Cave of Wonders (Infinity Ring Series #5) by Matthew J. Kirby, Hardcover | Barnes & Noble
Cave of Wonders (Infinity Ring Series #5)

Cave of Wonders (Infinity Ring Series #5)

4.4 15
by Matthew J. Kirby

View All Available Formats & Editions

Scholastic's next multi-platform mega-event continues with the fifth installment of the Infinity Ring series!


Scholastic's next multi-platform mega-event continues with the fifth installment of the Infinity Ring series!

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher

"Tight plotting, snappy dialogue . . . the story moves at a breathless pace." - Rick Riordan, NEW YORK TIMES BOOK REVIEW

"A successful mix of action, adventure, and historical substance." - PUBLISHERS WEEKLY

Children's Literature - Denise Hartzler
In book five of the "Infinity Ring" series, Kirby brings readers on a journey into Baghdad. While Europe is in the middle of the Dark Ages, Baghdad is the one city that is the epicenter of knowledge. Baghdad is populated with the most scholars, merchants and explorers from across the world. The main characters, Dak, Sera and Riq must find out what danger lies within the desert that threatens the world's greatest library from destruction. To save a book written by Aristotle and other books housed in the House of Wisdom Library, the team is faced with the dangers of the conqueror Khan Hulagu in 1258. It is a race against time and against fierce warriors. Riq is afraid that his encounter with the Underground Railroad has altered the future and he may not even exist. Sera is more strong and on a mission to prevent the Cataclysm while Dak senses that the other two have secrets but won't talk to him about them. These personal stressors put a lot of strain on the group while they are trapped in a city, which is soon to be pillaged by Mongols. But Kirby gets the team working together more so than in previous series and keep up the pace of the book. This is one of the fastest moving plots in this series and is highly recommended for reluctant readers. Fans of fantasy may read it within a day or over the course of several days but won't want to put this one down. The only downside of this book/series is that readers will have difficulty following the story if they have not read the first book in this series. Like all the "Infinity Ring" books, readers receive the Hystorian's Guide to unlock another adventure online. Reviewer: Denise Hartzler

Product Details

Scholastic, Inc.
Publication date:
Infinity Ring Series, #5
Sales rank:
Product dimensions:
5.10(w) x 7.50(h) x 0.70(d)
620L (what's this?)
Age Range:
8 - 12 Years

Meet the Author

Matthew J. Kirby is the critically acclaimed author of the middle-grade novels ICEFALL, which won the Edgar Award for Best Juvenile Mystery, and THE CLOCKWORK THREE. He was born in Utah and grew up in Maryland, California, and Hawaii. Matthew is currently at work on his next novel. Visit his website at

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >