The Carbon Diaries 2015 (The Carbon Diaries Series #1)
  • The Carbon Diaries 2015 (The Carbon Diaries Series #1)
  • The Carbon Diaries 2015 (The Carbon Diaries Series #1)

The Carbon Diaries 2015 (The Carbon Diaries Series #1)

3.2 6
by Saci Lloyd

View All Available Formats & Editions

Told in short diary entries filled with scrapbook clippings, this riveting ecothriller is one girl's attempt to stay grounded in a world where disaster has become the norm.

It's the year 2015, a time when global warming has begun to ravage the environment. In response, the United Kingdom becomes the first country to mandate carbon rationing-a well-intentioned…  See more details below


Told in short diary entries filled with scrapbook clippings, this riveting ecothriller is one girl's attempt to stay grounded in a world where disaster has become the norm.

It's the year 2015, a time when global warming has begun to ravage the environment. In response, the United Kingdom becomes the first country to mandate carbon rationing-a well-intentioned plan that goes tragically awry. When her carbon debit card arrives in the mail, sixteen-year-old Laura is just trying to pass her exams, manage her ecopunk band, and catch the attention of her gorgeous classmate Ravi. But as multiple natural disasters strike and Laura's parents head toward divorce, her world spirals out of control. A severe drought sparks fires and deadly riots; then the highest-category hurricane in recent history strikes London. With the death toll in the thousands and climbing, Laura and her family face the unimaginable as her older sister clings to life.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly

Global warming is rapidly changing the world in Lloyd's accomplished first novel, in which the United Kingdom, still reeling from the Great Storm, becomes the first nation on Earth to institute mandatory carbon rationing, a 60% decrease in all energy use. Sixteen-year-old Laura just wants to pass her classes, play with her band and maybe catch the eye of cute neighbor Ravi. With the weather tipping wildly out of control, she and her highly dysfunctional family ("We are officially the bad family on the street now, the family that other families call the cops on") must contend with blackouts, water shortages and riots, followed by torrential rains and the flooding of London. This gritty eco-thriller, made up of Laura's diary entries throughout the year 2015, features a nicely developed sense of place, complex and believable characters and an all-too-plausible near-future scenario, as Britons make do, pull together and triumph over adversity. Fans of Cory Doctorow's Little Brother and Meg Rosoff's How I Live Now should find this book a gripping read. Ages 12-up. (Apr.)

Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.
Children's Literature - Shelly Shaffer
In Saci Lloyd's debut, she captures the drama of what might occur if the world were forced to go on carbon rationing—a sort of point system in which each item that a person buys or uses is assigned points according to how much pollution it causes during its use or production. The main character, Laura, is a sixteen-year-old who lives in London, England, in the year 2015 and writes a diary during the first year of carbon rationing. She chronicles the upheaval in her family caused by the rationing. Laura's sister, Kim, defies the rationing rules by using too much, is put on ration probation as a result, and gets caught up in a ration smuggling ring. The rationing brings to the forefront the existing problems between Laura's mom and dad. During the year of rationing, her dad loses his job and his identity; he starts to farm in the backyard, which drives Laura's mother crazy. Eventually, Laura's mom moves out and joins a women group that trains women to be more self-sufficient. In addition to her family's problems, Laura has some problems of her own. Laura begins the novel by having a crush on the boy next door, but he does not seem interested in her, and Laura has trouble talking to him. Also, Laura is in a band, and the relationship she has with the people in her band is another area of stress, as the band tries to book shows at various venues across the English countryside. At times, the plot of the book jumps around and seems to lose focus, but, overall, the book conquers an important theme that students should consider. Reviewer: Shelly Shaffer
School Library Journal

Gr 8 Up

Laura Brown's diary of 2015 charts the first year of carbon rationing in Great Britain. The global climate has declined so precipitously that the country has made the unilateral decision to cut its carbon emissions by 60 percent. Everyone is issued a card that tracks their allowable use of carbon for the year. This limits utility usage, travel, and purchase of anything that has been transported over a distance, including food. Laura has to cope with limits to hygiene, cell phone use, and practice time with her band and listen to lectures on reducing energy consumption. Her father's job as Head of Travel and Tourism at a local college is eliminated. Freezing weather is followed by hot drought and flooding to finish off the year. Her family initially reacts badly to the strains-her parents fight, her dad starts drinking but then tries his hand at home agriculture, her mom joins the Women Moving Forward club, and her sister, Kim, disappears for days at a time and almost dies when a cholera epidemic hits the city. The book refers to itself as an eco-thriller but it doesn't present the usual over-the-top characters and hardly believable events of so many books in that genre. It works so well because of all the normal craziness of life that has nothing to do with the environmental disaster. The family crisis, the colorful supportive neighbors, the crush on the cute boy next door, and the triumphs of Laura's band lend the story verisimilitude that will give it appeal far beyond the usual thriller for doom-and-gloom junkies.-Eric Norton, McMillan Memorial Library, Wisconsin Rapids, WI

Kirkus Reviews
With eco-thrillers rapidly becoming the new vampire romance, it takes a special one to stand out. Laura Brown's diary of her life in the year after the Great Storm, the year England rations carbon use, transcends the genre's didacticism. While London suffers floods, droughts, riots and disease, Laura's self-centeredness-she just wants to play with her band and date cute Ravi from next door-keeps her story grounded. The everyday matter of young-adult fiction, from dating to parental divorce to failing grades, are equally meaningful when set against a backdrop of cholera and black markets. The diary format contributes to readers' sense of the frenetic pace of Laura's collapsing world, and the solidly realized London setting provides contrast to the Blitz Spirit of World War II. While the adults of London revert to crazed, self-obsessed philosophies, the teenagers just try to create a present and a future in a world destroyed. None of these Londoners is perfect, least of all Laura, but in a hellish year they all learn to get over themselves. Enough, at least. (Science fiction. 13-15)

Read More

Product Details

Holiday House, Inc.
Publication date:
Carbon Diaries, #1
Sales rank:
Product dimensions:
5.50(w) x 8.20(h) x 0.80(d)
HL690L (what's this?)
Age Range:
14 - 17 Years

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

The Carbon Diaries 2015 (The Carbon Diaries Series #1) 3.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 6 reviews.
MissPrint 12 days ago
In 2015 the UK becomes the pilot country for a program to ration carbon in an attempt to stave of the catastrophic climate change that has already lead to superstorms and other natural disasters. Laura Brown uses her diary to make sense of the chaos and keep herself sane in this strange new landscape with minimal heat, carbon ration cards, blackouts and worse. With everything changes so quickly, will Laura and her family make it through their first year of rationing? Will the coutnry? Only time will tell in The Carbon Diaries 2015 (2008) by Saci Lloyd. The Carbon Diaries 2015 is Lloyd's first book about Laura Brown's experiences with carbon rationing. The story continues in The Carbon Diaries 2017. Originally published in 2008, The Carbon Diaries 2015 has only become more timely and plausible in 2015. That said, there is something very on the nose in reading a "futuristic" book during the year in which it is set (or after). Because The Carbon Diaries 2015 is written as Laura's diary it is sometimes hard to get a sense of her character. Generally, Laura reads very young although that works in the book's favor as it has fairly broad age appeal. Lloyd does an excellent job of bringing Laura's eerie world to life with all of the madness and troubles that come with carbon rationing. It is this evocative prose that save the novel from being relegated to nothing more than a message-driven allegory for readers used to living in a world of chronic over-consumption. Although The Carbon Diaries 2015 is a slight read beyond the obvious ecological messages, it's still an entertaining read. Recommended readers looking for something new after reading all the bigger name post-apocalyptic novels. Possible Pairings: Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi, Little Brother by Cory Doctorow, The Adoration of Jenna Fox by Mary E. Pearson, Life as We Knew It by Susan Beth Pfeffer, A Long, Long Sleep by Anna Sheehan, Empty by Suzanne Weyn
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
TeensReadToo More than 1 year ago
Laura Brown lives in the U.K. - and unfortunately the U.K. is the first country to establish carbon rationing. Everyone will be expected to reduce their carbon consumption by 60%. Everyone has 200 Carbon Points per month to spend on travel, heat, food, and fun. The 200 Carbon Points are loaded on a card. In order to use anything, you have to swipe your card. If you have enough points - fine. If not, your oven could shut off in the middle of cooking dinner. People have to choose what is really important. As tough as the carbon rationing is, the extreme weather patterns are worse. Unbearable heat, droughts, hurricanes, and floods put normal life on hold for everyone. In addition to adapting to this new life, Laura also has to deal with typical teenage issues. Her family seems to be falling apart, her band is attempting to stay together, and she is trying to get the boy next door to notice her. With the U.K. falling down around her, does Laura have the luxury of being a typical teenager? Saci Lloyd has written an addicting eco-thriller. Following Laura through the toughest year of her life is fascinating. Readers will be anxious to read the follow-up, THE CARBON DIARIES, 2017.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Hey hey, calm down. Its ok