The Case of the Shifting Stacks

Overview

During Furlock and Muttson's trip to the library, the librarian has a mystery! The books have been moving to mysterious places by themselves. Can they follow the clues to solve the case of the shifting stacks? The furry detectives provide early readers entertaining, easy-to-follow mysteries in the Short Tales Furlock & Muttson Mysteries series. Large type, whimsical illustrations, and repeated phrases will make these tales popular with your students. Short Tales is an imprint of Magic Wagon, a division of ...

See more details below
Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (14) from $1.99   
  • New (8) from $1.99   
  • Used (6) from $1.99   
Note: Kids' Club Eligible. See More Details.
Sending request ...

Overview

During Furlock and Muttson's trip to the library, the librarian has a mystery! The books have been moving to mysterious places by themselves. Can they follow the clues to solve the case of the shifting stacks? The furry detectives provide early readers entertaining, easy-to-follow mysteries in the Short Tales Furlock & Muttson Mysteries series. Large type, whimsical illustrations, and repeated phrases will make these tales popular with your students. Short Tales is an imprint of Magic Wagon, a division of ABDO Publishing Group. Grades 2-6.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Children's Literature - Nancy Garhan Attebury
Who can possibly be moving the books to unlikely places in the library? That's the question Furlock and Muttson set out to solve in this humorous tale from the "Furlock and Muttson Mysteries" series. Their services are requested by Mrs. Beazley, the pink flamingo librarian who tells them that books are apparently moving around the library by themselves! The comical, yet serious detectives look at the books piled on the floor, against the wall, and suspended from the ceiling. Furlock, with wisdom befitting his character, concludes that kids are playing tricks. However, Muttson comes to a different conclusion after noting what each pile of books is about. He learns that turtles favor the topics in the books on the floor, elephants read the topics in the books by the wall, and giraffes read about the topics in the books suspended from the ceiling. He concludes that someone may be placing books in more user-friendly places for these animals. When Mrs. Beazley consults a new employee, they find this to be the true. The mystery is solved! This book contains fanciful illustrations that closely support the text, words that flow easily, well-crafted wit, and a sleek storyline that allows readers to come up with their own solutions to the mystery. The combination of the personalities of the energetic detectives works perfectly. Add this book, and others in the series, to library and classroom shelves to give readers some rib-tickling entertainment. Reviewer: Nancy Garhan Attebury
School Library Journal
K-Gr 2—Early readers will enjoy following a crime-fighting cat-and-dog team as they solve mysteries. The texts encourage sentence fluency and conclude with a whimsical recurring pattern, and the bright and cheerful drawings of a variety of cartoon animals create an entertaining jaunt for young sleuths. In Goldfish, Furlock and Muttson must use water-splattered clues to find out what happened to Mrs. Bumblebear's pet. In Mystery Museum, they must figure out why items have disappeared during a fossil exhibit. In Shifting Stacks, books are missing from the library. Fans of Bunnicula or Cam Jansen will be rooting for these intrepid sleuths.—Melissa Smith, Green Valley Library, Henderson, NV
Read More Show Less

Product Details

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)