Carl's Afternoon in the Park

Overview

Carl, the baby, and a new puppy spend an eventful afternoon in the park, riding on a carousel, romping in the flowers, and visiting a children's zoo.

A contribution from the proceeds benefits the American Humane Association.

Carl the rottweiler, in charge of a baby and a puppy, takes advantage of Mom's absence to lead them on a wild romp through the park.

...
See more details below
Available through our Marketplace sellers.
Other sellers (Coloring Book)
  • All (2) from $31.24   
  • Used (2) from $31.24   
Close
Sort by
Page 1 of 1
Showing All
Note: Marketplace items are not eligible for any BN.com coupons and promotions
$31.24
Seller since 2009

Feedback rating:

(25019)

Condition:

New — never opened or used in original packaging.

Like New — packaging may have been opened. A "Like New" item is suitable to give as a gift.

Very Good — may have minor signs of wear on packaging but item works perfectly and has no damage.

Good — item is in good condition but packaging may have signs of shelf wear/aging or torn packaging. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Acceptable — item is in working order but may show signs of wear such as scratches or torn packaging. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Used — An item that has been opened and may show signs of wear. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Refurbished — A used item that has been renewed or updated and verified to be in proper working condition. Not necessarily completed by the original manufacturer.

Very Good
Our feedback rating says it all: Five star service and fast delivery! We have shipped four million items to happy customers, and have one MILLION unique items ready to ship today!

Ships from: Toledo, OH

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Canadian
  • International
  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
  • Express, 48 States
  • Express (AK, HI)
$31.25
Seller since 2006

Feedback rating:

(62256)

Condition: Good
Shows some signs of wear, and may have some markings on the inside. 100% Money Back Guarantee. Shipped to over one million happy customers. Your purchase benefits world literacy!

Ships from: Mishawaka, IN

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Canadian
  • International
  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
  • Express, 48 States
  • Express (AK, HI)
Page 1 of 1
Showing All
Close
Sort by
Sending request ...

Overview

Carl, the baby, and a new puppy spend an eventful afternoon in the park, riding on a carousel, romping in the flowers, and visiting a children's zoo.

A contribution from the proceeds benefits the American Humane Association.

Carl the rottweiler, in charge of a baby and a puppy, takes advantage of Mom's absence to lead them on a wild romp through the park.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly - Publisher's Weekly
Move over, Mary Poppins, and make room for Carl, the ravishing rottweiler cum babysitter who makes his fourth and perhaps finest appearance yet in this gorgeously colored picture book. As with the other Carl books, these adventures are virtually wordless. When a mother meets a friend in the park, she leaves Carl in charge of her baby and the newest addition to the series, a rottweiler puppy. Carl fans know what happens next: the baby scrambles aboard Carl's back and the romp begins. Here, however, the illustrations are more dynamic and the goings-on even more beguiling than in previous outings, making wonderful use of the park setting. Carl poses like a pony on the merry-go-round; the trio rides a tiny train into a children's zoo, where the puppy incurs a ewe's maternal wrath; while the puppy wreaks more havoc, Carl and the baby model for afternoon painters, each of whom styles his canvas after a famous artist. There's lagniappe too, for gifted puzzle enthusiasts--about 20 pictures of dogs have been hidden in the illustrations. And for the softhearted, a portion of the proceeds benefits the American Humane Association. All ages. (Oct.)
School Library Journal
PreS-Gr 1-- America's most endearing Rottweiler is left in the park by his mistress to mind not only the baby but also a friend's frisky puppy. Fans of Good Dog, Carl (Green Tiger Pr., 1985), Carl Goes Shopping (1989), and Carl's Christmas (1990, both Farrar) will not be surprised to learn that he rises to the occasion. The baby seems a tiny bit older in this book and expectantly clambers onto Carl's back the moment the adults disappear. The venturesome trio embarks on a series of merry capers: a romp in a flower bed, a splash with a hose, a ride on a merry-go-round (with Carl as the ``horse''), and so on. In one of the funnier scenes, Carl and the baby pose for a painting class and are rendered cubistically, abstractly, and impressionistically by the students. As always, Carl returns his charges safely to their point of origin--just in time to receive his unsuspecting mistress's commendation. In her familiar realistic, painterly style, Day is a master of sweet but not cloying illustration. Her colors are bright and clear; her animals and children expressive and appealing. The flow of the episodic events may seem slightly truncated in spots (e.g., the puppy, lifted aloft by a balloon, is grasped by the baby but the next plate shows both baby and puppy having an ice-cream cone). It's a minor quibble. The fact that no responsible adult would ever leave a baby unattended in a public park today and that, after three books, the concept is not as original and fresh, will matter little to the followers of Day's wordless fantasies. --Kate McClelland, Perrot Memorial Library, Greenwich, CT
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781561449743
  • Publisher: Modern Publishing
  • Series: Carl Series

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)