Caribbee: A Kydd Sea Adventure

Caribbee: A Kydd Sea Adventure

4.6 3
by Julian Stockwin
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

As the captain of a useful frigate, Kydd is claimed by the Leeward Islands station, exchanging the harsh situation in South America for the warmth and delights of the Caribbean. It’s a sea change for Kydd, who revisits places and people that figured in his time as a young seaman. Some are nostalgic and pleasing, while others bring challenges of a personal

See more details below

Overview

As the captain of a useful frigate, Kydd is claimed by the Leeward Islands station, exchanging the harsh situation in South America for the warmth and delights of the Caribbean. It’s a sea change for Kydd, who revisits places and people that figured in his time as a young seaman. Some are nostalgic and pleasing, while others bring challenges of a personal nature. In Europe, Napoleon is triumphant on land, but so far away in the Caribbean, Kydd and the others feel secure and make the most of running down prizes and sending off fat convoys of sugar to England. But, in a stroke of genius, Bonaparte finds a way to take revenge for Trafalgar and shocks Kydd out of complacency when an element from his past returns and Kydd is accused of murder. In a stroke of irony, it is that same past that may just provide Kydd the means to clear his name.

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher

"It's impossible not to enjoy the book—even newcomers to the series will be caught up in the spectacle, in Stockwin's colorful characters. Ideal for fans of Dewey Lambdin, Bernard Cornwell, and, of course, Patrick O'Brian."  —David Pitt, Booklist, on Victory

"An exciting and suspenseful historical loaded with action, intrigue, treachery, and the bloody gore of 1805 warfare. . . . [Offers] vivid and lush descriptions of colonial South Africa, professional seamanship, bold leadership, and . . . the perils of life at sea in the Royal Navy."  —Publishers Weekly on Conquest

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781590136683
Publisher:
McBooks Press
Publication date:
11/01/2013
Series:
Kydd Sea Adventures Series
Pages:
352
Product dimensions:
5.90(w) x 8.50(h) x 1.20(d)

Related Subjects

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >