark.”
Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books
“This eloquent and thoughtful story will most certainly leave its mark.”
School Library Journal
Gr 8 Up—Tennyson, 16, is a hulking loner who seems to possess the power to heal both physical and psychic hurts. When his twin sister, Brontë, befriends their shy and withdrawn classmate Brewster "Bruiser" Rawlins, he is concerned that her relationship with this boy from the wrong side of the tracks will prove somehow dangerous. After he spies Bruiser changing in the locker room and notices that his back is covered in scars and welts, he becomes even more certain that the teen and his family are bad news. In spite of her brother's warnings, Brontë continues her relationship with Bruiser, drawing him closer to her family—and Tennyson—in the process. The twins begin to notice Bruiser's unusual talent: not only can he assume the physical pain and wounds of those he cares about, but he can also absorb their anger, hurt, and grief. Told from the three characters' alternating perspectives, with Brewster's rendered in poetic form, Shusterman's novel reveals its secrets and their implications slowly, allowing readers to connect the dots before the characters do and encouraging them to weigh the price of Bruiser's "gift" against the freedom from pain that Tennyson and Brontë enjoy.—Amy S. Pattee, Simmons College, Boston

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780061134104
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
10/04/2011
Edition description:
Reprint
Pages:
352
Sales rank:
46,782
Product dimensions:
5.30(w) x 7.80(h) x 1.10(d)
Lexile:
820L (what's this?)
Age Range:
14 - 17 Years

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >