Cemetery Road

Overview

The new novel from a critically acclaimed and award-winning author - When Errol ‘Handy’ White returns to his native Los Angeles to attend the funeral of his old friend R.J. Burrow, who has been brutally murdered, a terrible secret threatens to reveal itself. Twenty-six years earlier, Handy, R.J. and O’Neal Holden pulled a heist that went horrible awry, and Handy’s been waiting for it to come back and haunt them ever since. Was the murder linked to the past? Handy knows he can’t ...

See more details below
Hardcover
$26.12
BN.com price
(Save 9%)$28.95 List Price
Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (28) from $1.99   
  • New (4) from $5.63   
  • Used (24) from $1.99   
Cemetery Road

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK Study
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$14.99
BN.com price

Overview

The new novel from a critically acclaimed and award-winning author - When Errol ‘Handy’ White returns to his native Los Angeles to attend the funeral of his old friend R.J. Burrow, who has been brutally murdered, a terrible secret threatens to reveal itself. Twenty-six years earlier, Handy, R.J. and O’Neal Holden pulled a heist that went horrible awry, and Handy’s been waiting for it to come back and haunt them ever since. Was the murder linked to the past? Handy knows he can’t leave until he finds out for sure.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Reverberations from a crime committed in their youth follow three grown men with the tenacity and inevitability of Greek tragedy in Haywood's beautifully crafted novel of unintended consequences. The gunning down in Los Angeles 26 years later of one of the three, R.J. Burrow, prompts Errol “Handy” White to return to L.A. from St. Paul, Minn., to say good-bye and to discover if R.J.'s death was related to their crime. Handy reconnects with O'Neal Holden, the third member of the trio, who's now mayor of nearby Bellwood. Haywood (All the Lucky Ones Are Dead) reaches new heights as he peels back the layers of a well-planned robbery to reveal its devastating ripple effects. These ripples spread like a hidden cancer that only reveals itself as Handy cautiously probes R.J.'s murder and the life that preceded it. Each of the three men feels the burden of guilt; each tries in some way to atone; but some wrongs can't be righted. (Feb.)
Booklist
This gripping stand-alone thriller marks the long-awaited return of Gar Anthony Haywood, author of the critically acclaimed Aaron Gunner series (All the Lucky Ones Are Dead,2000). Errol "Handy" White is working as a handyman in the Twin Cities when he gets word that his old friend, R. J. Burrows, has been murdered in Los Angeles. Handy knows he must return to L.A. to attend the funeral, but he also knows that when he sets foot in L.A., where he, R. J., and another friend, O'Neal Holden, now a rising politician, came up together, a terrible secret is in danger of coming to light. As young men, the three friends dabbled in crime in South Central L.A. until a revenge heist at a drug dealer's home went tragically awry. Handy has been running ever since, from the crime and from himself, but now realizes that if he is to help R. J.'s daughter find her father's killer, his running days are over. Haywood melds an intricately plotted but highly suspenseful thriller to a moving story of belated coming-of-age, as the introspective, deeply troubled Handy forces himself to confront what has gone wrong with his life. As in the Gunner series, Haywood exhibits a remarkable eye for detail, both in describing the landscape of poverty ("the bathroom had a toilet that only flushed when it was willing") and in exposing the nuances of character. It's been too long between books for a writer who has always belonged in the upper echelon of American crime fiction. Starred Review
Library Journal
When old friend R.J. is murdered, Handy White returns to L.A. to find out who killed him and why. Perhaps this will absolve Handy of the guilt he has carried around for 26 years. VERDICT The author of the popular Aaron Gunner series has created a believable sleuth who tells his story in a clear voice and never makes excuses. Sure to appeal to fans of Robert Crais and Michael Connelly. [See Prepub Mystery, LJ 10/1/09.]
Kirkus Reviews
Twenty-six years after their search for revenge led to a criminal catastrophe that drove them apart, a corpse reunites a trio. Handy, O' and R.J. ran a few scams back in the day, minor stuff really, until Excel Rucker, a drug dealer, spread out a line of blow that killed Olivia Gardner, the girl Handy's brother Chancellor loved, and the guys decided to teach Excel a lesson. It all went horribly wrong, of course, winding up with homicide, arson and the wrongful imprisonment of Excel's cousin Paris McDonald. Now, so many years later, Paris has found religion and forgiven everybody, including the guilt-ridden R.J., who ventured into Pelican Bay Penitentiary to confess all to him just three days before he himself was found in an L.A. car trunk riddled with four bullets. Flying in from St. Paul for his former pal's funeral, Handy wonders who might have killed him and why. He halfway suspects O', now mayor of Bellwood, of engineering the murder. Nothing's that simple, however, and the more Handy looks, the more ugly secrets, lies and coverups are revealed, until nothing is left to do but head back to St. Paul and lay bare the other major untruth in his background, this one concerning his daughter Coral. Haywood, best known for his Aaron Gunner series (All the Lucky Ones are Dead, 2000, etc.), offers up rue, redemption and cataclysmic surprises with noir underpinnings.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780727868510
  • Publisher: Severn House Publishers
  • Publication date: 2/1/2010
  • Pages: 224
  • Product dimensions: 5.70 (w) x 8.60 (h) x 1.00 (d)

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)