Caribbee: A Kydd Sea Adventure

( 3 )

Overview

As the captain of a useful frigate, Kydd is claimed by the Leeward Islands station, exchanging the harsh situation in South America for the warmth and delights of the Caribbean. It’s a sea change for Kydd, who revisits places and people that figured in his time as a young seaman. Some are nostalgic and pleasing, while others bring challenges of a personal nature. In Europe, Napoleon is triumphant on land, but so far away in the Caribbean, Kydd and the others feel secure and make the most of running down prizes ...

See more details below
Hardcover
$17.79
BN.com price
(Save 25%)$24.00 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (8) from $12.15   
  • New (4) from $16.23   
  • Used (4) from $12.15   

Overview

As the captain of a useful frigate, Kydd is claimed by the Leeward Islands station, exchanging the harsh situation in South America for the warmth and delights of the Caribbean. It’s a sea change for Kydd, who revisits places and people that figured in his time as a young seaman. Some are nostalgic and pleasing, while others bring challenges of a personal nature. In Europe, Napoleon is triumphant on land, but so far away in the Caribbean, Kydd and the others feel secure and make the most of running down prizes and sending off fat convoys of sugar to England. But, in a stroke of genius, Bonaparte finds a way to take revenge for Trafalgar and shocks Kydd out of complacency when an element from his past returns and Kydd is accused of murder. In a stroke of irony, it is that same past that may just provide Kydd the means to clear his name.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher

"It's impossible not to enjoy the book—even newcomers to the series will be caught up in the spectacle, in Stockwin's colorful characters. Ideal for fans of Dewey Lambdin, Bernard Cornwell, and, of course, Patrick O'Brian."  —David Pitt, Booklist, on Victory

"An exciting and suspenseful historical loaded with action, intrigue, treachery, and the bloody gore of 1805 warfare. . . . [Offers] vivid and lush descriptions of colonial South Africa, professional seamanship, bold leadership, and . . . the perils of life at sea in the Royal Navy."  —Publishers Weekly on Conquest

Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781590136683
  • Publisher: McBooks Press
  • Publication date: 11/1/2013
  • Series: Kydd Sea Adventures Series
  • Pages: 352
  • Sales rank: 435,814
  • Product dimensions: 5.90 (w) x 8.50 (h) x 1.20 (d)

Meet the Author

Julian Stockwin is a retired teacher and educational psychologist, and a former lieutenant commander of the Royal Navy Reserve. He entered the British Navy at age 15 and was eventually named a Member of the British Empire. He is the author of the Kydd Sea Adventures series.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4.5
( 3 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 3 Customer Reviews
  • Posted May 12, 2014

    A wonderfully written chapter in the life of Captain Kydd. Kydd

    A wonderfully written chapter in the life of Captain Kydd. Kydd almost comes to life and gets the reader involved in his adventures, trials and tribulations. The writing style of this author takes a little getting used to, as he uses the language of the times in those days. But, was a good read and entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Wish Julian would turn them out faster.

    If you like Kydd, you'll like Caribbee.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 3 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)