×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Case of the Shifting Stacks
     

The Case of the Shifting Stacks

by Robin Michal Koontz
 

During Furlock and Muttson's trip to the library, the librarian has a mystery! The books have been moving to mysterious places by themselves. Can they follow the clues to solve the case of the shifting stacks? The furry detectives provide early readers entertaining, easy-to-follow mysteries in the Short Tales Furlock & Muttson Mysteries series. Large type,

Overview

During Furlock and Muttson's trip to the library, the librarian has a mystery! The books have been moving to mysterious places by themselves. Can they follow the clues to solve the case of the shifting stacks? The furry detectives provide early readers entertaining, easy-to-follow mysteries in the Short Tales Furlock & Muttson Mysteries series. Large type, whimsical illustrations, and repeated phrases will make these tales popular with your students. Short Tales is an imprint of Magic Wagon, a division of ABDO Publishing Group. Grades 2-6.

Editorial Reviews

Children's Literature - Nancy Garhan Attebury
Who can possibly be moving the books to unlikely places in the library? That's the question Furlock and Muttson set out to solve in this humorous tale from the "Furlock and Muttson Mysteries" series. Their services are requested by Mrs. Beazley, the pink flamingo librarian who tells them that books are apparently moving around the library by themselves! The comical, yet serious detectives look at the books piled on the floor, against the wall, and suspended from the ceiling. Furlock, with wisdom befitting his character, concludes that kids are playing tricks. However, Muttson comes to a different conclusion after noting what each pile of books is about. He learns that turtles favor the topics in the books on the floor, elephants read the topics in the books by the wall, and giraffes read about the topics in the books suspended from the ceiling. He concludes that someone may be placing books in more user-friendly places for these animals. When Mrs. Beazley consults a new employee, they find this to be the true. The mystery is solved! This book contains fanciful illustrations that closely support the text, words that flow easily, well-crafted wit, and a sleek storyline that allows readers to come up with their own solutions to the mystery. The combination of the personalities of the energetic detectives works perfectly. Add this book, and others in the series, to library and classroom shelves to give readers some rib-tickling entertainment. Reviewer: Nancy Garhan Attebury
School Library Journal - School Library Journal
K-Gr 2—Early readers will enjoy following a crime-fighting cat-and-dog team as they solve mysteries. The texts encourage sentence fluency and conclude with a whimsical recurring pattern, and the bright and cheerful drawings of a variety of cartoon animals create an entertaining jaunt for young sleuths. In Goldfish, Furlock and Muttson must use water-splattered clues to find out what happened to Mrs. Bumblebear's pet. In Mystery Museum, they must figure out why items have disappeared during a fossil exhibit. In Shifting Stacks, books are missing from the library. Fans of Bunnicula or Cam Jansen will be rooting for these intrepid sleuths.—Melissa Smith, Green Valley Library, Henderson, NV

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781602705630
Publisher:
Magic Wagon
Publication date:
01/01/2010
Series:
Short Tales Furlock and Muttson Mysteries Series
Pages:
32
Product dimensions:
6.00(w) x 8.30(h) x 0.30(d)
Age Range:
7 Years

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews