Cat Coming Home (Joe Grey Series #16)

Cat Coming Home (Joe Grey Series #16)

4.2 27
by Shirley Rousseau Murphy
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

“One of the most entrancing (and effective) detectives in modern cozy mysteries.”
Booklist

A celebration for cat lovers and mystery aficionados alike, Cat Coming Home—the 16th appearance of feline detective Joe Gray—is a holiday gift from acclaimed author Shirley Rousseau Murphy. Join tomcat Joe and his

Overview

“One of the most entrancing (and effective) detectives in modern cozy mysteries.”
Booklist

A celebration for cat lovers and mystery aficionados alike, Cat Coming Home—the 16th appearance of feline detective Joe Gray—is a holiday gift from acclaimed author Shirley Rousseau Murphy. Join tomcat Joe and his furry friends, Dulcie and Kit, as they set out to solve a deadly Christmas mystery in Molena Point with the aid of a lonely prison cat. Superior detective fiction with a purr-fectly delightful twist, Cat Coming Home is a dazzling blend of charm and suspense from nine-time Cat Writers’ Association Award winner Murphy. Fans of Lilian Jackson Braun, Rita Mae Brown, and Carole Nelson Douglas, take note!

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
In Murphy's deeply moving 17th Joe Grey mystery (after 2009's Cat Striking Back), yuletide cheer appears in the enchanting form of Misto, a wise old yellow tomcat who returns from a long sojourn in Soledad Prison to Molena Point, Calif., where he's thrilled to connect with cat sleuths Joe Grey, Dulcie, and Kit, who lend police chief Max Harper and his detectives a helping paw in the close-knit seaside community. Maudie Toola, and her orphaned grandson, Benny, have also returned to Molena Point, where they are celebrating their first Christmas since a family tragedy eight months earlier--the shooting murders of Maudie's son, Martin, and his second wife on an isolated mountain road east of L.A. Since Maudie possesses evidence that could incriminate the killer, Maudie and Benny remain in jeopardy unless the talking cats speak up and fast in this marvelous holiday gift of a tale. (Dec.)
Booklist on Cat Coming Home
“A heartwarming and satisfying tale.”
Romantic Times on Cat Coming Home
“The heartwrenching stories of an orphaned child and a stray cat at Christmas will tug on more than a few heartstrings.”
Todd David Schwartz
“This is delightful entertainment. It would be a true cat-tastrophe if you let it pass you by.”
Kirkus Reviews

A quartet of talking cats led by feline detective Joe Grey (Cat Striking Back, 2009, etc.) help the police catch a killer.

After her son and daughter-in-law are shot to death while driving the narrow mountain road to Lake Arrowhead, Maudie Toola takes her grandson Benny away from Los Angeles to start a new life. She hires neighbor Ryan Flannery to add a quilting room to the tiny Tudor she buys at Molena Point. Ryan, recently married to Clyde Damen, is one of the few humans privy to Joe Grey's secret: Clyde's stub-tailed tomcat can speak. When a series of home invasions rocks the quiet central coast village, who better than Joe, and his female companions Dulcie and Kit, to prowl the rooftops looking for trouble and reporting by phone to the police? The Damens' good friend, police Chief Max Harper, is under intense pressure from outraged citizens like Arlie Risso to stop the crime wave. But the intruders just ramp up the action, trashing two local restaurants, breaking into homes and beating up the women who live there alone. Maudie's nephew Jared Coletto moves in to watch out for her, even though his badass brother Vic just knifed Jack Reed in Soledad prison. But can Jared protect Maudie from her son's killer? Only Misto, a yellow tomcat born in Molena Point but most recently a resident of Soledad, knows the answer.

Focusing on menace rather than mystery, Rousseau takes that staple of cozies—companion animals—and puts them in the center of a new hybrid—the talking-cat thriller.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780062018380
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
10/26/2010
Series:
Joe Grey Series , #16
Sold by:
HARPERCOLLINS
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
384
Sales rank:
121,422
File size:
757 KB

What People are saying about this

Todd David Schwartz
“This is delightful entertainment. It would be a true cat-tastrophe if you let it pass you by.”

Meet the Author

Shirley Rousseau Murphy writes the popular Joe Grey mystery series and is a noted children’s book author who has received five Dixie Council of Authors and Journalists Awards. She lives in Carmel, a village which inspires the charm for Molena Point

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Cat Coming Home 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 27 reviews.
GailCooke More than 1 year ago
Shirley Rousseau Murphy has garnered legions of fans with her cat sleuth P.I. Joe Grey and the feline he fancies, Dulcie - she's sure to win more with the 16th in this award winning series, CAT COMING HOME. Murphy manages to fill her stories with sufficient amounts of mystery, mayhem and murder to satisfy and still keep it within the bounds of believable feline activity. (So says this owner of two cats who rule not only the roost but our hearts, too). Now, if there are naysayers claiming that talking cats are farfetched, just read a Joe Grey mystery, and you'll find yourself chatting with them. In the most horrific murder imaginable Maudie Toola's son and daughter-in-law are suddenly shot to death while driving a lonely road on their way to the mountains near Lake Arrowhead. Maudie and three children are in the backseat; she glimpsed the passenger in the big pickup for just a second, and saw "the gleam of metal, too, and shoved the children to the floor, crouching down over them as a fiery blast exploded and another." Blessedly their lives were saved. Now, eight months later, still reeling from the trauma of that night, Maudie is moving back to her childhood home, Molena Point. She brings her orphaned grandson, Benny, with her while knowing she must now raise him and make life as good for the child as she can. A gray tomcat watches their arrival; something about Maudie has aroused his curiosity. "Something out of keeping, an attitude that didn't seem to fit this gentle person....." Little did Joe know that his interest in Maudie would soon involve murders, a stabbing at the state prison, and the fearsome home invasions that had suddenly begun in once peaceful Molena Point. Could the vicious killer have tracked Maudie and Benny to this seaside village? - Gail Cooke
Addicted-to-BooksOR More than 1 year ago
I have read all of the Joe Grey series. Each one gets better. I REALLY enjoyed this book. There was something about the big yellow cat that was so touching! I always find myself wishing the story would go on. Then I wait with eager anticipation for the next book. I adore cats and have 4. How much you love animals may have a definite affect on how much you will enjoy this series. Compariable to the Mrs. Murphy series by Rita Mae Brown. They will make you smile!
Mayopets More than 1 year ago
This was a good book in the Joe Grey cat series. I am never disappointed with these books; they always keep me interested and I care about the characters.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is the first book I have read in this series. Joe and his cohorts are quite the detectives. The book is amusing and interesting for tweens and older persons. If you are a cat or dog person, you will enjoy it. The reading is easy and does not require much thought. I would definitely read other books by this author but would not suggest it for book club discussions.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
sharno22 More than 1 year ago
I'm new to this series, and I must say I love it. Warm cozy atmosphere, characters, and cats. Don't be put off by the cats talking. This is an intelligent mystery that all cozy lovers will enjoy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago