Captain Disaster (Squish Series #4) by Jennifer L. Holm, Matt Holm |, NOOK Book (NOOK Kids eBook) | Barnes & Noble
Captain Disaster (Squish Series #4)

Captain Disaster (Squish Series #4)

2.5 2
by Jennifer L. Holm, Matthew Holm
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

It's soccer season! But the Waterfleas (hey, it could be worse--Okay, maybe it couldn't) are getting pummelled game after game. Squish knows winning isn't everything, but it's something right? Can Squish turn the losing streak around when he becomes team captain? Will Pod figure out how to harness the power of lightning? And how can amoebas play soccer when they don't

Overview

It's soccer season! But the Waterfleas (hey, it could be worse--Okay, maybe it couldn't) are getting pummelled game after game. Squish knows winning isn't everything, but it's something right? Can Squish turn the losing streak around when he becomes team captain? Will Pod figure out how to harness the power of lightning? And how can amoebas play soccer when they don't have any feet? Find out in the fourth electrifyingly hilarious, action packed Squish graphic novel adventure: Captain Disaster! Just right for fans of Babymouse, Lunch Lady, Sidekicks, and Captain Underpants.

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
New York Times:
"An energetic, good-hearted escapade, one that young readers will enjoy."

Starred Review, Kirkus Reviews:

• "Hilarious. If ever a new series deserved to go viral, this one does."
 
The Bulletin:
"A perfect mix of writing that is simple enough for early readers but still remarkably snarky, clever, and entertaining. Kids will soak up the humor, tidbits of science instruction, and adventure."

Children's Literature - Raina Sedore
Squish has joined a sports team! In the fourth "Squish" book, Squish learns a lesson about leadership and teamwork. Is the most important thing winning games? Or is it giving everyone a chance to play? Squish struggles with leading his friends. Told in black-and-white and green (with grayscale sections depicting a comic that Squish reads to himself), Jennifer and Matthew Holm maintain the goofy sensibility that has made Babymouse and Squish famous. The silly illustrations of Squish and his friends navigating an anthropomorphized world are supplemented with arrows throughout the story commenting on the action (i.e. "Kind of hard to wear shin guards when you don't have shins, huh?"). Although there is a short spread at the end describing an "experiment with air pressure," there is hardly any scientific content in the core story, besides the identities of the characters (the coach is a member of the Cyclops genus of crustaceans). This is a fun story about the challenges of leadership, but do not expect hardcore scientific content here. Reviewer: Raina Sedore

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780449818176
Publisher:
RH Childrens Books
Publication date:
09/25/2012
Series:
Squish Series , #4
Sold by:
Random House
Format:
NOOK Book
Sales rank:
1,040,692
Lexile:
GN290L (what's this?)
File size:
58 MB
Note:
This product may take a few minutes to download.
Age Range:
7 - 10 Years

Meet the Author

Brother-and-sister team MATTHEW "InkBoy" HOLM and JENNIFER "WriterGirl" HOLM are the daring duo behind the award-winning Babymouse series. Jennifer writes novels, including three Newbery Honor winners, Our Only May Amelia, Penny from Heaven, and Turtle in Paradise. Matthew Holm is a graphic designer and freelance writer.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Captain Disaster 2.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Great for kids.Great example.