The Calling: A Supernatural Thriller [NOOK Book]

Overview

When eighteen-year-old Christopher Myers’ parents are murdered, something is written on his bedroom door, a mark in his parents’ blood that convinces the police the killer has targeted Christopher as the next victim. To keep him safe, he travels away with his estranged grandmother and uncle to the small town of Bridgton, New York. And it’s in Bridgton that he meets an extraordinary young man who has come with his father to stop an unrelenting evil. Soon Christopher learns of the town’s deep dark secret, and how ...
See more details below
The Calling: A Supernatural Thriller

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$4.99
BN.com price

Overview

When eighteen-year-old Christopher Myers’ parents are murdered, something is written on his bedroom door, a mark in his parents’ blood that convinces the police the killer has targeted Christopher as the next victim. To keep him safe, he travels away with his estranged grandmother and uncle to the small town of Bridgton, New York. And it’s in Bridgton that he meets an extraordinary young man who has come with his father to stop an unrelenting evil. Soon Christopher learns of the town’s deep dark secret, and how his parents’ murder was no accident, and how he has been brought to Bridgton by forces beyond his power—forces that just may threaten the destruction of all mankind.

THE CALLING is a 100,000-word supernatural thriller in the vein of Peter Straub and Dean Koontz.

Advance Praise for THE CALLING:

“THE CALLING is a powerful, gripping and terrifying novel, the sort that possesses your whole life while you’re reading it; it’ll stalk you through the day, and inform your dreams. Swartwood has delivered a novel that will become a classic.”

— Tim Lebbon

“Robert Swartwood’s THE CALLING is a diabolical rocket sled of a psychological thriller. Told through the vivid, almost druggy point of view of a young man on the edge, tangled in a web of tragedy and surreal horror, Swartwood’s novel gets under the skin and stays there. Highly recommended.”

— Jay Bonansinga

“This novel is small town horror at its best.”

— Hellnotes
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • BN ID: 2940012403667
  • Publisher: RMS Press
  • Publication date: 3/30/2011
  • Sold by: Barnes & Noble
  • Format: eBook
  • Sales rank: 29,059
  • File size: 829 KB

Meet the Author

Robert Swartwood is the USA TODAY bestselling author of The Serial Killer's Wife, The Calling, Man of Wax, and several other novels. His work has appeared in The Los Angeles Review, The Daily Beast, Chizine, Space and Time, Postscripts, and PANK. He created the term "hint fiction" and is the editor of Hint Fiction: An Anthology of Stories in 25 Words or Fewer. He lives with his wife in Pennsylvania. Visit him at www.robertswartwood.com.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4
( 19 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Good

    I liked this book. It is long but it had to be to get in all the back stories. I lreally enjoyed the story itself. It kept my interest. I never felt the need to skip pages just to get on with it. (Something Ive found myself doing in a few recent S.K. books.)
    Ill be reading more from this author. The book is well written and edited. The story was great. My favorite kind, and hard to find a good one like this.
    Hope everyone had a Merry Christmas, and looking forward to a super New Year. :-)
    Pegasus

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    This starts out somewhat slow, but it really builds up into some

    This starts out somewhat slow, but it really builds up into something exciting. I'm so glad I stuck with it. Read it!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Recommended

    Loved this book, the story was great and kept me in it the whole book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2012

    Disappointed...

    This book is very slow going. Got up til around 200 pages or so and got uninterested. I bought it because of the great reviews, but this book is not as fast paced as I would have preferred. I would not recommend this book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2012

    good. Stayed up because i wantef to know what happened

    Well worth readgi

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2011

    Good Story and Characters, But TMI

    I enjoyed The Calling, and found the characters interesting and unpredictable. The main plot kept twisting and uncovering the character's secrets, and the end satisfied me. The dialogue was particularly readable, and the book's themes stayed with me after I'd finished.

    Sluggish prose got in the way sometimes, and many characters' whole backstories were revealed, sometimes told in a single sitting. The book would be stronger if things were edited down.

    But, if you want to read a compelling, chilling supernatural thriller with a teen protagonist, then The Calling is a great choice.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2015

    Recommended

    If you have not read anything by Robert Swartwood, you should --- and do it now! I'm working my way through all his books at the moment and he is someone worth your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2014

    Loved it!

    It would make a great movie! I will definitely read more by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Liked

    Liked

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2013

    Yep

    Excellent!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)