Caterina and the Perfect Party [NOOK Book]

Overview

Caterina is planning the best party ever. She organizes perfect lists, prepares perfect food, and crafts perfect decorations. But a terrible storm threatens to put a hitch in all of Caterina's perfect party plans. With the help of her friends and little brother, Leo, Caterina learns that real creativity is not about being perfect, but about having fun!

Caterina is a little brown bird with big plans! For fans of Ladybug Girl and Betty Bunny, ...
See more details below

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK Kids for iPad

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (NOOK Kids)
$10.99
BN.com price

Overview

Caterina is planning the best party ever. She organizes perfect lists, prepares perfect food, and crafts perfect decorations. But a terrible storm threatens to put a hitch in all of Caterina's perfect party plans. With the help of her friends and little brother, Leo, Caterina learns that real creativity is not about being perfect, but about having fun!

Caterina is a little brown bird with big plans! For fans of Ladybug Girl and Betty Bunny, Caterina and the Perfect Party is the colorful debut of a lively new picture book character in a playful story about creativity and friendship.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Caterina is “a little brown bird with great big colorful thoughts.” An inveterate list-maker who hates surprises, the bespectacled bird carefully plans every detail of the first party she’s ever thrown. Though the minimal text edges on precious (“The invitations will be... inviting. The decorations will be... decorative. The appetizers will be... appetizing”), Kono’s mixed-media illustrations provide cheerful zip, spotlighting the hostess’s high spirits and energy as she and her younger brother break out craft supplies and cookbooks to prepare. On the day of the party, Caterina gets both an unwelcome surprise—rain washes out the decorations and food she’s carefully assembled outdoors—and a happy one: her friends arrive bearing a replacement feast, and they have a grand time cavorting in the mud. Kono (Grand-mother, Have the Angels Come?) incorporates bits of fabric, images of stamps and coins, paper pinwheels, and more into her collaged drawings, all in keeping with Caterina’s DIY ethos. Caterina sets a good example for kids who have trouble rolling with the punches when best-laid plans go awry. Ages 3–5. Agent: Elizabeth Harding, Curtis Brown. (July)
Publishers Weely
"Kono’s mixed-media illustrations provide cheerful zip... Caterina sets a good example for kids who have trouble rolling with the punches when best-laid plans go awry.”
SLJ
“Readers will want to spend time perusing the intricate details in the pictures.”
School Library Journal
PreS-Gr 1—Caterina, a small, brown, bright-eyed bird, is very organized and proud of it. She loves making lists to ensure everything turns out exactly the way she intends, because the one thing she cannot abide is a surprise. Though she meticulously plans and makes preparations, with assistance from her little brother, for a party in the park, with thoughtful invitations, decorations, and food, the festivities do not turn out as she imagines. How friends help her deal with disappointment shows that surprises can be pleasant and spontaneity may lead to unforgettable experiences. Charming mixed-media illustrations are the highlight of the simple story, which doesn't break new ground, but imparts lessons gently. Readers will want to spend time perusing the intricate details in the pictures, which include postage stamps, floss, fabric, textures, and photographs.—Maryann H. Owen, Racine Public Library, WI
Kirkus Reviews
The best-laid plans of mice and OCD birds…. Caterina is a small brown bird with a penchant for crafting and an obsession with lists: "Lists of things to do / Lists of things not to do / Lists of things to love / Lists of things not to love" (the only item on this list, iterated three times, is "surprises"). Her most important list is that of her friends, because she is preparing to throw her first party. She has planned everything down to the last detail. She has creatively crafted invitations and decorations, and she has prepared sumptuous appetizers. Caterina schleps all the party goods to the picnic site and readies the elegant feast. However, she has reckoned without the unpredictability of the weather. It rains on her parade and drenches all her creations. She is devastated and does not know what to do, until her friends come to the rescue, bringing wonderful potluck food, music and good cheer. The impromptu party and slap-up feed is better than anything Caterina could have planned. The well-worn message that having good friends trumps adversity is given a fresh interpretation in these charming, collage-filled pages. Any child who enjoys scrapbooking or crafts will be inspired to get busy with crayons, glue and scissors by the crafty images on every page. In spite of a somewhat lackluster text, this is a refreshingly traditional antidote to electronic amusements. (Picture book. 3-5)
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781101638958
  • Publisher: Penguin Group (USA)
  • Publication date: 7/11/2013
  • Sold by: Penguin Group
  • Format: NOOK Kids
  • Pages: 32
  • Age range: 3 - 5 Years
  • File size: 18 MB
  • Note: This product may take a few minutes to download.

Meet the Author

Erin is an award-winning author and illustrator. She grew up in Iowa and then spent a bunch of years wandering around the world. Over time she’s collected bits of this and that, but her most favorite collection is her group of friends. These days, Erin lives in Palos Verdes, California with her husband, daughter, hamster, and the neighborhood peacock. She writes, paints, and crafts in a cottage with a yard that looks suspiciously similar to Caterina’s Corner.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)