Cast into Doubt

Cast into Doubt

5.0 5
by Patricia MacDonald
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

A gripping novel of domestic suspense - Shelby Sloan, a successful Philadelphia businesswoman in her early forties, has one child, a daughter whom she raised on her own.  She gives her daughter, Chloe, and son-in-law, Rob, a Caribbean cruise as a gift, while she takes the opportunity to mind her four-year-old grandson. But life becomes a nightmare when Rob

…  See more details below

Overview

A gripping novel of domestic suspense - Shelby Sloan, a successful Philadelphia businesswoman in her early forties, has one child, a daughter whom she raised on her own.  She gives her daughter, Chloe, and son-in-law, Rob, a Caribbean cruise as a gift, while she takes the opportunity to mind her four-year-old grandson. But life becomes a nightmare when Rob calls to tell her that Chloe has disappeared overboard. The police decide it was an accident, but Shelby refuses to accept the official verdict . . .

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
MacDonald (From Cradle to Grave) offers a fresh, suspenseful spin on the vacation gone bad crime tale. Shelby Sloan, a well-to-do Philadelphia working woman, gives her daughter, Chloe Kenricks, and Chloe's husband, Rob, a Christmas treat—a Caribbean cruise to make up for the honeymoon the couple never had. Shelby even offers to care for their four-year-old son, Jeremy, while they're gone. Then Shelby receives a disturbing call from Rob, who tells her Chloe has fallen overboard and is missing off St. Thomas. Apparently, Chloe had been drinking. Shelby, unwilling to accept that Chloe had a drinking problem like Estelle Winter, Shelby's dying alcoholic mother, is sure that her daughter met with foul play. Shelby has further cause for alarm when Bud Ridley, a fellow Philly resident who saw Chloe the fateful night, kills himself after she questions him. The author nimbly reveals links to other murders—and to someone desperate to keep a secret. Fans of early Mary Higgins Clark will be rewarded. (Mar.)
Library Journal
The latest page-turner from MacDonald (Suspicious Origin; From Cradle to Grave) features Shelby Sloan, who raised a daughter on her own and after many difficult years now enjoys a successful career and spending time with her grandson. She purchases a Caribbean cruise as a gift for her daughter, Chloe, and her son-in-law, Rob, offering to babysit Jeremy while they're away. When Rob calls to tell Shelby that Chloe has disappeared from the ship, the nightmare is only beginning. Unable to accept that her daughter might be dead, Shelby keeps digging for the truth and uncovers a number of unhappy secrets that someone would prefer to keep safely hidden. VERDICT MacDonald's tale of domestic suspense will keep readers guessing and is sure to appeal to fans of Mary Higgins Clark and Joy Fielding.—Beth Blakesley, Washington State Univ. Libs., Pullman

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781780100036
Publisher:
Severn House Publishers
Publication date:
07/01/2011
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
240
Sales rank:
153,100
File size:
383 KB

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

Patricia Macdonald's darkly hypnotic tales have captivated readers across America, as well as in France, where she is a #1 bestselling author. Her previous novels include "Suspicious Origin, Stranger in the House, Not Guilty, " and the Edgar Award-nominated "The Unforgiven." She lives with her husband and daughter in New Jersey, where she is working on her next novel.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Cast into Doubt 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
Dharma-9 More than 1 year ago
I read this novel in two evenings and couldn't wait to find out how it ended. Her novels take many twists & turns & engage the reader's mind with many questions. Riveting and mind-boggling from start to finish.
Anonymous 7 months ago
I finished this book in one day...couldn't put it down! Have always loved Patricia Mac Donald's books. Will go browsing for another right now.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is by far my favorite of her books! I have read all Patricia MacDonald books and always get them as they first come out. I could not put this one down. From the first page I was hooked and wondered through the entire book how it would all tie together. I passed this book around to several friends and they loved it too. Do not pass this book up!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Totally absorbing, psychological thriller. I couldn't put it down. This author has never disappointed me. Her women-in-peril suspense novels can be quite dark. If you like Joy Fielding, you will love Patricia MacDonald.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago