Carl's Afternoon in the Park

( 3 )

Overview

Renowned Rottweiler Carl is in double trouble. When Mom and her friend decide to stop for tea in the park, Carl is left to look after the baby and also a new puppy Rottweiler. Come join the fun as Carl leads this mischievous duo through a myriad of adventures--all with Mom better off not knowing. Full color throughout.

Carl the rottweiler, in charge of a baby and a puppy, takes advantage of Mom's absence to lead them on a wild romp ...

See more details below
Available through our Marketplace sellers.
Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (69) from $1.99   
  • New (1) from $65.00   
  • Used (68) from $1.99   
Close
Sort by
Page 1 of 1
Showing All
Note: Marketplace items are not eligible for any BN.com coupons and promotions
$65.00
Seller since 2014

Feedback rating:

(146)

Condition:

New — never opened or used in original packaging.

Like New — packaging may have been opened. A "Like New" item is suitable to give as a gift.

Very Good — may have minor signs of wear on packaging but item works perfectly and has no damage.

Good — item is in good condition but packaging may have signs of shelf wear/aging or torn packaging. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Acceptable — item is in working order but may show signs of wear such as scratches or torn packaging. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Used — An item that has been opened and may show signs of wear. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Refurbished — A used item that has been renewed or updated and verified to be in proper working condition. Not necessarily completed by the original manufacturer.

New
Brand new.

Ships from: acton, MA

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
Page 1 of 1
Showing All
Close
Sort by
Note: Kids' Club Eligible. See More Details.
Sending request ...

Overview

Renowned Rottweiler Carl is in double trouble. When Mom and her friend decide to stop for tea in the park, Carl is left to look after the baby and also a new puppy Rottweiler. Come join the fun as Carl leads this mischievous duo through a myriad of adventures--all with Mom better off not knowing. Full color throughout.

Carl the rottweiler, in charge of a baby and a puppy, takes advantage of Mom's absence to lead them on a wild romp through the park.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly - Publisher's Weekly
Move over, Mary Poppins, and make room for Carl, the ravishing rottweiler cum babysitter who makes his fourth and perhaps finest appearance yet in this gorgeously colored picture book. As with the other Carl books, these adventures are virtually wordless. When a mother meets a friend in the park, she leaves Carl in charge of her baby and the newest addition to the series, a rottweiler puppy. Carl fans know what happens next: the baby scrambles aboard Carl's back and the romp begins. Here, however, the illustrations are more dynamic and the goings-on even more beguiling than in previous outings, making wonderful use of the park setting. Carl poses like a pony on the merry-go-round; the trio rides a tiny train into a children's zoo, where the puppy incurs a ewe's maternal wrath; while the puppy wreaks more havoc, Carl and the baby model for afternoon painters, each of whom styles his canvas after a famous artist. There's lagniappe too, for gifted puzzle enthusiasts--about 20 pictures of dogs have been hidden in the illustrations. And for the softhearted, a portion of the proceeds benefits the American Humane Association. All ages. (Oct.)
School Library Journal
PreS-Gr 1-- America's most endearing Rottweiler is left in the park by his mistress to mind not only the baby but also a friend's frisky puppy. Fans of Good Dog, Carl (Green Tiger Pr., 1985), Carl Goes Shopping (1989), and Carl's Christmas (1990, both Farrar) will not be surprised to learn that he rises to the occasion. The baby seems a tiny bit older in this book and expectantly clambers onto Carl's back the moment the adults disappear. The venturesome trio embarks on a series of merry capers: a romp in a flower bed, a splash with a hose, a ride on a merry-go-round (with Carl as the ``horse''), and so on. In one of the funnier scenes, Carl and the baby pose for a painting class and are rendered cubistically, abstractly, and impressionistically by the students. As always, Carl returns his charges safely to their point of origin--just in time to receive his unsuspecting mistress's commendation. In her familiar realistic, painterly style, Day is a master of sweet but not cloying illustration. Her colors are bright and clear; her animals and children expressive and appealing. The flow of the episodic events may seem slightly truncated in spots (e.g., the puppy, lifted aloft by a balloon, is grasped by the baby but the next plate shows both baby and puppy having an ice-cream cone). It's a minor quibble. The fact that no responsible adult would ever leave a baby unattended in a public park today and that, after three books, the concept is not as original and fresh, will matter little to the followers of Day's wordless fantasies. --Kate McClelland, Perrot Memorial Library, Greenwich, CT
From the Publisher
"Move over, Mary Poppins, and make room for Carl...Beguiling."—Publishers Weekly

"Day's humor and sense of adventure richly color this winning Carl episode."—Booklist

"Carl is the babysitter every family needs."—Parents Magazine

Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780374311094
  • Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux
  • Publication date: 10/1/1991
  • Series: Carl Series
  • Edition number: 1
  • Pages: 32
  • Age range: 3 - 6 Years
  • Product dimensions: 8.64 (w) x 10.68 (h) x 0.38 (d)

Meet the Author

Alexandra Day is the pseudonym for Sandra Louise Woodward Darling. She is the author of Good Dog, Carl and the rest of the beloved Carl books, including Carl Goes Shopping, Carl’s Christmas, Carl’s Birthday and Carl’s Snowy Afternoon. Darling was born in 1941 in Cincinnati, Ohio, to a large and close-knit family. Painting was a popular family recreation, and almost every family excursion included one or more easels and a variety of sketch pads, chalks, paints, and pencils. For four years, the family lived on a hundred-acre farm in Kentucky. Here young Sandra grew especially fond of riding and training horses, and became a dog owner for the first time. Living in the country also provided plenty of time for reading, a life-long passion.

 

Sandra illustrated her first book in 1983: The Teddy Bears' Picnic, a popular children's song by Jimmy Kennedy. That same year, she was visiting Zurich, Switzerland, when she came across a volume of old German picture sheets, one of which featured a poodle playing with a baby who was supposed to be taking a nap. This image proved the inspiration for Good Dog, Carl. The Darlings' own dog, a Rottweiler named Toby, was the model for the book's main character. Since then, two other Darling Rottweilers have posed as Carl in the seven sequels: the late Arambarri, who was named for one of the Darlings' favorite jai alai players; and Zabala, who currently moonlights as an Our Best Friend therapy dog, visiting hospitals to cheer patients.

 

About her work Sandra says: "I think that one of the reasons my illustrations have appealed to people is that they can sense my sincerity. I know that marvels exist which are just outside our ordinary experience, but that at any moment we may turn a corner and encounter one of them. Children also believe this, and because they and I have this conviction in common, we, as creator and audience, make good partners." Sandra lives in Seattle, Washington, with her husband, Harold.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4.5
( 3 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 3 Customer Reviews
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    Simply Wonderful

    As expected, this is another wonderful story for children.
    Especially, our grandson, who also has a BIG ROTTIE.....as a sibling.
    Hope to be able to add more to the collection as he has them all.
    Thank you.
    Vicki Cochrane

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2000

    Great Book

    I just love this book and so do my children. We own 3 rottweilers so we take particular interest in these books. It portrays that not all rottweilers are the viscious animals that some claim them to be, but a loving family pet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 3 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)