Carl's Afternoon in the Park
  • Alternative view 1 of Carl's Afternoon in the Park
  • Alternative view 2 of Carl's Afternoon in the Park

Carl's Afternoon in the Park

4.3 3
by Alexandra Day
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Carl, the baby, and a new puppy spend an eventful afternoon in the park, riding on a carousel, romping in the flowers, and visiting a children's zoo.

The Carl board books are sure to be baby's best friends!

Titles in this series:
Carl Goes Shopping
Carl's Christmas
Carl's Afternoon in the Park
Carl's

…  See more details below

Overview

Carl, the baby, and a new puppy spend an eventful afternoon in the park, riding on a carousel, romping in the flowers, and visiting a children's zoo.

The Carl board books are sure to be baby's best friends!

Titles in this series:
Carl Goes Shopping
Carl's Christmas
Carl's Afternoon in the Park
Carl's Masquerade
Carl Goes to Daycare
Carl's Birthday

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher

“Move over, Mary Poppins, and make room for Carl...Beguiling.” —Publishers Weekly

“Day's humor and sense of adventure richly color this winning Carl episode.” —Booklist

“Carl is the babysitter every family needs.” —Parents Magazine

Publishers Weekly - Publisher's Weekly
Move over, Mary Poppins, and make room for Carl, the ravishing rottweiler cum babysitter who makes his fourth and perhaps finest appearance yet in this gorgeously colored picture book. As with the other Carl books, these adventures are virtually wordless. When a mother meets a friend in the park, she leaves Carl in charge of her baby and the newest addition to the series, a rottweiler puppy. Carl fans know what happens next: the baby scrambles aboard Carl's back and the romp begins. Here, however, the illustrations are more dynamic and the goings-on even more beguiling than in previous outings, making wonderful use of the park setting. Carl poses like a pony on the merry-go-round; the trio rides a tiny train into a children's zoo, where the puppy incurs a ewe's maternal wrath; while the puppy wreaks more havoc, Carl and the baby model for afternoon painters, each of whom styles his canvas after a famous artist. There's lagniappe too, for gifted puzzle enthusiasts--about 20 pictures of dogs have been hidden in the illustrations. And for the softhearted, a portion of the proceeds benefits the American Humane Association. All ages. (Oct.)
School Library Journal
PreS-Gr 1-- America's most endearing Rottweiler is left in the park by his mistress to mind not only the baby but also a friend's frisky puppy. Fans of Good Dog, Carl (Green Tiger Pr., 1985), Carl Goes Shopping (1989), and Carl's Christmas (1990, both Farrar) will not be surprised to learn that he rises to the occasion. The baby seems a tiny bit older in this book and expectantly clambers onto Carl's back the moment the adults disappear. The venturesome trio embarks on a series of merry capers: a romp in a flower bed, a splash with a hose, a ride on a merry-go-round (with Carl as the ``horse''), and so on. In one of the funnier scenes, Carl and the baby pose for a painting class and are rendered cubistically, abstractly, and impressionistically by the students. As always, Carl returns his charges safely to their point of origin--just in time to receive his unsuspecting mistress's commendation. In her familiar realistic, painterly style, Day is a master of sweet but not cloying illustration. Her colors are bright and clear; her animals and children expressive and appealing. The flow of the episodic events may seem slightly truncated in spots (e.g., the puppy, lifted aloft by a balloon, is grasped by the baby but the next plate shows both baby and puppy having an ice-cream cone). It's a minor quibble. The fact that no responsible adult would ever leave a baby unattended in a public park today and that, after three books, the concept is not as original and fresh, will matter little to the followers of Day's wordless fantasies. --Kate McClelland, Perrot Memorial Library, Greenwich, CT

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780374311049
Publisher:
Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Publication date:
10/28/1992
Series:
Carl Series
Edition description:
BOARD BOOK
Pages:
36
Sales rank:
101,382
Product dimensions:
4.57(w) x 5.83(h) x 0.76(d)
Age Range:
3 - 6 Years

Meet the Author

Alexandra Day is the pseudonym for Sandra Louise Woodward Darling. She is the author of Good Dog, Carl and the rest of the beloved Carl books, including Carl Goes Shopping, Carl's Christmas, Carl's Birthday and Carl's Snowy Afternoon. Darling was born in 1941 in Cincinnati, Ohio, to a large and close-knit family. Painting was a popular family recreation, and almost every family excursion included one or more easels and a variety of sketch pads, chalks, paints, and pencils. For four years, the family lived on a hundred-acre farm in Kentucky. Here young Sandra grew especially fond of riding and training horses, and became a dog owner for the first time. Living in the country also provided plenty of time for reading, a life-long passion.

Sandra illustrated her first book in 1983: The Teddy Bears' Picnic, a popular children's song by Jimmy Kennedy. That same year, she was visiting Zurich, Switzerland, when she came across a volume of old German picture sheets, one of which featured a poodle playing with a baby who was supposed to be taking a nap. This image proved the inspiration for Good Dog, Carl. The Darlings' own dog, a Rottweiler named Toby, was the model for the book's main character. Since then, two other Darling Rottweilers have posed as Carl in the seven sequels: the late Arambarri, who was named for one of the Darlings' favorite jai alai players; and Zabala, who currently moonlights as an Our Best Friend therapy dog, visiting hospitals to cheer patients.

About her work Sandra says: "I think that one of the reasons my illustrations have appealed to people is that they can sense my sincerity. I know that marvels exist which are just outside our ordinary experience, but that at any moment we may turn a corner and encounter one of them. Children also believe this, and because they and I have this conviction in common, we, as creator and audience, make good partners." Sandra lives in Seattle, Washington, with her husband, Harold.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 3 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Snoffie More than 1 year ago
As expected, this is another wonderful story for children. Especially, our grandson, who also has a BIG ROTTIE.....as a sibling. Hope to be able to add more to the collection as he has them all. Thank you. Vicki Cochrane
Guest More than 1 year ago
I just love this book and so do my children. We own 3 rottweilers so we take particular interest in these books. It portrays that not all rottweilers are the viscious animals that some claim them to be, but a loving family pet.