×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

The Cat on the Mat Is Flat
     

The Cat on the Mat Is Flat

4.6 5
by Andy Griffiths, Terry Denton (Illustrator)
 

See All Formats & Editions

Muck! Uck! Yuck!

It’s just bad luck when the truck of a duck gets stuck in the muck.

Or when a dog on a cog gets chased by a frog around the bog of an angry hog.

All of this and so much more!

We promise it won’t be a snore!

These wacky rhymes just don’t bore!

Overview

Muck! Uck! Yuck!

It’s just bad luck when the truck of a duck gets stuck in the muck.

Or when a dog on a cog gets chased by a frog around the bog of an angry hog.

All of this and so much more!

We promise it won’t be a snore!

These wacky rhymes just don’t bore!

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly

Griffiths's (The Day My Butt Went Psycho!) innovative book for beginning readers collects nine short, intentionally silly snippets propelled by kid-pleasing, tongue-tripping verse. In the title tale, a cat sitting on a mat decides to chase a rat, who grabs a baseball bat: "Around and around and around the mat the rat chased the cat with the baseball bat until... KERSPLAT!" Other protagonists also encounter tongue-in-cheek adversity. Friends Ed and Ted and Ted's dog Fred survive a tumble off a cliff, a near-drowning and ingestion by a whale. Lou, "the unluckiest girl that the world ever knew," becomes covered in a kangaroo's glue and then lands headfirst in a "prickle bush." And pals Bill and Phil roll down a hill, landing in a puddle of smelly pig swill. Griffiths's bouncy cadence and wacky wordplay occasionally sound derivative of Dr. Seuss, as when a hog reprimands a speeding dog and frog: "Racing is NOT allowed in my bog! Not on a log! Not on a cog! No log-racing frogs! No cog-racing dogs!" And when Chuck the Duck's ice-cream truck gets stuck in the muck, Buck the Duck announces, "I can get your truck unstuck. I can suck up all the muck with the muck-sucker-upper on my muck-sucking truck!" Denton's edgy, stick-figure-filled sketches enhance the zaniness factor and the offbeat, ironic humor. Ages 4-8. (Sept.)

Copyright 2007 Reed Business Information
School Library Journal

Gr 2-4
Imagine the outcome if Dr. Seuss, Dav Pilkey, and Lane Smith were locked in a room until they came up with a book for beginning or reluctant readers. These nine rhyming stories have action galore, plenty of dialogue, and ample pen-and-ink illustrations, all wrapped up in humor. From the cat that is indeed flattened by a bat-wielding rat, to Unlucky Lou who lands in the prickle bush, to the evil bee, the rhymes keep coming. Denton's artwork seems slapdash, but perfectly parallels the zany humor. Few books of this length sport so much white space, large type, and spot art. Even young people who are struggling to get the hang of reading may happily handle all 176 crazy pages.
—Pat LeachCopyright 2006 Reed Business Information.

From the Publisher

“Imagine the outcome if Dr. Seuss, Dav Pilkey, and Lane Smith were locked in a room until they came up with a book for beginning or reluctant readers. These nine rhyming stories have action galore, plenty of dialogue, and ample pen-and-ink illustrations, all wrapped up in humor . . . Even young people who are struggling to get the hang of reading may happily handle all 176 crazy pages.” —School Library Journal

“Griffiths's innovative book for beginning readers collects nine short, intentionally silly snippets propelled by kid-pleasing, tongue-tripping verse . . . Denton's edgy, stick-figure-filled sketches enhance the zaniness factor and the offbeat, ironic humor.” —Publishers Weekly

“Take one part Dr. Seuss, one part Edward Lear, place in a blender with a dash of Dav Pilkey and a bit of Cartoon Network juice . . . meant to be read as pure joy. It's a piece of candy eaten in secret between meals.” —The Excelsior File (blog)

“Definitely not your parents' easy reader, but perfect for fans of Lane Smith's Happy Hockey Family.” —Kirkus Reviews

“This collection of stories is fun albeit with a touch of mayhem . . . This is a good book for beginning readers, in the same vein as The Cat in the Hat and The Cat in the Hat Comes Back. It will likely spark a new rhyming nation of happy youngsters, some of whom will grow up to write their generation's outrageously funny advertising jingles . . . Any beginning reader will find it charmingly slapstick and fun.” —Armchair Interviews

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780312535841
Publisher:
Square Fish
Publication date:
09/01/2009
Edition description:
STRIPPABLE
Pages:
192
Sales rank:
341,508
Product dimensions:
5.40(w) x 8.10(h) x 0.60(d)
Age Range:
4 - 8 Years

Meet the Author

Andy Griffiths is the New York Times bestselling author of The Day My Butt Went Psycho!, Zombie Butts from Uranus!, Butt Wars! The Final Conflict, and The Big Fat Cow That Goes Kapow. In 2007, he became the first Australian author to win six children’s choice awards in one year for Just Shocking! He is passionate about inspiring a love of books in his young readers, and works as an ambassador for the Indigenous Literacy Project, which provides books and literacy resources to remote indigenous communities around Australia. Andy is a big fan of Dr. Seuss and of cauliflower. He lives in Melbourne, Australia, and is Australia’s most popular children’s writer.

Terry Denton is known for his humorous illustration style and has worked with Andy on the Just! books among others.  He lives by the sea in Australia with his wife, three kids, and a pop-up toaster that only toasts on one side.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

The Cat on the Mat is Flat 4.6 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
My son, a second grader, got this book for christmas and read it all in 3 nights. He loved it. Wished there was a sequal to this one.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was cool and funny. It was easy to read. I liked it.
Challenged_Mom More than 1 year ago
My nephew loved this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
So love this book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago