×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Calling: A Supernatural Thriller
     

The Calling: A Supernatural Thriller

4.1 19
by Robert Swartwood
 

See All Formats & Editions

When eighteen-year-old Christopher Myers' parents are murdered, something is written on his bedroom door, a mark in his parents' blood that convinces the police the killer has targeted Christopher as the next victim. To keep him safe, he travels away with his estranged grandmother and uncle to the small town of Bridgton, New York. And it's in Bridgton that he meets an

Overview

When eighteen-year-old Christopher Myers' parents are murdered, something is written on his bedroom door, a mark in his parents' blood that convinces the police the killer has targeted Christopher as the next victim. To keep him safe, he travels away with his estranged grandmother and uncle to the small town of Bridgton, New York. And it's in Bridgton that he meets an extraordinary young man who has come with his father to stop an unrelenting evil. Soon Christopher learns of the town's deep dark secret, and how his parents' murder was no accident, and how he has been brought to Bridgton by forces beyond his power--forces that just may threaten the destruction of all mankind.

THE CALLING is a 100,000-word supernatural thriller in the vein of Peter Straub and Dean Koontz.

Advance Praise for THE CALLING:

"THE CALLING is a powerful, gripping and terrifying novel, the sort that possesses your whole life while you're reading it; it'll stalk you through the day, and inform your dreams. Swartwood has delivered a novel that will become a classic."

-- Tim Lebbon

"Robert Swartwood's THE CALLING is a diabolical rocket sled of a psychological thriller. Told through the vivid, almost druggy point of view of a young man on the edge, tangled in a web of tragedy and surreal horror, Swartwood's novel gets under the skin and stays there. Highly recommended."

-- Jay Bonansinga

"This novel is small town horror at its best."

-- Hellnotes

Product Details

BN ID:
2940012403667
Publisher:
RMS Press
Publication date:
03/30/2011
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Sales rank:
28,503
File size:
846 KB

Meet the Author

Robert Swartwood is the USA TODAY bestselling author of The Serial Killer's Wife, The Calling, Man of Wax, and several other novels. His work has appeared in The Los Angeles Review, The Daily Beast, Chizine, Space and Time, Postscripts, and PANK. He created the term "hint fiction" and is the editor of Hint Fiction: An Anthology of Stories in 25 Words or Fewer. He lives with his wife in Pennsylvania. Visit him at www.robertswartwood.com.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Calling 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 18 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked this book. It is long but it had to be to get in all the back stories. I lreally enjoyed the story itself. It kept my interest. I never felt the need to skip pages just to get on with it. (Something Ive found myself doing in a few recent S.K. books.) Ill be reading more from this author. The book is well written and edited. The story was great. My favorite kind, and hard to find a good one like this. Hope everyone had a Merry Christmas, and looking forward to a super New Year. :-) Pegasus
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you have not read anything by Robert Swartwood, you should --- and do it now! I'm working my way through all his books at the moment and he is someone worth your time.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It would make a great movie! I will definitely read more by this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Liked
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Excellent!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this book, the story was great and kept me in it the whole book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This book is very slow going. Got up til around 200 pages or so and got uninterested. I bought it because of the great reviews, but this book is not as fast paced as I would have preferred. I would not recommend this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Well worth readgi
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
HoraceTorys More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed The Calling, and found the characters interesting and unpredictable. The main plot kept twisting and uncovering the character's secrets, and the end satisfied me. The dialogue was particularly readable, and the book's themes stayed with me after I'd finished. Sluggish prose got in the way sometimes, and many characters' whole backstories were revealed, sometimes told in a single sitting. The book would be stronger if things were edited down. But, if you want to read a compelling, chilling supernatural thriller with a teen protagonist, then The Calling is a great choice.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago